Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Law: Secondary Sources

Resources available at LaValley Law Library relating to the area of Criminal Law

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary (Westlaw Edge - need logon)

Black's Law is the most widely used law dictionary in the United States. It was founded by Henry Campbell Black. It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S. Supreme Court cases.


American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Westlaw Edge - Need logon)
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Lexis Advance - Need logon)

Comprehensive legal encyclopedia contains textual statements of law alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics. A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques. 


American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (Westlaw Edge - need login)

Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation.


American Law Reports (ALR) (Westlaw Edge - need login)
American Law Reports (ALR) (Lexis Advance - need login)

The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.


Corpus Juris Secundum (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A national legal encyclopedia, covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z. General rules of law are summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text. The book also provides the limitations and exceptions to the rules where appropriate. The citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, allowing the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country.


Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.

Lexis Advance Secondary Sources

Anderson's Ohio Criminal Practice and Procedure

Anderson's Ohio Criminal Practice and Procedure is designed specifically to fulfill the needs of judges, prosecutors and defense counsel who regularly deal with criminal cases. It reflects the ongoing changes made in criminal law and addresses the attorney's need for portable reference materials. 

Business Crime: Criminal Liability of the Business Community

Business Crime: Criminal Liability of the Business Community is the most complete guide to the many criminal questions that can arise in modern business practice. Provides how-to guidance for: setting up compliance programs to prevent corporate liability; effectively conducting internal corporate investigations, and parallel administrative, civil and criminal proceedings.

Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention

Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention provides essential guidance on all aspects of this critical area-the sources of corporate criminal liability, the immediate and collateral consequences of conviction, and the available defenses to, and limitations on, liability. This up-to-date guide also examines current prosecutorial discretion standards, amnesties and sentencing guidelines. It instructs corporate counsel on how to adopt forward-looking compliance policies that can prevent criminal liability and how to mitigate the severity of penalties when they are unavoidable.

Criminal Constitutional Law

Criminal Constitutional Law provides substantive discussion, as well as procedural guidelines on tactics and strategy. The treatise analyzes all important Supreme Court, federal and state decisions interpreting Constitution provisions. Procedures mandated by the constitution for police, the courts, the prosecution and the defense at each stage of the criminal process are thoroughly scrutinized.

The Entrapment Defense

The Entrapment Defense presents a full discussion of trial issues under both subjective and objective tests. The book includes full treatment of the standards of proof for both state and defendant, as well as evidentiary problems facing the defense. It gives special attention to inconsistent defense situations and exceptions to the inconsistent defense rule, due process issues, and other constitutional implications of entrapment.

Environmental Enforcement: Civil and Criminal

Topics include: how to conduct an environmental self-audit; civil investigatory procedures in environmental law; civil enforcement under the Clean Water Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the Clean Air Act, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA). You'll also find analysis of 'government guidance documents'; contribution suits between 'potentially responsible parties'; penalties and penalty policies; preliminary injunctions; citizen suits, defenses and awarding of attorneys' fees; the criminal process; the Department of Justice's guidelines for pursuing criminal charges against corporations; criminal representation and defense; and audits to ensure compliance.

Military Crimes and Defenses

Offers an in-depth look at the substantive aspects of military justice and is designed to help both the experienced practitioner and the novice find his or her way through the punitive articles of the Uniform Code of Military Justice. It covers the myriad aspects of writing the charges and specifications, analyzing possible defenses and possible instructions to the court members. Each punitive article is presented separately, followed by a detailed analysis and discussion. Coverage for each article focuses first on the official text of the article, then provides a discussion of the offense, including its history, what the prosecution must prove, applicable case law, and a discussion about possible defenses. For each article, the maximum punishment, possible lesser-included offenses, sample specifications, and sample instructions from the Military Judges' Benchbook are included. This guide also includes background on the military justice system, coverage of court-martial jurisdiction, and a chapter on defenses, for an all-in-one source on substantive military law.

Westlaw Edge Secondary Sources

Criminal Law Defenses

Criminal Law Defenses describes more than 60 major criminal law defenses.

Drug Abuse & the Law Sourcebook Scope Information

Drug Abuse and the Law Sourcebook covers recent developments in drug law and enforcement. It offers analysis of major drug cases. Its extensive anthology contains expert commentary, vital background data, a Table of Cases, and unique coverage of medical marijuana, state decriminalization laws, and federal enforcement.

Drug Testing Legal Manual

Drug Testing Legal Manual provides fast, accurate, and complete answers to questions on drug testing programs. Expert analysis of pertinent statutory and common law issues helps successfully represent clients in cases involving private, government, and pre-employment testing. In addition, the author covers urine testing in the schools and in the criminal justice system. Drug Testing Legal Manual also provides research aids, including various standards and technical guidelines for drug testing, listing of drug abuse authorities, and strategic planning for workplace drug abuse programs.

Hate Crimes Law 

Comprehensive overview of hate crimes law, including recent court opinions and statutory developments.

Immigration Law & Defense

Immigration Law and Defense contains vital information and guidance needed to represent non-citizens under today's rapidly-changing immigration laws. Contains detailed discussion of the acquisition of non-immigrant and immigrant status, grounds for inadmissibility and removal, administrative proceedings and appeals, federal court review, citizenship and naturalization, employer sanctions, and asylum.

Securities Crime

Securities Crimes provides the background, guidance and strategies you need to be effective. The treatise covers enforcement powers and agency structure of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), types of formal and informal SEC investigations, and specific problems related to parallel proceedings, and analysis and discussion of latest developments under the Federal Sentencing Guidelines.

Substantive Criminal Law

Substantive Criminal Law analyzes the law in terms of caselaw and statutory law via the Model Penal Code. The text focuses on the ways specific crimes and general principles of criminal law are defined by state statutes and interpreted by the courts.

Wharton's Criminal Law

Wharton's Criminal Law thoroughly examines and analyzes the phases of substantive criminal law in state and federal jurisdictions.

Wharton's Criminal Evidence

Thorough criminal law and procedure analysis provides expert guidance for handling criminal evidentiary issues from pretrial preparation through trial.

White Collar Crime: RICO

This treatise provides defense practitioners with strategies for representing clients in federal racketeering cases. It presents a history of the development of the RICO statute and an explanation of its basic elements - criminal enterprise, predicate offenses, pattern of racketeering activity. In addition, the author discusses RICO conspiracy charges and other offenses under RICO, and guides the practitioner through the various phases of a RICO case, from investigation to appeal. It is authored by a former U.S. Attorney with significant experience in both criminal prosecution and defense contexts. The authors provides practical advice and strategies for all aspects of the case and guidance to avoid the most common pitfalls.

Wiretapping & Eavesdropping 

Wiretapping and Eavesdropping provides critical information and tactics for criminal and civil practitioners in every type of situation where internet, computer, (analog, digital and cellular) phone or other monitored and recorded evidence issues arise. Special attention is given to problems commonly arising in matrimonial, employment and other civil litigation, as well as criminal proceedings.