Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Procedure: Secondary Sources

Resources available at LaValley Law Library relating to the area of Civil Procedure

Treatises Available at LaValley Law Library

Treatises are written by legal scholars and practitioners. Treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.


 

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary (Westlaw Edge - need logon)

Black's Law is the most widely used law dictionary in the United States. It was founded by Henry Campbell Black. It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S. Supreme Court cases.


American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Westlaw Edge - Need logon)
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Lexis Advance - Need logon)

Comprehensive legal encyclopedia contains textual statements of law alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics. A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques. 


American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (Westlaw Edge - need login)

Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation.


American Law Reports (ALR) (Westlaw Edge - need login)
American Law Reports (ALR) (Lexis Advance - need login)

The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.


Corpus Juris Secundum (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A national legal encyclopedia, covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z. General rules of law are summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text. The book also provides the limitations and exceptions to the rules where appropriate. The citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, allowing the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country.


Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.

Lexis Advance Secondary Sources

Available only to the University of Toledo College of Law faculty, staff, and students. 


Moore's Federal Practice - Civil


Moore's Federal Practice is the backbone of any federal litigator's library. Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the federal rules. Moore's Federal Practice is a flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure. 


Moore's Manual: Federal Practice and Procedure


This resource discusses the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, and the Rules of the Supreme Court, providing a handy overview of federal practice for the busy litigator. Outlines Each Step. Federal Practice and Procedure explains how each rule and applicable statute is interpreted by the courts, and how each applies to actual civil practice. You'll get quick, precise answers to all significant questions of procedure. Federal Practice and Procedure offers numerous annotations and frequent cross-referencing to Moore's Federal Practice and Bender's Federal Practice Forms to aid you when more extensive research is needed. 


The Wagstaffe Group Practice Guide: Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial


The Wagstaffe Group Practice Guide: Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial is a multi-platform and multimedia product on federal civil procedure before trial. It consists of a three-volume practice guide, along with a Current Awareness component that will keep users current on the latest developments, with analysis of the latest cases and videos on developing issues. This groundbreaking title also features videos embedded within the content so that users can read and see the answers to their questions. 


Moore's Answer Guide: Federal Discovery Practice


Moore's Answer Guide Federal Discovery Practice answers your basic questions about discovery in federal civil cases, including topics such as privilege, discovery of electronically stored information, and discovery from nonparties. This authoritative desk reference provides: succinct answers to major points of federal practice, expert analyses, strategic pointers, warnings, circuit split discussions, and other case-oriented insight, numerous checklists, providing step-by-step guidance for discovery procedures. Hundreds of cross-references to Moore's Federal Practice, Bender's Federal Practice Forms, Federal Litigation Guide, and other sources for more detailed analysis and forms.


Moore's Answer Guide: Federal Civil Motion Practice


Moore's Answer Guide: Federal Civil Motion Practice answers your basic questions about civil motions in federal civil cases, including topics such as Rule 12 motions to dismiss, summary judgment motions, and motions for costs and attorney's fees. 

Westlaw Edge Secondary Sources

Available only to the University of Toledo College of Law faculty, staff, and students. 


Civil Practice - Baldwin's Ohio Practice


The rule-by-rule discussion combines expert analysis with practical guidance. Forms covering all facets of civil litigation are also included. Features include:

  • Practice pointers that explain form use
  • Cross-references that direct you to related text and forms
  • Quick-reference tables throughout the text
  • Extensive case citations that support text

Expert Witnesses in Civil Trials

Expert Witnesses in Civil Trials aims to keep you current on important recent developments in federal and state statutes, rules, and case law pertaining to experts. This treatise is updated and written from the perspective of active practicing trial lawyers, ever watchful of developments that shape best practices for utilizing expert witnesses to create the most compelling trial presentation possible.


 

Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial, National Edition (The Rutter Group Practice Guide) Scope Information


Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial - National Edition serves as an authoritative procedural guide on pretrial practice in federal courts. It comprehensively covers federal court jurisdiction with a focus on removal and remand, pleadings, motion practice and discovery, and all other pretrial stages of a lawsuit. Key citations to federal statutes, rules, and cases are included, plus court-tested forms and practice pointers that reflect years of litigation experience. Contents include:

  • Subject matter jurisdiction
  • Personal jurisdiction
  • Venue
  • Service of process
  • Defaults
  • Parties
  • Pleadings
  • Attacking the pleadings
  • Actions with special procedural requirements
  • Discovery
  • Motion practice
  • Injunctions
  • Summary judgment
  • Pretrial conference and settlement procedures
  • Other motions and procedures
  • Sanctions

Federal Civil Trials & Evidence (The Rutter Group Practice Guide) Scope Information


Federal Civil Trials and Evidence provides reliable, practical, step-by-step guidance on federal civil trial practice and procedure from pretrial preparation through posttrial motions. It includes a comprehensive, analytical approach to the Federal Rules of Evidence, as well as unique evidence graphics that demonstrate how to start at the top and work down through the major evidentiary objections. Topics include:

  • Preparing for trial
  • Right to jury trial
  • Challenging the judge
  • Final pretrial conference and motions in limine
  • Jury selection
  • Opening statement
  • Evidence
  • Direct and cross-examination
  • Jury management during trial
  • Examination of expert witnesses
  • Impeachment and rehabilitation
  • Motions during trial
  • Closing argument
  • Jury instructions
  • Jury deliberations
  • Non-jury trials
  • Verdicts and judgments
  • Costs, attorney fees, and other expenses
  • Posttrial motions

Federal Motions in Limine (The Rutter Group, Civil Litigation Series) Scope Information


Federal Motions in Limine includes more than 800 pages of summarized cases from the Supreme Court and all eleven circuits plus D.C., with ready-to-cite excerpts from relevant portions of the Federal Rules of Evidence and Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. This definitive resource is devoted entirely to excluding or admitting evidence using motions in limine and includes citations for both supporting and opposition briefs. It provides invaluable guidance for improving the clarity and quality of motions and brief-writing for federal court. Contents cover:

  • Motions in limine law
  • Prejudicial evidence
  • Irrelevant evidence
  • Writings and physical evidence
  • Tests and scientific evidence
  • Discovery motions
  • Character evidence
  • Witness evidence

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules & Commentary


Detailed, practical guidance on the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure from two leading experts, including a former member of the Civil Rules Advisory Committee. For each rule, the authors explain in detail what the rule covers, how it works, how it has been interpreted by courts, and how it is used in practice.


Federal Trial Handbook: Civil


Federal Trial Handbook: Civil provides a concise and authoritative treatment of issues and problems that often confront practitioners during their preparation for or conduct of civil trials in federal court.


Handbook of Federal Civil Discovery & Disclosure


Federal discovery rules that require disclosure of information to opposing parties, even without request, are designed to encourage lawyers to use most efficient and economical means to exchange information. The rules are many and specific, but they are not to be employed mechanically. This package is your reliable roadmap to application of the rules. 


O'Connor's Federal Civil Forms


O'Connor's Federal Civil Forms is the companion to O'Connor's Federal Rules Civil Trials, giving practitioners easy-to-use, plain-English forms for federal pleadings and motion practice. O'Connor's Federal Civil Forms contains more than 500 fill-in-the-blank forms for federal pleadings and motion practice. It includes all the pre-answer motions and responses, as well as complete sets of complaints, answers, and discovery for 15 different types of lawsuits. 


O'Connor's Federal Rules Civil Trials


O'Connor's Federal Rules * Civil Trials provides clear, detailed explanations of procedure with strategies and practice tips for each phase of litigation. The publication also provides the complete text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Evidence, and Appellate Procedure; hundreds of case annotations - quotations from recent, relevant caselaw - that help explain how the courts interpret the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Evidence; the complete title 28 of the United States Code; Advisory Committee notes on all the key rule amendments; and charts and timetables that quickly summarize complicated rules and deadlines.


Ohio Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms


Ohio Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms is a comprehensive treatment of civil practice law along with a collection of forms keyed to the organization of the Ohio civil rules.