Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contract Law: Secondary Sources

Resources available at LaValley Law Library relating to the area of Contract Law

Treatises Available at LaValley Law Library

Restatements

Restatements of the Law, Contracts 2d (Lexis Advance)

The Restatement of the Law, Rules files contain the Rules, Comments and Notes regarding the common law of a specific Restatement subject as set forth by the American Law Institute. As a general rule, each 'Black Letter Rule' is accompanied by comments, illustrations and Reporter's Notes. Additionally, any supplementary material, references (ALR and Digest numbers) and notes are attached. Occasionally, historical, scope and introductory notes will stand alone as documents.


Restatement of the Law, Contracts (Westlaw Edge)

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary (Westlaw Edge - need logon)

Black's Law is the most widely used law dictionary in the United States. It was founded by Henry Campbell Black. It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S. Supreme Court cases.


American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Westlaw Edge - Need logon)
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Lexis Advance - Need logon)

Comprehensive legal encyclopedia contains textual statements of law alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics. A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques. 


American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (Westlaw Edge - need login)

Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation.


American Law Reports (ALR) (Westlaw Edge - need login)
American Law Reports (ALR) (Lexis Advance - need login)

The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.


Corpus Juris Secundum (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A national legal encyclopedia, covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z. General rules of law are summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text. The book also provides the limitations and exceptions to the rules where appropriate. The citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, allowing the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country.


Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.

Lexis Advance Secondary Sources

CONTRACT LAW


Corbin on Contracts

Providing an exhaustive analysis of all the rules of contract law, including all exceptions and variations, Corbin on Contracts can help you prevent disputes and keep your clients out of court. Cited in the opinions of federal and state courts literally thousands of times, this exhaustive exposition of all the rules of contract law has for more than half a century helped lawyers understand what the rules mean and how they can be used in daily practice.


Entertainment Industry Contracts 

Entertainment Industry Contracts is an authoritative resource with expert guidance on negotiating and drafting contracts in the major areas of the entertainment industry, including entertainment software. 


Federal Contract Management

Federal Contract Management--A Manual for the Contract Professional covers all major aspects of the federal government contracting (procurement) process, from basic concepts to sophisticated strategies. Written by experienced practitioners, it supplies abundant practical advice and tips for successful bidding for contracting work with governmental agencies and guidance relative to managing contract performance. 


Government Contracts: Law, Administration & Procedures

This treatise features extensive coverage of the law and regulation of the business of government contracting or federal acquisition. Government Contracts: Law, Administration and Procedure addresses nearly every aspect of government contract law and practice, with references to the history and policies underlying current principles as well as current references to applicable statutes, regulations and case decisions. More than a mere "case finder" or primary source compilation, this treatise provides a thorough discussion from experienced practitioners that places case law and regulations in the context most useful to attorneys, contract administrators and other professionals. 


Pratt's Government Contracting Law Report

 Pratt 's Government Contracting Law Report is a one -stop resource for all legal issues involving federal government contracting law. Written by the nation 's leading government contracting attorneys and professionals, Pratt 's Government Contracting Law Report covers topics of interest to government contractors, attorneys and law firms, in -house counsel, government lawyers, and senior business executives in any and all industries, including all government agencies and all key industry sectors - aerospace and defense, electronics, communications, health care, IT, technical services, real estate, financial services, construction, transportation, and the life sciences, to name but a few. Pratt's Government Contracting Law Report delivers first-rate analysis and commentary from the nation's top government contracts law practitioners on developments occurring in the full range of federal government contracting areas.

Westlaw Edge Secondary Resources

Construction Contracts Deskbook

Construction Contracts Deskbook, which includes an excellent assortment of forms, was prepared specifically for corporate counsel responsible for providing cost-effective, practical advice on construction contracting. It covers all types of construction projects, from relatively simple to quite complex. Topics include unanticipated site conditions, mechanic's liens, construction delays, changes, supplementary terms and conditions for both large and small construction contracts, jumping privity (subcontractor suits against the owner), joint payment checks, and arbitration in construction contracts.


Corporate Counsel's Guide to Employment Contracts

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Employment Contracts provides the background and rationale for when and how to use employment contracts. In addition to informative chapters on the subject, the text contains dozens of examples of clauses for use in employment contracts and several appendixes of sample agreements.


Drafting Effective Contracts: A Practitioner's Guide

This publication provides a consistent structural analysis and a comprehensive set of drafting elements for drafting agreements of goods and services, promissory notes, guaranties, and secured transactions that can be used from contract to contract. It also explains the process by which contracts are created, given clear sample contract provisions, and offered direction around the obstacles that may be encountered.


Modern Law of Contracts

Modern Law of Contracts covers all aspects of contract law. Modern Law of Contracts provides in-depth discussion of contract formation, determination of content, completing vague or incomplete agreements, material breaches and the doctrine of substantial performance, excuses for nonperformance, warranties, equitable and legal remedies, assessment of damages, right of third-party beneficiaries, assignments, employment relationships, and the Convention on the International Sale of Goods (CISG). This title also covers a broad range of contract situations, including family law, real estate, construction, employment, services, and sales and emphasizes recurring practical problems and how to solve them. Modern Law of Contracts is conveniently organized by the stages of typical contract transactions from formation through remedies and provides fast, accurate answers to many types of questions on contracts and agreements.


Williston on Contracts

Williston on Contracts 4th is a recognized premier authority on contracts law. The comprehensive treatise covers all aspects of contract law, including historical underpinnings, majority and minority views, and current trends. The Fourth Edition traces contract law from its common-law roots in English cases and shows how those rules have evolved to meet contemporary concerns, including employment contracts, arbitration contracts, agreements for the custody and support of children, forum selection clauses, legalized casino gambling, cohabitation agreements, surrogate parenting agreements, and agreements regarding the religious upbringing of children, as well as conventional business contracts.

The aim of the treatise is to report, analyze and synthesize contract law, primarily as reflected in judicial decisions. The treatise discusses the law and the reasoning behind it, and includes analysis of majority and minority views, the modern trend, all relevant UCC and Restatement of Contracts provisions, and discussions as to whether the prevailing or dissenting opinion in an influential case reflects the theoretically better view.