Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Property Law: Secondary Sources

Resources available at LaValley Law Library relating to the area of Property Law

Treatises Available at LaValley Law Library

Restatements

Restatements are produced by the American Law Institute. Restatements of the Law address uncertainty in the law and attempt to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law.


Restatement of the Law - Property (Westlaw Edge)

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary (Westlaw Edge - need logon)

Black's Law is the most widely used law dictionary in the United States. It was founded by Henry Campbell Black. It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S. Supreme Court cases.


American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Westlaw Edge - Need logon)
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Lexis Advance - Need logon)

Comprehensive legal encyclopedia contains textual statements of law alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics. A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques. 


American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (Westlaw Edge - need login)

Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation.


American Law Reports (ALR) (Westlaw Edge - need login)
American Law Reports (ALR) (Lexis Advance - need login)

The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.


Corpus Juris Secundum (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A national legal encyclopedia, covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z. General rules of law are summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text. The book also provides the limitations and exceptions to the rules where appropriate. The citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, allowing the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country.


Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.

Lexis Advance Secondary Resources

This is a selection of the treatises available on Lexis Advance. If you want to see the comprehensive list, login to your Lexis Advance account, click on "Treatises & Practice Guides" under "Secondary Materials." Scroll down and clock on "Real Property Law."


Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual

Full of complete and updated information relating to every aspect of the real estate transaction in Ohio. Each chapter has been revised and updated to include the most recent statutory and case information.

Land Use Law

Land Use Law reviews local planning and land use regulation programs, and is the only treatise with comprehensive citations to federal and state court decisions, as well as state statutes.

Law of Premises Liability

Addresses one of the most frequently asserted theories of recovery in the field of tort law, personal injury actions brought by entrants against owners or occupiers of land. The Law of Premises Liability is an extensively-researched and highly-readable volume providing up-to-date coverage of all issues relating to premises liability. Discussing the latest case law from all 50 states, this volume remains the most complete and up-to-date resource available on the law of premises liability.

Ohio Real Property Law and Practice

Checklists, Warnings and Practice Tips have been inserted throughout the chapters, in an easy-to-find format that provides you with critical information at a glance.

Powell on Real Property

he Supreme Court Update, an annual review of Supreme Court cases affecting real property interests. National coverage includes unmatched in-depth analysis of the pertinent case law, statutes, and regulations.  

 

Westlaw Edge Secondary Resources

This is a selection of the treatises available on Westlaw Edge. If you want to see the comprehensive list, login to your Westlaw Edge account, click on "Secondary Sources" and narrow the selection by clicking on "Real Property" under "By Topic."


American Land Planning Law

Examines the changing priorities in zoning and land use practices, focusing on the relationship between private activity and governmental power, and analyzing over 15,000 cases from all 50 states. Provides case updates on such topics as exclusionary zoning, historic and commercial districts, landmark designation and architectural review.

American Law of Zoning 

Provides attorneys, planners, policy decision makers, and other land use professionals with a fundamental overview of the history and development of zoning in the United States. 

Clearing Land Titles

Provides in-depth analysis of the examination and appraisal of land titles, correction of specific title defects, creation of marketable title, examination of real estate title standards, proof of title and presumptions, and types of statutes of limitations and curative statutes commonly in force. 

Environmental Regulation of Land Use Scope Information

Covers federal, state, and local environmental statutes affecting land preservation and development, including management of coastal areas, wetlands, and flood plains; soil conservation and farmland preservation; groundwater and water quality issues; air quality; noise control; habitat conservation requirements; and regulation of development rights.

Federal Environmental Regulation of Real Estate

A leading expert in the field guides you through every major federal environmental law and regulation affecting real estate ownership, development, and acquisition. Offers insights and practical solutions, such as how to satisfy environmental cleanup standards under CERCLA and avoid incurring additional costs, and the best ways to handle development restrictions for wetlands and endangered species habitats.

Federal Land Use Law & Litigation

This comprehensive text covers all federal constitutional and statutory limitations on local land use law, discussing defense strategies, doctrines, and remedies.

Federal Regulation of Real Estate & Mortgage Lending