Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Procedure: Secondary Sources

Resources available at LaValley Law Library relating to the area of Criminal Procedure.

Treatises Available at LaValley Law Library

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary (Westlaw Edge - need logon)

Black's Law is the most widely used law dictionary in the United States. It was founded by Henry Campbell Black. It is the reference of choice for terms in legal briefs and court opinions and has been cited as a secondary legal authority in many U.S. Supreme Court cases.


American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Westlaw Edge - Need logon)
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR) (Lexis Advance - Need logon)

Comprehensive legal encyclopedia contains textual statements of law alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics. A to Z text statement of American Law, both state and federal. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques. 


American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (Westlaw Edge - need login)

Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation.


American Law Reports (ALR) (Westlaw Edge - need login)
American Law Reports (ALR) (Lexis Advance - need login)

The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.


Corpus Juris Secundum (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A national legal encyclopedia, covers state and federal legal topics from A to Z. General rules of law are summarized in blackletter law headings and expanded upon in the text. The book also provides the limitations and exceptions to the rules where appropriate. The citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, allowing the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country.


Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw Edge - need login)

A current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.

Lexis+ Secondary Resources

Anderson's Ohio Criminal Practice and Procedure

Anderson's Ohio Criminal Practice and Procedure is designed specifically to fulfill the needs of judges, prosecutors, and defense counsel who regularly deal with criminal cases. It reflects the ongoing changes made in criminal law and addresses the attorney's need for portable reference materials. 

Anderson's Ohio Manual of Criminal Complaints and Indictments

Anderson's Ohio Manual of Criminal Complaints and Indictments provides police officers and prosecutors with an easy-to-use format for filing criminal charges and preparing indictments. Completely revised, this important resource provides instant access to accurate charging information-containing complete language for all offenses in Title 29 of the Ohio Revised Code. This manual presents practical notes to assist law enforcement officials in making crucial charging and indictment decisions. Essential information on the appropriate selection of charges in individual cases is included, as well as penalties, affirmative defenses, and statutory definitions.

Appeals and Writs in Criminal Cases

Distinguished experts cover all aspects, including federal, to make appellate and writ review clear and increase your chances of success.

Business Crime: Criminal Liability of the Business Community

Business Crime: Criminal Liability of the Business Community is the most complete guide to the many criminal questions that can arise in modern business practice. Provides how-to guidance for setting up compliance programs to prevent corporate liability; effectively conducting internal corporate investigations, and parallel administrative, civil, and criminal proceedings. 

Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention

Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention provides essential guidance on all aspects of this critical area-the sources of corporate criminal liability, the immediate and collateral consequences of conviction, and the available defenses to, and limitations on, liability. This up-to-date guide also examines current prosecutorial discretion standards, amnesties and sentencing guidelines. It instructs corporate counsel on how to adopt forward-looking compliance policies that can prevent criminal liability and how to mitigate the severity of penalties when they are unavoidable

Courtroom Criminal Evidence

Conduct a winning case knowing all the rules governing admissibility and sufficiency of the evidence with Courtroom Criminal Evidence. Thousands of lawyers refer to this popular resource for expert guidance on criminal evidence issues. Written by a team of four leading attorneys with years of combined expertise in evidence law, this resource presents an analytical framework that simplifies evidence law and helps you understand the issues. With a wealth of information packed into more than 30 chapters, this is one resource you can count on for quick reference and expert advice anytime. Learn about the latest developments in evidence law.

Criminal Constitutional Law

This wide-ranging treatise examines all the complex constitutional issues involved in criminal law. Criminal Constitutional Law provides substantive discussion, as well as procedural guidelines on tactics and strategy. The treatise analyzes all-important Supreme Court, federal and state decisions interpreting Constitution provisions. Procedures mandated by the constitution for police, the courts, the prosecution, and the defense at each stage of the criminal process are thoroughly scrutinized.

Criminal Defense Techniques

Don't waste valuable research time wading through a library of criminal titles to find the information you need. Here is your one resource for complete coverage of criminal law, from pretrial to appeal. With more than 120 chapters of insight, guidance, and analysis, Criminal Defense Techniques contains all you need to effectively defend your client. Comprehensive chapters on important areas of law For those cases that require information unique to a special area of criminal law, you can refer to Criminal Defense Techniques for guidance on drafting the most effective strategy for your case. 

Criminal Evidentiary Foundations

Criminal Evidentiary Foundations describes in detail how to lay foundations to ensure the admission of critical items of evidence in a criminal trial. It shows you exactly how to convert abstract evidentiary doctrine into concrete lines of questioning. You'll get explanations for the phrasing of questions on direct and cross-examination and hundreds of sample foundational questions adapted to criminal cases.

Criminal Investigation Handbook

Criminal Investigation Handbook contains critical information you need to know about the use of the internet in perpetrating a computer crime -- especially cybercrime - and websites, e-mail addresses, and databases you can use in your investigation. Use this Handbook for practical guidance through each element of a criminal investigation. 

Criminal Law Advocacy

Criminal Law Advocacy explores the important techniques behind successful criminal law practice and offers specific guidelines for using the proper procedures. Checklists, sample forms, and real-life examples of testimony are included, with expert author commentary throughout.

Criminal Law Deskbook

Criminal Law Deskbook offers a concise discussion of the basic principles of criminal procedure, substantive criminal law, and criminal trial strategy and tactics. 

Defending Federal Criminal Cases: Attacking the Government's Proof

Beginning with the assessment of whether to cooperate with the government, this authoritative guide provides advice on the substance and timing of defense motions, objections, and appeals, as well as open questions and splits among the circuits. Coverage includes bases for motions to dismiss indictments; obtaining and drafting a Bill of Particulars; Fourth and Fifth Amendment grounds for suppressing evidence; Sixth Amendment rights, including the defendant's right to a speedy trial, confrontation of witnesses, and adequate representation; discovery issues, including the prosecution's obligations under Brady; proven methods for cross-examining government witnesses; capitalizing on perjury by government witnesses; objections based on substantive and procedural due process. 

Defense of Drunk Driving Cases: Criminal - Civil

Defense of Drunk Driving Cases: Criminal-Civil provides comprehensive coverage of the legal and technical issues that arise in a drunk driving case. This resource contains up-to-date guidance on relevant statutes, case law, and scientific facts. Topics discussed include per se laws, implied consent legislation, constitutional objections, field sobriety testing, and admissibility of chemical test results and other evidence.

Defense of Narcotics Cases

Defense of Narcotics Cases provides expert, up-to-date coverage of all aspects of narcotics cases and related matters, such as identification of drugs, search and seizure, motor vehicle, and airport searches, and pretrial proceedings. Also covers informers and accomplices, the trial, alternatives to standing trial, the compulsory commitment of narcotics addicts, defense of driving-under-the-influence cases, and forfeiture proceedings. 

Defense of Speeding, Reckless Driving, and Vehicular Homicide

The law, technical knowledge, and litigation techniques are required to successfully defend a speeding, reckless driving, or vehicular homicide case. 

The Entrapment Defense

The Entrapment Defense presents a full discussion of trial issues under both subjective and objective tests. The book includes full treatment of the standards of proof for both state and defendant, as well as evidentiary problems facing the defense. It gives special attention to inconsistent defense situations and exceptions to the inconsistent defense rule, due process issues, and other constitutional implications of entrapment.

Eyewitness Testimony: Civil and Criminal

Eyewitness Testimony uses psychological principles to examine the potential for erroneous eyewitness testimony, and applies them practically to the entire life of a lawsuit, from witness interviews, through discovery and motions practice, and all stages of the trial, to closing arguments and the verdict.

Federal Corporate Sentencing: Compliance and Mitigation

Federal Corporate Sentencing: Compliance and Mitigation shows how to develop and improve an internal compliance program - a critical preventive tool and the most important mitigating factor in sentencing. Because the Guidelines give legal recognition to compliance programs, a properly designed program can make the difference between a fine of several thousand dollars and one in the tens of millions. This essential reference also brings you comprehensive coverage of subjects such as determination of sentences, including aggravating and mitigating factors; global compliance programs; standards of conduct under Sarbanes-Oxley; advocacy strategies when dealing with prosecutors, judges, and probation officers; guidance on advising corporations already under federal scrutiny; the use of deferred and non-prosecution agreements; government policies on waiver of the attorney-client privilege and work-product protection as proof of a corporation's full cooperation; "corporate probation"; the interplay between the sentencing guidelines for individuals and for corporations; environmental and antitrust offenses; and more.

Federal Criminal Trials

Federal Criminal Trials is the definitive volume on federal criminal procedure, rules of evidence, and constitutional protections. Enhance your knowledge of the criminal trial process as it relates to constitutional protections, federal criminal procedure, rules of evidence, latest citations from all circuits, and complex pre-and post-trial issues. Federal prosecutors in the Department of Justice have used this handbook as the authoritative courtroom reference since 1946. Lawyers in state courts using the Federal Rules of Evidence also find it to be an invaluable reference tool. You'll gain instant access to cases with the easy-to-use numbering system, which provides quick entry into federal constitutional and evidentiary issues. Subtopics cited with chapters offer quick accessibility to topics such as search and seizure, Fifth and Sixth Amendment protections, enforcement of subpoenas, discovery, admissibility, hearsay exceptions, rebuttal, weight, and relevancy of evidence. Contains up-to-date Amendments to the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure  

Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure stands alone as the authoritative and practical treatise for achieving habeas corpus relief in both capital and non-capital cases. It is the resource cited most frequently by the U.S. Supreme Court and lower federal courts, as well as by thousands of other attorneys who practice in habeas corpus proceedings. 

Federal Sentencing for Business Crimes

The only comprehensive federal sentencing treatise with a business crime focus, Federal Sentencing for Business Crimes offers clear and practical guidance through the complexities of the Sentencing Guidelines to both novice and experienced prosecutors and defense attorneys. 

Forensic Sciences

Dozens of experts discuss the sciences relevant to criminal and civil litigation and the law concerning their use in the courtroom. Coverage of Forensic Sciences includes * Expert testimony and scientific evidence--admissibility, scope, impeachment, hypothetical questions, privilege, and more * Forensic pathology * Forensic anthropology and odontology * Forensic engineering * Forensic toxicology and pharmacology * Antemortem and postmortem alcohol determinations * Firearm identification * Investigation of explosions * AIDS: legal and medical considerations * DNA typing--criminal and civil applications * Illustrative testimony * Index of experts * Forensic psychiatry and psychology * Computer imaging * Auto accident investigation.

Marijuana Regulation

Grand Jury Practice

The most comprehensive treatise available on how grand juries function. Thorough and pragmatic, it brings together statutory and case law, Justice Department regulations, important variations in state court practice (including charts of relevant statutes), and practical advice on what really happens in grand jury proceedings.

Mental Disability Law: Civil and Criminal 

Mental Disability Law: Civil and Criminal is a logically organized and readable discussion of the entire body of law affecting the mentally disabled. It provides thoughtful answers to practically every research, counseling, or litigation problem that could conceivably arise in this area. Each chapter of this treatise contains practical checklists and commentary to highlight and clarify case authority. Extensively annotated, it contains a table of cases and cites hundreds of authoritative secondary sources.

Military Court Rules of the United States  

Fortunately for every practitioner in the military justice system, the National Institute of Military Justice has compiled a broad array of the military justice system's court rules into this single volume. The volume supplements the rules themselves with brief essays by some of the most provocative thinkers in their respective areas of expertise. The result is not merely a collection of the existing military court rules-a worthy achievement in itself-but an expansion of our knowledge and understanding of those rules.

Military Crimes and Defenses  

This handy one-volume resource, Military Crimes and Defenses, offers an in-depth look at the substantive aspects of military justice and is designed to help both the experienced practitioner and the novice find his or her way through the punitive articles of the Uniform Code of Military Justice. It covers the myriad aspects of writing the charges and specifications, analyzing possible defenses and possible instructions to the court members. Each punitive article is presented separately, followed by a detailed analysis and discussion. Coverage for each article focuses first on the official text of the article, then provides a discussion of the offense, including its history, what the prosecution must prove, applicable case law, and a discussion about possible defenses. For each article, the maximum punishment, possible lesser-included offenses, sample specifications, and sample instructions from the Military Judges' Benchbook are included. This guide also includes background on the military justice system, coverage of court-martial jurisdiction, and a chapter on defenses, for an all-in-one source on substantive military law.

Military Criminal Justice: Practice and Procedure 

Military Criminal Justice: Practice and Procedure is a user-friendly guide through the unique procedural and substantive rules governing military criminal justice practice. This definitive work is designed to assist those who practice military justice, both civilian and military, as well as those studying the military justice system. Supported with cites to thousands of cases, statutory provisions, and regulations, the text covers virtually every aspect of military criminal law -- from arrest to appeal, substantive crimes, and nonjudicial punishment.

Money Laundering, Asset Forfeiture and Compliance-A Global Guide  

This online service is designed to provide the reader with accurate analyses of the Anti-Money Laundering/Counter-Terrorist Financing Financial and Legal Intelligence, law and practice in the nations of the world with the most current references and resources. The service is organized around five main themes: 1. Money Laundering Risk and Compliance; 2. The Law of Anti-Money Laundering and Compliance; 3. Criminal and Civil Forfeiture; 4. Compliance and 5. International Cooperation. Each chapter is made up of five parts. Part I, "Introduction," Part II, "Anti-Money Laundering and Combating Terrorist Financing (AML/CTF)," Part III, "Criminal and Civil Forfeiture," Part IV, "Compliance," and Part V, "International Cooperation."

Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal

Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the federal rules. Moore's Federal Practice is LexisNexis Matthew Bender's flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure. This source contains the volumes of Moore's Federal Practice covering Criminal Practice, Volumes 24-28. Civil Practice, Volumes 1-23, 29, 30, and 31 can be found within the source called Moore's Federal Practice - Civil. Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal offers unmatched coverage of every detail of procedure in federal criminal cases, fully annotated and practice-oriented. Follows the sequence of the Federal Rules and includes The complete Advisory Committee Notes and the Legislative Committee Reports. Also discusses the Habeas Corpus Rules.

Pretrial Motions in Criminal Prosecutions

Criminal practice demands that lawyers consider a far-ranging array of pretrial challenges regardless of whether the case is actually tried at some later point. Pretrial Motions in Criminal Prosecutions is a readable and convenient single volume discussing critical areas of pretrial motion practice and issues relating to the myriad of motions that may be brought in a criminal prosecution. A sample omnibus motion is provided to demonstrate how a lawyer can skillfully encompass multiple considerations in a single motion. Expert author Daniel D. Blinka identifies the most salient grounds for pretrial motions, explains the issues that commonly arise, and provides a succinct statement of the governing law. Pivotal Points conveniently highlight more important aspects of an issue, and extensive use of federal case law makes this treatise a dependable reference for attorneys in all jurisdictions. Use the author's first-hand experience to learn about the law of pretrial motions as it is actually interpreted on the streets and in courts of law. Clearly written and comprehensive in scope, Pretrial Motions in Criminal Prosecutions offers expert insight on such issues as motions to suppress, search and seizure, and identification procedures, as well as current guidelines governing specific pretrial motions such as withdrawal of counsel and disqualification of a judge. Extensive case citations illustrate the applications of the law.

The Ponzi Book: A Legal Resource for Unraveling Ponzi Schemes 

Covers virtually all legal issues relating to unwinding Ponzi schemes. The Ponzi Book is relevant and timely, given the increased exposure of Ponzi schemes and the substantial litigation that has ensued in the quest to find assets and to make investors whole. Designed to be a comprehensive guide to the complex issues that arise in Ponzi schemes, The Ponzi Book includes a thorough legal analysis to support competing claims and defenses of affected parties, and contains a sophisticated discussion of the administrative practicalities that arise in Ponzi cases. Both practitioners in the field and parties affected by a Ponzi scheme can benefit from the comprehensive coverage of issues in The Ponzi Book. Several chapters are dedicated to increasingly common fraudulent transfer claims (clawbacks) and preference claims arising in Ponzi schemes, along with the defenses that investors, brokers and others can assert to those claims. The book also includes a detailed discussion of a broad array of litigation claims that can be pursued against any type of defendant with culpability or liability due to its involvement in a Ponzi scheme. Separate chapters are dedicated to each of the complicated legal issues of deepening insolvency, standing, and in pari delicto as they arise in Ponzi litigation. Since Ponzi schemes usually involve related criminal proceedings, the book also covers Fifth Amendment and other privilege issues as well as a detailed analysis of what happens to competing claims for assets in parallel insolvency and criminal proceedings. For those seeking to recover assets, several chapters discuss prejudgment remedies available to freeze assets, contempt proceedings, and service issues both internationally and domestically. The ultimate end game for claimants and those administering the unwinding of a Ponzi proceeding is the claims and allowance and distribution process, and this book offers a sophisticated review of differing approaches and methodologies available in the claims review process. Finally, the highlights of recent changes in the tax laws relative to tax relief for Ponzi victims are covered to raise awareness of these issues for victims and their tax advisors.

Prosecution and Defense of Criminal Conspiracy Cases  

Prosecution and Defense of Criminal Conspiracy Cases include complete coverage including complex evidentiary matters, constitutional issues, and practical considerations. * Coverage of substantive problems, such as requirements of the agreement, overt act, and specific intent; procedural problems, such as venue, joint defendant questions, co-conspirators' declarations, and the hearsay exception, complicity, and double jeopardy * Chapter on federal conspiracy principles * Every state and federal conspiracy statute in convenient tables * Bibliographies and key sample indictment * Comments on future trends in the law * Discussion of RICO conspiracy issues.

Prosecution and Defense of Forfeiture Cases

Prosecution and Defense of Forfeiture Cases is the most comprehensive treatise available on the substantive and procedural law of civil and criminal forfeiture. Provides valuable practical suggestions and model forms, and covers all the key forfeiture statutes, including the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, the Comprehensive Crime Control Act of 1984, and the Civil Asset Forfeiture Reform Act of 2000. * Discussion of forfeiture in federal narcotics, alien smuggling and foreign currency transaction cases * Application of the relation-back doctrine * Civil forfeiture proceedings from filing a claim and answer through trial, including settlements and plea negotiations * The law and practice of criminal forfeiture * Post-forfeiture administrative relief guide to obtaining remission and mitigation.

The Prosecution and Defense of Public Corruption

The Prosecution and Defense of Public Corruption: The Law and Legal Strategies authored by Peter J. Henning & Lee Radek is the first comprehensive, practice-oriented treatment of the law of public corruption in the U.S. legal market. This unique publication provides a thorough legal analysis of the disparate areas of the law that can be used to prosecute public officials at all levels of government.

The Prosecution and Defense of Sex Crimes

The Prosecution and Defense of Sex Crimes contains full coverage of legal problems involved in forcible and non-forcible sex crimes, including sexual and physical abuse of children and spouses, and prostitution. This resource delivers detailed authority on * Investigatory techniques * Pre-trial motions * Trial strategies * Jury selection * Cross-examination * Treatment of expert witnesses * Sentencing alternatives * Negotiated pleas * Appeals * Child sexual assault * Megan's Law. 

Prosecutor's Manual for Arrest, Search and Seizure  

The ideal roadmap for defense lawyers and prosecutors, Prosecutor's Manual for Arrest, Search and Seizure provides the succinct analysis necessary to canvass the often tangled landscape of Fourth Amendment law. Originally authored by former prosecutors, Professors James Adams and Daniel Blinka, the Third Edition was updated by John M. Castellano of the Queens County, New York, District Attorney's Office. These authors' pragmatic approach has created a balanced, sound, and comprehensive one-volume survey of arrest, search, and seizure issues.

Prosecutorial Misconduct  

Provides a comprehensive and scholarly analysis of every prosecutorial abuse, from the initiation of a criminal investigation through the appeal and post-conviction stages for both federal and state jurisdictions. Unlike other works, however, Prosecutorial Misconduct also provides the defense bar with proven battle plans. Included in this edition is a complete collection of motions, briefs, and arguments from actual cases handled by noted defense lawyers.

RICO State by State: A Guide to Litigation Under the State Racketeering Statutes  

This comprehensive guide is the only available collection and analysis of state RICO statutes. It covers all 30 states, as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, that have enacted RICO statutes based upon the federal statutes. The opening chapter provides a quick overview of the federal RICO statute, emphasizing issues important to litigation under the state statutes. The following chapters then analyze the law in one state and include the text of the state's statute. The chapters are organized around familiar principles applicable to RICO litigation to reflect and clarify the similarities and differences among the statutory schemes and case law of the jurisdictions.

RICO: Civil and Criminal Law Strategy  

This definitive treatise deals with unresolved issues including the four-year statute of limitations; due process; the evolving definitions of "pattern" and "enterprise"; determination of predicate acts, including mail, wire, and securities fraud; potential applications of RICO in commercial fraud; causation, injury and scope of damages; pretrial seizure of assets and forfeiture of assets; criminal "mega-trials"; parallel proceedings and collateral consequences; and government civil RICO. The book also keeps you up to date on Supreme Court cases and the latest judicial interpretations of many important issues, including the survival of RICO actions after death.

Search and Seizure 

Search and Seizure addresses the types of issues that busy practitioners and judges encounter every day. It analyzes the principles and applications of search and seizure law, unlocking its subtleties and providing the tools to ensure that no aspect of your case is overlooked. Clearly written and comprehensive in scope, Search and Seizure offers expert insight on such issues as a reasonable expectation of privacy, consent, and probable cause, as well as current guidelines governing search and seizure in such specific circumstances as vehicles, professional offices, and airports. It contains practice pointers throughout the text, concise summaries of the standards of governing a particular rule of search and seizure law, and numerous checklists you can use to debrief a client or prepare for a suppression motion and hearing. Extensive case citations illustrate the applications of the Fourth Amendment and, in every case, describe precisely the exact location of the quotes within a case.

Sexual Assault Trials

Because of the dynamic nature of sexual assault litigation, current knowledge, principles, and approaches can easily become outdated. Stay on top of the latest developments in this area with this new edition of Sexual Assault Trials, the only book of its kind written by an active trial practitioner. Covering virtually all aspects of sexual assault trials, this resource is a complete handbook for anticipating and fulfilling the special demands of sexual assault cases. Get expert guidance on discovery and pretrial issues, jury selection, direct and cross-examination, hearsay, expert testimony, presentation of evidence, and jury instructions to help you develop a winning strategy for your case.

Sixth Circuit Criminal Handbook

This comprehensive and useful criminal handbook is the product of years of careful study and practical application of Sixth Circuit criminal decisions. Covering hundreds of criminal issues, the Sixth Circuit Criminal Handbook gives litigators, judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, law clerks, and paralegals clear, practical analysis tailored to the needs of a busy criminal law practitioner. It also includes 90 updated sections and 120 new cases that are important to criminal practice. 

U.S Money Laundering

Money laundering is the cornerstone of any successful criminal enterprise. The successful movement of illicit funds through financial institutions provides the lifeblood for continuing illegal organizations. This source is intended to be a comprehensive desk reference for White Collar practitioners, banking lawyers, accountants, and officers and directors of financial institutions or other regulated institutions that face the risk of money laundering. To that end, the first two chapters trace the development of the money laundering statutes and provide a guide to the money laundering terminology used by Congress, as interpreted by the federal courts. Succeeding chapters follow the statutes in discussing law of promotion money laundering, concealment money laundering, tax money laundering, Bank Secrecy Act money laundering, and government sponsored "sting" money laundering, together with the inchoate offenses of money laundering conspiracy (as distinct from the general conspiracy statute, 18 U.S.C.A. § 371) and attempted money laundering. International money laundering, in all its forms, is analyzed and discussed, as are § 1957 offenses arising from transactions in the proceeds of specified unlawful activity. This treatise concludes with an analysis of the sentencing of offenses under both § 1956 and § 1957 of the statute.

White Collar Crime: Business and Regulatory Offenses (LJP)

 In White Collar Crime: Business and Regulatory Offenses, Otto G. Obermaier and Robert G. Morvillo have gathered a prestigious group of authors to counsel you on: criminal tax cases; securities fraud; RICO; mail and wire fraud; banking crimes; criminal antitrust actions; bribery and extortion; conspiracy; entrapment and government overreaching; government contract fraud; grand jury practice; perjury and false declarations; and general principles governing the criminal liability of corporations, their employees and officers. White Collar Crime: Business and Regulatory Offenses also features a discussion of computer crime, including provisions of the Electronic Communications Privacy Act and the creation of Computer Hacking and Intellectual Property Squads designed to combat copyright theft, computer fraud and hacking. There is also valuable information on forfeiture; the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act; and the Supreme Court's interpretation of the standard of "gross proportionality" as it applies to violations of the Eighth Amendment's "excessive fines" clause.

 

Westlaw Edge Resources

Compliance Programs & the Corporate Sentencing Guidelines Scope Information

Compliance Programs and the Corporate Sentencing Guidelines contains suggestions for policies and procedures capable of reducing the risk of corporate wrongdoing.

Constitutional Rights of the Accused

Constitutional Rights of the Accused is a multi-volume set covering the federal constitutional rights of persons accused or convicted of a crime.

Criminal Procedure Checklists, Fifth Amendment & Sixth Amendment

This two-volume set provides quick access to major Fifth and Sixth Amendment doctrines and case citations for knowledge of how courts ruled on a particular issue. Supreme Court and federal court decisions are presented in a quotations format so black letter law can be quickly found.

Criminal Procedure Handbook

This database analyzes more than 3,700 decisions relating to criminal procedure. Includes all the noteworthy federal and state decisions of the past year. While emphasis is placed on Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law, also contains in-depth coverage of cases involving pretrial matters, guilty pleas, trials, evidence, sentencing, appeals, post-conviction proceedings, juries, and habeas corpus. This database: Reviews latest developments and trends in criminal procedure Analyzes more than 3,700 federal and state criminal procedure decisions Emphasizes Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment law In-depth coverage from pretrial issues, the trial, and sentencing.

Defending Corporations and Individuals in Government Investigations

Federal Criminal Appeals

Federal Criminal Appeals offers guidance for handling and adjudicating federal criminal appeals, including the role of appellate counsel, appealability, scope and standards of review, and brief-writing and oral argument skills.

Federal Criminal Rules Handbook

Federal Grand Jury: A Guide to Law & Practice

Federal Grand Jury: A Guide to Law & Practice, written by Susan Brenner, discusses the principles and functions of a grand jury. It also provides practical guidance on selecting and convening the grand jury, securing evidence, immunity, secrecy, and practical forms.

Federal Habeas Manual

Federal Habeas Manual is a publication that analyzes the sweeping changes to federal habeas corpus practice that were enacted by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA) of 1996. This database will walk you through the particularly thorny area of federal habeas practice.

Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)

Federal Sentencing Guidelines

Federal Sentencing Law & Practice

Federal Sentencing Law and Practice contains the complete text of the Federal Sentencing Guidelines. Includes expert explanation and analysis of each section to enhance understanding. The authors of Federal Sentencing Law and Practice provide a balanced approach to changing developments in sentencing issues. Depend on this source to bring you Official Commentary, Historical Notes and Authors' Commentary. Federal Sentencing Law and Practice examines the factors used in determining the guideline range, nature of the offensive conduct, possible adjustments to the guideline sentence, the defendant's criminal history, how a particular sentence is calculated and procedures for plea agreements.

Search & Seizure Checklists

For the June 2021 edition, Publisher's Editorial Staff reviewed more than 50 cases. New coverage includes United States v. King, in which the Ninth Circuit found the good faith exception applied to the search of the defendant's residence (§ 5:18); the First Circuit's discussion of United States v. Simpkins, where the court determined law enforcement had probable cause to search a car based on the defendant's conduct and the officer spotting aftermarket wires in the car (§ 10:4); circuit court decisions in Varner v. Roane, United States v. Fletcher, United States v. Blomquist, United States v. Ramirez, and others relating to consent (Chapter 17); and the Eighth Circuit's decision in United States v. Stephen, affirming that actions by private individuals are not within the purview of the Fourth Amendment (§ 29:1).

Searches & Seizures, Arrests & Confessions

Searches & Seizures, Arrests and Confessions 2d is a sourcebook for all aspects of search, seizure, arrest and confession jurisprudence.

Uncharged Misconduct Evidence 

Professor Edward Imwinkelried's two-volume work, Uncharged Misconduct Evidence, is a comprehensive, current, and authoritative treatise dealing with arguably the single most important evidentiary issue for modern litigators.

Wharton's Criminal Procedure

White Collar Crime: RICO

This title is a practical guide for criminal defense practitioners who need to understand the fundamentals of federal racketeering law and its defense.