LibGuides: Career & Job Information: Company Research

Use these resources to research companies.

Knowing who you want to work for or are applying to can set you up for a successful hiring process. After all, how can you work for a company or business if you do not know anything about its values, process, or ethics?

Here are some resources and questions for you to consider:

Is it a company you want to work for?
- Do they treat their employees fairly?
- What benefits do they offer?
- What is the average salary for your position?
- Have they been in the news lately?
Match your values and skills to the company's values and needs.
- Are they committed to environmental initiatives?
- Do they have a fair hiring process?
- Do they support labor unions or offer unionization?
Have something to talk about in an interview.
- Why are you a good fit for the company?
  - What can you bring to the company they don't already have?

Company and Industry Information

man presenting data Use these databases to find business information, including company, industry, and career information.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Contains current company and industry information as well as full text from business periodicals. Includes industry rankings, company profiles and histories, market share data, and investment research reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find basic company information by using the Company Information tab. Find articles by searching in the text box.

Magazine and Journal Article Databases

magnifying glass used to read papers Use these databases to find more company and industry information, especially journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from regional business newspapers, newswires, trade magazines, and more.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to national, international, and regional newspapers. Includes complete full text for over 40 U.S. and international papers and television and radio news transcripts of major broadcast and cable stations.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the Wall Street Journal newspaper. Includes personalized access to www.wsj.com as well as access on mobile and tablet apps. Most recent 4 years only.

All of UToledo's databases in one handy list!

UToledo Research Databases
Use these databases to search for articles on any organization.

Video Demonstrations!

View demos of many business resources.

BUAD 2000 Career Development library instruction video
How to find more information on careers by finding articles in Business Source Complete.
BUAD 3000 Career Development library instruction video
How to find company information to help you better understand a company before an interview by using Business Insights and Business Source Complete.

Researching Government Agencies and Non-Profits

USA.gov A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Find directory information for government agencies and departments.
Foundation Center 990 Finder
Find 990s (the form that non-profits file with the government) to read about the financial status of the organization.
NCES Search for Schools and Colleges
The National Center for Education Statistics offers basic information on schools and colleges.

Wage Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The OOH offers career information from the U.S. government.

Occupational Information Network (O*NET)
This website offers information by occupation and skill.
Office of Foreign Labor Certification (OFLC) Performance Data
from US Dept. of Labor, Employment & Training Admin.
Statistics about labor certification requests (visas) which include company names, location, job titles, and salary ranges for many occupations.
GoinGlobal
Worldwide job openings, internship listings, industry profiles, and country-specific career and employment information. Access GoinGlobal through the MyUT portal, Student tab, University Career Services box.