LibGuides: Cosmetic Science: Home

Using the Libraries' Resources

You can access many of our library materials electronically, as we have digital e-journal and e-book subscriptions from a variety of sources. Use our Library Catalog to search for books, book chapters, or journal titles. Results can be limited to electronic journals or electronic books after searching.

Materials specifically selected for your course may be available as links in your BlackBoard course site or as scanned readings in our Course Reserves. Check our Reserves by Professor or by Course number to see what readings are available:

Finding journal or magazine articles on a topic can be done using our UTMOST search or the specific Research Databases listed on this guide. Searching for keywords about your topic will bring up lists of published items, then you can often use the Full Text and Find It @ UToledo links or buttons to obtain the full item.

Research Databases for Cosmetic Science

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search the literature of chemistry and related fields by topic or by chemical name, formula, or structure. Reaction searching and many ways of analyzing and refining your results are included.
[Registration Required! See SciFinder LibGuide for details].

If you are prompted for a security error, you can safely bypass the warning and log in.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to publications and information on business topics.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Contains current company and industry information as well as full text from business periodicals. Includes industry rankings, company profiles and histories, market share data, and investment research reports.

Academic and Industry Associations & Resources

Society of Cosmetic Chemists
Professional association in the cosmetics and personal care industry founded in 1945 for the exchange of ideas and new developments in cosmetic research and technology.
TRI Princeton
TRI Princeton is a world-leading research institute focused on hair and skin testing for cosmetics, dermatology, and a wide range of other applications.
UToledo users can register with their utoledo.edu address for access!
Independent Beauty Association
A non-profit trade association dedicated to fostering the success of entrepreneurial companies in the independent beauty industry through education, community, resources, and advocacy.
Persoal Care Products Council
A national trade association representing global cosmetics and personal care products companies
American Academy of Dermatology
International Federation of Societies of Cosmetic Chemists
A worldwide federation of national Societies dedicated to international cooperation in cosmetic science and technology.