Related Articles
Handbook of Statistical Methods for Case-Control Studies
Handbook of Statistical Methods for Case-Control Studies is written by leading researchers in the field. It provides an in-depth treatment of up-to-date and currently developing statistical methods for the design and analysis of case-control studies, as well as a review of classical principles and methods. The handbook is designed to serve as a reference text for biostatisticians and quantitatively-oriented epidemiologists who are working on the design and analysis of case-control studies or on related statistical methods research. Though not specifically intended as a textbook, it may also be used as a backup reference text for graduate level courses. Book Sections Classical designs and causal inference, measurement error, power, and small-sample inference Designs that use full-cohort information Time-to-event data Genetic epidemiology About the Editors Ørnulf Borgan is Professor of Statistics, University of Oslo. His book with Andersen, Gill and Keiding on counting processes in survival analysis is a world classic. Norman E. Breslow was, at the time of his death, Professor Emeritus in Biostatistics, University of Washington. For decades, his book with Nick Day has been the authoritative text on case-control methodology. Nilanjan Chatterjee is Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University. He leads a broad research program in statistical methods for modern large scale biomedical studies. Mitchell H. Gail is a Senior Investigator at the National Cancer Institute. His research includes modeling absolute risk of disease, intervention trials, and statistical methods for epidemiology. Alastair Scott was, at the time of his death, Professor Emeritus of Statistics, University of Auckland. He was a major contributor to using survey sampling methods for analyzing case-control data. Chris J. Wild is Professor of Statistics, University of Auckland. His research includes nonlinear regression and methods for fitting models to response-selective data.
Mendelian Randomization
Mendelian Randomization: Methods For Causal Inference Using Genetic Variants provides thorough coverage of the methods and practical elements of Mendelian randomization analysis. It brings together diverse aspects of Mendelian randomization from the fields of epidemiology, statistics, genetics, and bioinformatics. Through multiple examples, the first part of the book introduces the reader to the concept of Mendelian randomization, showing how to perform simple Mendelian randomization investigations and interpret the results. The second part of the book addresses specific methodological issues relevant to the practice of Mendelian randomization, including robust methods, weak instruments, multivariable methods, and power calculations. The authors present the theoretical aspects of these issues in an easy-to-understand way by using non-technical language. The last part of the book examines the potential for Mendelian randomization in the future, exploring both methodological and applied developments. Features Offers first-hand, in-depth guidance on Mendelian randomization from leaders in the field Makes the diverse aspects of Mendelian randomization understandable to newcomers Illustrates technical details using data from applied analyses Discusses possible future directions for research involving Mendelian randomization Software code is provided in the relevant chapters and is also available at the supplementary website This book gives epidemiologists, statisticians, geneticists, and bioinformaticians the foundation to understand how to use genetic variants as instrumental variables in observational data. New in Second Edition: The second edition of the book has been substantially re-written to reduce the amount of technical content, and emphasize practical consequences of theoretical issues. Extensive material on the use of two-sample Mendelian randomization and publicly-available summarized data has been added. The book now includes several real-world examples that show how Mendelian randomization can be used to address questions of disease aetiology, target validation, and drug development
Applied Statistical Genetics with R
Statistical genetics has become a core course in many graduate programs in public health and medicine. This book presents fundamental concepts and principles in this emerging field at a level that is accessible to students and researchers with a first course in biostatistics. Extensive examples are provided using publicly available data and the open source, statistical computing environment, R.
Analysis of Genetic Association Studies
Analysis of Genetic Association Studies is both a graduate level textbook in statistical genetics and genetic epidemiology, and a reference book for the analysis of genetic association studies. Students, researchers, and professionals will find the topics introduced in Analysis of Genetic Association Studies particularly relevant. The book is applicable to the study of statistics, biostatistics, genetics and genetic epidemiology. In addition to providing derivations, the book uses real examples and simulations to illustrate step-by-step applications. Introductory chapters on probability and genetic epidemiology terminology provide the reader with necessary background knowledge. The organization of this work allows for both casual reference and close study.
Genetic Epidemiology: Methods and Applications
Basic Biostatistics for Geneticists and Epidemiologists
Handbook of Statistical Genetics
A truly groundbreaking volume, the Handbook of Statistical Genetics is a timely, informative and highly accessible reference for both statisticians interested in genetical applications and geneticists seeking a deeper understanding of statistical methods in their field. It is divided into six main sections, encompassing the entire field of statistics in genetics: ? Bioinformatics ? Population Genetics ? Evolutionary Genetics ? Genetic Epidemiology ? Plant and Animal Genetics ? Applications As the Human Genome Project (HGP) reaches its climax, with the complete sequence of mankind, science is fast approaching an exciting new stage in its ability to understand genetic forces in man. In parallel to the HGP are major sequencing efforts in other organisms, enabling us to understand broader questions in evolution and classification. This explosion of data has led to an increased need for sophisticated statistical, mathematical and computational tools to enable complex data collection, analysis and interpretation of the results. ? Comprehensive coverage of the most pressing statistical issues in genetics. ? Offers a lucid introduction to newcomers, as well as providing invaluable information for more experienced researchers. ? Each chapter is written by a leading international authority from the field. ? Complemented by numerous examples, case studies, and references to useful resources on the web. This authoritative reference will be ideal for both students and researchers working in genetics, including statisticians, geneticists, molecular biologists, biochemists and computer scientists.
Search for more information on genetic epidemiology and related topics in
the UToledo and OhioLINK library catalogs (bottom of this page)
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
