LibGuides: HED Higher Education: 1. ERIC

Slide Show

If the slides are moving too fast or too slow for you, use the left and right buttons to navigate instead of the "play" button. You can also click on the slideshow button

to view a larger version.

ERIC Database

The ERIC database is available in many search environments. Each should have the same data, but there will be differences in how each one searches, uses the thesaurus, or connects to full text.

ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."

ERIC (Public Access)
Version on the U.S. Dept. of Education site.

Sources indexed in ERIC

Journals Index (EJs)
The list of journals includes titles indexed from 1966 to the present, and indicates any breaks in coverage, e.g., 1999-2001, 2004-Current. Use of the term "current" indicates that ERIC is actively indexing the journal; the availability of the most recent issues varies according to the release schedule of each publisher.

Current journal indicator Journals currently indexed in ERIC are marked with an orange diamond.
Non-Journal Sources (ERIC Documents or EDs)
ERIC indexes grey literature and books from hundreds of organizations producing education-related material. Organizations providing non-journal content to ERIC include research foundations, federal and state agencies, policy organizations, university affiliates, and commercial publishers. Browse the list of content contributors to glimpse the depth and variety of sources helping build the ERIC Collection, and select the link to visit an organization's Web site.