Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Nursing Journal Club: How to Participate

College of Nursing Journal Club

What is the College of Nursing Journal Club? 

  • The purpose of the College of Nursing Journal Club is to promote a spirit of inquiry by facilitating the reading, presentation and discussion of journal articles with relevance to nursing practice.    

  • Meetings will generally be held the first Monday of each month from 12-12:50 p.m. and will consist of:

    • Presentations of 2-3 peer-reviewed articles following a set theme

    • Time will be reserved for discussion following each article presentation 

Who can participate? 

  • UToledo College of Nursing students, faculty and staff

How can I present an article? 

  • Email eileen.walsh@utoledo.edu and jodi.jameson@utoledo.edu with your idea

  • Eileen Walsh and Jodi Jameson will contact you to confirm your presentation

Article presentations should include:

  • Background (purpose, aim, hypothesis, research question, etc.)
  • Methodology/Study Design
  • Results
  • Implications for Practice

Journal Articles for Discussion

November 14, 2022 Journal Club Meeting

12 - 12:50 p.m. (WebEx)

To access articles:

  1. Click the links below
  2. Enter your UT username/password if prompted to do so
  3. Click on PDF Full-Text or FindIt@UT to connect to the full-text

Presented by Janice Servick:

Lindsay, S. L., & Mathieson, K. (2022). Authentic leadership: Does it relate to job satisfaction and engagement? Nursing Management, 53(6), 24-30. 

Presented by Linda Lewin:

Key Findings – Comprehensive Mass Shooter Data. https://www.theviolenceproject.org/mass-shooter-database-3/key-findings/

McCall, W.T., Anderson, J.G., Myers, C.,R. Sagherian, K., & Bamwine, P. (2022). “Was definitely different because they were kids”: Caring for patients from a school shooting. Journal of Trauma Nursing, 29(5), 252-261. 

McCall, W. T. (2020, September). Caring for patients from a school shooting: A qualitative case series in emergency nursingJournal of Emergency Nursing, 46(5), 712-721.e1. 

Additional articles (TBD) presented by Kendra Greathouse, BSN and Stephanie Veselka, BSN

 

Presented by Ilana San Souci, BSN, RN (DNP student – Graduate Assistant), Linda Lewin, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, and Dianna Clawson, MSN, RN (DNP student)

Key Findings – Comprehensive Mass Shooter Data. https://www.theviolenceproject.org/mass-shooter-database-3/key-findings/

McCall, W.T., Anderson, J.G., Myers, C.,R. Sagherian, K., & Bamwine, P. (2022). “Was definitely different because they were kids”: Caring for patients from a school shooting. Journal of Trauma Nursing, 29(5), 252-261. 

Presented by Sarah Dusseau,  BSN, RN and Katie Zinmer, BSN, RN (DNP Students - Graduate Assistants): 

Blumenfeld, A., Dueland, A. N., Evers, S., Jenkins, B., Martelletti, P., & Sommer, K. (2022). Practical insights on the identification and management of patients with chronic migrainePain and Therapy11(2), 447–457. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40122-022-00387-9

Kim, E., L’Italien, G., & Mohajer, A. (2022). Non-neurologist perspectives on migraine: Results of a cross-sectional advisory board survey (P8-2.001). Neurology, 98(18 Supplement), 1344. (Note: This is a conference abstract of a presentation from the American Academy of Neurology 74th Annual Meeting, Seattle, May 3 2022)

Wilbanks, C. (2022). Migraine in adult primary care. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 18(4), 366-369. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nurpra.2022.01.018 
 

Topic: Nurse Practitioner Preceptors, Residencies, and Virtual Visits 

Presented by: Alyssa Kurjan, BSN, RN and Katie Zinmer, BSN, RN (DNP Students - Graduate Assistants)

Steps to access full-text articles:

  1. Click on the title of the article below
  2. Under "Let's Find Your Institution" enter The University of Toledo
  3. Click on University of Toledo Libraries
  4. Proceed to full-text by clicking on full-text links (i.e. PDF Full-Text, Full-Text at ScienceDirect, FindIt@UT, etc.)

Need help?  Contact Jodi Jameson (jodi.jameson@utoledo.edu | 419.383.5152)

Bazzell, A. F., & Dains, J. E. (2017). Supporting nurse practitioner preceptor development. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 13(8), e375-e382.

Mounayar, J., & Cox, M. (2021). Nurse practitioner post-graduate residency program: Best practice. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 17(4), 453-457.

Merritt, L. S. (2020). Preparing nurse practitioner students for virtual visits: An innovative computer-based text-messaging simulation. Clinical Simulation in Nursing, 43, 17-20