Primary Sources: Additional Primary Sources

Index to journal literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations to articles in over 1,800 journals as well as citations and links to book and media reviews. Includes English-language abstracts for articles published in more than 40 languages.

Digitized collection of thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 from the library of the American Antiquarian Society. Covers a variety of subjects including American agriculture, the American West, business and commerce, education, hobbies and recreation, literature and the arts, religion, science, women, slavery and the Civil War, and political and social movements.

Digitized collection of primary source documents from the archives of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History in New York. Module 1 spans the period from the discovery of America to the Civil War and predominantly consists of unique manuscripts supplemented by maps, engravings, posters, broadsides, pamphlets and rare printed material. Major subcollections include the Henry Knox Papers, Livingston Family Papers, and Gilder Lehrman Collection, 1493-1859. Provides both an overview of the period and in-depth research strands on life and commerce in colonial America, the Revolutionary War, beginnings of the new nation, westward expansion, relations with Native Americans, debates over slavery, and the inevitable Civil War.

This collection includes all issues of all periodicals (91 titles) that could be located for the years 1741-1800. It traces the evolution of the American periodical, from two short-lived publications of 1741 edited by Andrew Bradford and Benjamin Franklin, through the increasing magazine activity after the American Revolution.

Database of over 7,000 digitized images of colonial North and South America from books, manuscripts, and broadsides in the John Carter Brown Library in Providence, R.I. Drawn entirely from primary source materials that were printed or created ca. 1492 through 1825.

A bibliography of the Western World's most important historical documents of the New World. Find articles, primary sources, and other essays about the founding of the United States, political groups, and other social reform topics.

A bibliography of the Western World's most important historical documents of the New World. Find articles, primary sources, and other essays about the founding of the United States, political groups, and other social reform topics.

An in-depth look and commentary of documents related to the discovery of the Americas. Includes discussions and author's notes on the materials published between 1492 and 1555

An in-depth look and commentary of documents related to the discovery of the Americas. Includes discussions and author's notes on the materials published between 1492 and 1555

Portal for searching public domain and openly licensed digitized content held by U.S. libraries, archives, museums, and cultural intitutions. Offers a single access point to millions of digitized items, including books, photographs, manuscripts, maps, books, newspapers, obituaries, oral histories and videos. Also includes online exhibitions and primary source sets drawn from collections of partner institutions.

A collection of American newspapers from 1777-1963. Able to search by keyword, date, state, and more.

One hundred-forty-one titles are included in this 19th century collection of handbooks and manuals pertaining to proper manners, dress, customs, social forms, handwriting, morals, and domestic life in general. Advice to both ladies and gentlemen is included.

Digitized collection of unique primary source materials for the study of American social, cultural, popular and women's history in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains thousands of searchable page images (with transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides covering topics such as religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Particularly strong in conduct of life and domestic management literature, providing researchers with unique insights into the daily lives of women (as well as men). Materials are from the collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History at Duke University and the New York Public Library.

Selected from the University of Virginia's Rare Books Library, this is an ideal collection of scarce items of Americana up to about 1835. Provides excellent source materials for the Columbian, Colonial, Revolutionary, and Federal periods as well as the Jeffersonian. All of the titles selected are in Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Provides information on history and principal institutional bodies of OAS, an international organization that works to promote democracy, protect human rights, preserve security, economic and social development, and regional security cooperation. Examines current priorities and funding of OAS, and addresses policy issues for Congress

Primary sources from the ante-bellum South, providing unparalleled access to plantation records in archival collections throughout the old South. Manuscript selections from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina Historical Society, the Library of Congress, the Maryland Historical Society, the University of Virginia, Duke University, and the University of North Carolina have been selected for this project. Personal papers, plantation journals, financial records, business and legal papers, and diaries form the bulk of the collection. Carlson Library has Series A, E, F, and J, as well as guides to the complete collection. Edited by Kenneth Stampp.

This collection of some 448 titles has been selected from E. Merton Coulter's Travels in the Confederate States: A Bibliography (Z1251 .S7 C68/1981y Reference). Valuable to students of the Civil War and post-Civil War period, it contains a major block of material written by on-the-scene observers -- soldiers, journalists, foreigners, visitors and innocent victims caught in the grip of war.

The Vandamm Collection contains 26,000 10 inch by 8 inch captioned photographs of stage productions in New York theaters between 1919 and 1961, together with a Personality File of photographs of 1,000 individuals performers and related theater personnel.

Collection of over 7,000 titles is based primarily on Wright Howes' U. S.iana, 1650-1950: A Selective Bibliography in Which are Described 11,620 Uncommon and Significant Books Relating to the Continental Portion of the United States. About 2,000 titles of important and ephemeral material not listed in Howes were selected from the Yale and Newberry collections of western Americana. The project includes the basic printed sources for the history of the discovery, exploration, settlement, and development of the region stretching from Mexico to the Arctic Ocean, west of the Mississippi Valley. Pamphlets and folders to promote land sales, personal narratives by participants of the frontier experience, local histories, and early state constitutions are included. The emphasis is on source materials published contemporaneously with the events they describe.

A collected work of Thomas Hodgkin's socialist writings and ideals of economy, capitalism, trade, and unions.

Index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from 60+ English-language military and aeronautical periodicals from 1987 to present day.

A collection of American State Papers selected and edited under the authority of congress. It is divided into different classes of information. In this series it is a collection of documents that focused on 5 Classes: Class I. Foreign relations. 6 vols. -- Class II. Indian affairs. 2 vols. -- Class III. Finance. 5 vols. -- Class IV. Commerce and navigation. 2 vols. -- Class V. Military affairs. 7 vols.

A collection of American State Papers selected and edited under the authority of congress. It is divided into different classes of information. In this series it is a collection of documents that focused on 5 Classes: Class VI. Naval affairs. 4 vols. -- Class VII. Post office department. 1 vol. -- Class VIII. Public lands. 8 vols. -- Class IX. Claims. 1 vol. -- Class X. Miscellaneous. 2 vols.

Lincoln's correspondence, speeches, and other writings.

Provides information on history and principal institutional bodies of OAS, an international organization that works to promote democracy, protect human rights, preserve security, economic and social development, and regional security cooperation. Examines current priorities and funding of OAS, and addresses policy issues for Congress.

A microfilm collection of the First Lady, Eleanor Roosevelt's papers provided by the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library

A comprehensive guide on how to use the Congressional Serial Sets, and a collection of the materials provided in the sets.

A searchable database that provides governmental documents from a number of government organizations. (Note: Not ALL government publications can be found here due to various reasons, but most can be found.)

A collection of presidential papers from Hoover to Obama.

The Official Document System of the United Nations provides most full text UN documents published from 1946 and onward. This includes documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents

Digitized versions of the published papers and correspondence of major figures of the early American republic. See More for Collection Contents

Comprehensive source for quantitative facts of American history. Contains statistics and data arranged in five broad categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. User can download data to create customized tables and spreadsheets.

A digital archive that explores and documents the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and "Virginia experiment" during the period from 1570 to 1720.

A collection of writings published by the American Colonization Society that focused on the social issues of freed slaves. Their main focus was on the repatriation and migration of freed black slaves to Africa, primarily Liberia, in an attempt to reestablish cultural roots and traditions.

A collection of papers and records from the NAACP that documents the movements and fights against private companies' and governmental laws against black americans.

A collection of anti-slavery books, newspapers, letters, and other resources that focus on abolition and anti-slavery writings.

Books and pamphlets (441) written before the Civil War by and about the Negro and about slavery and antislavery. Among the topics covered are the abolition movement, conditions of slaves, the Fugitive Slave Law, the slave trade, history of slavery, travels through the slave states, antislavery tracts and religious views on slavery. Includes sermons, poetry, fiction, government documents, and narratives by former slaves.

Index to journals, books and other publications that focuses on relationships between and among races. Topics covered include ethnic studies, immigration, community relations, radicalism, economics, history, racism, and cultural identity.

Based on the edition of John Roche Dasent (Her Majesty's Stationery Office, 1890-1949), the series transcribes the actual register of the Privy Council. Begun during the reign of Henry VIII, the record is almost unbroken, although the character is not uniform. The preface to each of the 43 volumes in the set summarizes and comments editorially on social, political, and economic trends, and points out discrepancies and omissions in the continuity of the Acts. Marginal glosses clarify variant names of persons and places, and amplify the explain textual references.

A collection of papers published by the British Government during the years 1696-1889.

A collection of British legal documents available to students and faculty of University of Toledo Law College.

The Journals are the formal record of the House of Commons and House of Lords' business for a given day.

The Journals are the formal record of the House of Commons and House of Lords' business for a given day.

Series in ten volumes which includes verbatim transcriptions of English statutes as enacted from the reign of Henry III (1235) to the reign of Queen Anne in 1713. Included are the royal charters of liberties commencing with Henry I (1101), and including the Magna Carta, and concluding with Edward I (1300). The series is microfilmed from an edition of the statutes published between 1810-1822 in London, "from original records and authentic manuscripts."

Statutes of laws passed by Charles I, Charles II, James II, first years of William and Mary, and William II.

A collection of artifacts, documents, speeches, and governmental publications from the parliamentary branch of the United Kingdom.

Microfilm editions of a Russian History Journal published between 1890 - 1964. (Note: Journals are written in Russian, translation capabilities would be needed to view)

A bibliography of sources that focus on the missions of Jesuit missionaries in the Canadians' Inuit and native populations during the years 1610 - 1791.

Index to literature on all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Contains citations to journal articles, books, essays and government documents published in the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Covers a wide range of topics including acculturation, archaeology, economic development, education, ethnohistory, folklore, the gaming industry, missions, religion, and tribal governments.

Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, research, and policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Index with with full text content that offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Contains content from hundreds of periodicals, journals, books, newspapers, and biographies as well as the the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency full-text database. Topics covered include Judaism, Jewish heritage, Jewish history, mysticism and Kabbalah, Jewish philosophy, and more.

This collection is based on the Harris Collection of American Poetry at Brown University, which is the most comprehensive in the field, having been started nearly 150 years ago. Its acquisition policy is based on the thesis that every volume of American verse is potentially useful to the scholar. All of the major American poets who have an established place in world literature are represented in first and other editions. This microfilm collection also makes available the works of minor and obscure poets. Some of these have been consigned to relative oblivion by literary criticism; others have been overlooked because circumstances of their publication have made their work virtually inaccessible.

(See Above)

Digital compilation of facsimiles and transcriptions of The Temple: Sacred Poems and Private Ejaculations by George Herbert (1593-1633), considered one of the finest collections of devotional verse in English and most significant works of early modern literature. Includes complete diplomatic and normalized transcriptions of the two known manuscripts of the work in addition to a copy of the 1633 first edition. Also includes textual and technical introductions and critical commentary and annotations by the editors.

This collection contains the complete text of every existent book, pamphlet, and broadside printed in the United States in the years 1639 through 1800 (and including more than 42,000 titles). The collection is based on Charles Evans' massive American Bibliography: A Chronological Dictionary of All Books, Pamphlets, and Periodical Publications Printed in the United States of America from the Genesis of Printing in 1639 Down to and Including the Year 1820. Although Evans lists serial titles, only non-serial titles are included in the microcard collection.Also included are around 11,000 titles listed in Bristol's supplement to Evans.

A selection of rare books featured in the Early American Imprints collection in digital form. (Note: this is only a select digitized partial list of the collection. See Carlson Library's microfilm collection for the full collection)

The collection is based on the bibliography of Pollard and Redgrave, A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad 1475-1640, begun by W. A. Jackson and completed by Katharine F. Pantzer (Z2002 .P77/1976/Canaday Center). Entries in the bibliography are alphabetical, and numbered consecutively from 1 to 26143. Although a golden age for the literary scholar, editions of fifty or sixty copies were not unusual because of the small literate population. A major problem for the modern scholar has been the ever-increasing demand for these early editions, which today are spread around the globe in public and private rare book collections.

Collection of over 220,000 books (most in English) from scholarly publishers covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Browsable by subject areas or searchable across the entire collection. Books can be read online or downloaded for offline use for up to 2 weeks. To download entire books or take advantage of features such as annotating and bookmarking, users need to create an Ebook Central account. (Adobe Digital Editions software is also required for downloading.)

Translated to Complete Course on Patrology, Greek Series, the Patrologiae Cursus Completus is a collection of writings from Greek religious writers, medieval priests and friars, as well as dissertations, introductions, and other supplementary material.

Collection of 1,100+ scholarly e-books in a variety of disciplines. Coverage particularly strong in political science, public and health policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and East Asian, African, and German studies.