Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by 
Writing for Social Scientists : how to start and finish your thesis, book, or article by
Students and researchers all write under pressure, and those pressures--most lamentably, the desire to impress your audience rather than to communicate with them--often lead to pretentious prose, academic posturing, and, not infrequently, writer's block. Sociologist Howard S. Becker has written the classic book on how to conquer these pressures and simply write. First published nearly twenty years ago, Writing for Social Scientists has become a lifesaver for writers in all fields, from beginning students to published authors. Becker's message is clear: in order to learn how to write, take a deep breath and then begin writing. Revise. Repeat. It is not always an easy process, as Becker wryly relates. Decades of teaching, researching, and writing have given him plenty of material, and Becker neatly exposes the foibles of academia and its "publish or perish" atmosphere. Wordiness, the passive voice, inserting a "the way in which" when a simple "how" will do--all these mechanisms are a part of the social structure of academic writing. By shrugging off such impediments--or at the very least, putting them aside for a few hours--we can reform our work habits and start writing lucidly without worrying about grades, peer approval, or the "literature." In this new edition, Becker takes account of major changes in the computer tools available to writers today, and also substantially expands his analysis of how academic institutions create problems for them. As competition in academia grows increasingly heated, Writing for Social Scientists will provide solace to a new generation of frazzled, would-be writers.
Writing in Political Science : A practical Guide by 
Writing Empirical Research Reports: a basic guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences by 
Writing Education Research : guidelines for publishable scholarship by
For both new academics and those with some experience, writing articles of publishable quality can be particularly challenging. Developing the necessary skill set requires useful information, hard work, and the type of direction infrequently offered in research methods courses, leaving researchers to piece together resources on their own. This book addresses this critical topic in a format that is easy to teach and understand. It is a practical volume that teaches researchers how to identify their audience, clearly state the nature of their work, provide exceptional literature reviews, cite appropriately, and explicate their research. Beginning each chapter with reviewer comments, Writing Education Research is designed to help scholars understand both how to write effective research reports and how to get published. Practice exercises and resource lists in each chapter offer easy-to-access information about the review and publication process. A perfect accompaniment to standard research courses, this practical book demystifies the writing process for anyone looking to publish articles, chapters, or papers in education.
Successful Academic Writing : a complete guide for social and behavioral scientists by
Using rich examples and engaging pedagogical tools, this book equips students to master the challenges of academic writing in graduate school and beyond. The authors delve into nitty-gritty aspects of structure, style, and language, and offer a window onto the thought processes and strategies that strong writers rely on. Essential topics include how to: identify the audience for a particular piece of writing; craft a voice appropriate for a discipline-specific community of practice; compose the sections of a qualitative, quantitative, or mixed-methods research article; select the right peer-reviewed journal for submitting an article; and navigate the publication process. Readers are also guided to build vital self-coaching skills in order to stay motivated and complete projects successfully. User-Friendly Features *Exercises (with answers) analyzing a variety of texts. *Annotated excerpts from peer-reviewed journal articles. *Practice opportunities that help readers apply the ideas to their own writing projects. *Personal reflections and advice on common writing hurdles. *End-of-chapter Awareness and Action Reminders with clear steps to take.
How to Publish Your Communication Research by 
Handbook of Academic Writing for Librarians by 
The savvy academic : publishing in the social and health sciences by 
Academic legal writing : law review articles, student notes, seminar papers, and getting on law review by 
How to write about music : the RILM manual of style by 
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by
In A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music, Thomas Donahue presents a collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music. It concentrates on questions of style and format in the interest of good formal writing within the context of United-States English, so that writers may communicate their ideas clearly and effectively. While compiling the guidelines, Donahue reviewed content from many other music and general guides. He documented the most common formats in order to assist the writer in selecting an appropriate format for the given circumstance when more than one may apply. The book draws on profuse musically-oriented examples and is arranged by topics both musical and typographic, such as the proper use and spelling of composer names and musical concepts; the use of notes, pitches, and octave delineations; letters and numbers employed to describe form and harmony; when, where, and how to apply compound words and hyphenation of terms and names; and the proper citation of musical and audiovisual sources. The book concludes with a glossary of typographic terms, a bibliography, and a comprehensive index, making this a valuable resource for students, scholars, teachers, and writers.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by 
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Scientific Writing for Young Astronomers by 
The ACS Style Guide : effective communication of scientific information by 
Introduction to Scientific Publishing : backgrounds, concepts, strategies by 
Scientific Paper Writing - a Survival Guide by
"Fear not, young PhD student, Bodil Holst's Scientific paper writing: a survival guide comes to the rescue." - Chemistry World "Book of the Month" review. This book provides an entertaining, informative and easy to read guide for PhD students and others on how to write and publish a scientific paper. The book is illustrated by Jorge Cham, creator of PhD Comics (www.phdcomics.com).The full Chemistry World review including a podcast about the book with a Nature Chemistry Editor can be found herehttps://www.chemistryworld.com/review/scientific-paper-writing-a-survival-guide/1010246.article
AMA Manual of Style : a guide for authors and editors by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.
Many of our research databases will provide you with a ranked list of journal titles based on your search results. You can search for papers in the general area of your research, and then look for a listing (generally to the left of the search results) labelled Publications, Sources, or Journals. These are typically listed according to the number of papers in your results that were published in each title (most to fewest), but do not provide a ranking of quality. Starting with this list, you can usually identify a few journals in your subject area to further investigate as to reputation, costs, etc.
For example, here are the results from a search on 'stomach cancer' in EBSCOhost databases (left) and Web of Science (right):
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOrganizations and publishers will often issue 'Calls for Papers' on a specific topic, either for an upcoming conference or symposium or for a special topics issue of a journal publication. We list here several sites that attempt to bring these announcement together, often for a subject discipline or group of related research areas.
You may also want to do a web search for Calls for Papers (CFPs) and your topic. Just add your keywords to the search below.
The University Libraries provide access to several resources that can help you choose a journal to publish your research in.
This link opens in a new window
From SciDevNet's Practical Guide series:
