100 Tips to Avoid Mistakes in Academic Writing and Presenting
This book contains one hundred typical mistakes relating to papers, proposals, oral presentations, and correspondence with editors (e.g. journal submissions), reviewers (rebuttal letters), and editing agencies. The book is primarily intended for non-native English speaking researchers. However, it is also useful for editing agencies in order to help new or inexperienced editors spot the kinds of mistakes they need to correct in order to ensure their clients successfully have their papers published. Each section of a paper is covered separately: titles and abstracts; introduction and literature review; methods, results and tables; discussion and conclusions. Teachers of English for Academic Purposes (EAP) will learn which areas of writing and grammar to focus on including readability, word order, sentence length, paragraphing, ambiguity and punctuation. The last section in the book highlights the key areas where presenters make the most mistakes in terms of the use of English. Other books in this series: English for Writing Research Papers English for Presentations at International Conferences English for Academic Research: Grammar, Usage and Style English for Academic Correspondence English for Academic CVs, Resumes, and Online Profiles English for Academic Research: Writing Exercises English for Academic Research: Grammar Exercises English for Academic Research: Vocabulary Exercises English for Academic Research: A Guide for Teachers
Writing for Professional Publications
Academic Publishing: processes and practices for aspiring researchers
This book focuses on the topic of academic publishing. It discusses the mounting, serious problems that researchers, particularly new researchers, encounter when trying to publish their research. The book addresses the issues of publishing as well as the salient factors militating against academic publication and the mitigating factors encouraging academic publication. It provides potential solutions, suggestions, and strategies for overcoming some of these problems. Growing research output from Southeast Asia including Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, and China reveals the struggles that many authors have to confront when attempting to publish their work in reputable journals. In both South Africa and other parts of Africa, academic researchers are beginning to show strong evidence of credible academic output. These researchers all need valid outlets for their work and the security that authentic peer review brings to the reviewing process. In the fields of education, social sciences, and professional practices, e.g., architecture and law, recent years have seen the emergence of new outlets for practitioners' research outputs in areas such as one's own practice, self-reflection, and narrative inquiry. These outlets are discussed in this book. The book also discusses the malign influence of predatory publications in detail. This book will be beneficial to university academics, postgraduate students, Ph.D. supervisors, and new researchers.
A Guide to Publishing for Academics
Most academics still wrestle with the "publish or perish" phenomenon. Based on Dr. Liebowitz's 25 years serving as the editor-in-chief of a leading international journal, along with insights from some of the most knowledgeable journal editors, this book shares key lessons learned to help new professors, doctoral students, and practitioner-scholars increase their chances of being published in selective, refereed international journals. It focuses on the key practices needed to ensure journal publication, with interesting cases and helpful tips sprinkled throughout the book. A Guide to Publishing for Academics provides useful knowledge from leading journal editors of both traditional and online journals, as well as various tiers of journals. Although the focus is mainly in the business and IT areas, much of the guidance provided can cross into other fields. The book contains interesting vignettes and do's and don'ts so that potential authors can understand what goes on behind the scenes once the manuscript arrives on the journal editor's desk. The book provides constructive guidance on choosing what and where to publish, what to consider when writing a title for a paper, how to prepare and submit journal manuscripts, and how to position a paper for publication. It also has valuable information for current and future journal editors, including models of editing and editorial boards, editorial coaching advice, and editing smart practices. With the information in this book, the next generation of academics and practitioner-scholars will be well equipped to overcome the publish or perish phenomenon.
The Discourse of Peer Review: reviewing submissions to academic journals
This book examines reports that are written by reviewers of submissions to a peer-reviewed journal. This includes a thorough study of the reports from the perspectives of context, content and genre, as well as from the point of view of pragmatics and politeness. The author examines the use of evaluative language, and the roles reviewers assume as they make their evaluations. He also explores how reviewers learn to write these reports. He then discusses the results of these analyses from the point of view of reviewer training, making suggestions for further research in the area of editorial peer review. The demystification of this occluded genre will be of benefit to doctoral students and early career academics not yet familiar with the peer review process, as well as those working in the broader areas of English for Specific Purposes and English for Academic Purposes, discourse analysis and writing for publication.
Planning Your Academic Publishing Journey: publish or perish?
This book provides a ready reference for academics that covers the breadth of academic publishing. It draws on academic books and journal articles that have touched on various aspects of academic publishing, and on the author's own extensive experiences, knowledge and lessons. This book explores the processes and decisions related to publishing academic literature such as journal articles, books, and other related formats. This book explores the foundations of an academic publishing career, discusses how to lay those foundations, and how to plan an academic publishing journey. It explores choosing a publisher and publication outlet, authorship, co-authoring, sharing data, dealing with short and lengthy publications, the hidden workload of publishing, and establishing and maintaining an author platform.
Research and Publication Ethics by
This textbook aims to provide awareness about research ethics, misconduct and the ensuing actions as per international law, information on open access publishing and predatory publishing. Many fresh research scholars are not fully acquainted with the rules governing copyright infringements, plagiarism and intellectual property rights. As such the book presents its various features in a lucid style, and the latest updates on the use of information technology in retrieving and managing information through various means in an ethical manner. The book is useful for students, young researchers and professionals.