See also: Testing Materials
Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams
This textbook fosters a deeper understanding of how home healthcare goals for older adults can be achieved through interprofessional collaboration. The contributors create a context where allied health and healthcare professionals can acquire and exchange knowledge about their diverse disciplines and practices for the betterment of the home care population. The book also reinforces what the COVID-19 pandemic made quite apparent to health institutions and providers: patients can receive adequate and acceptable care within the home setting. The pandemic also highlighted the important role that interprofessionalism can play in attaining desired patient outcomes. Statistics reveal that the population of persons over the age of 65 years is the largest that it has ever been. This volume focuses on older adult patients because caring for these individuals from an interprofessional perspective is now more important than ever. Through the ten chapters of this edited book, the contributors including home care providers offer their perspectives on interprofessional collaboration and the provision of quality home care services. They use the Interprofessional Education Collaborative's (IPEC) four core competencies as a framework for improving the collaborative practice of home health care for older adult patients with complex medical issues. Among the topics covered: Medical Social Work and Case Management Skilled Nursing Physical Therapy Occupational Therapy Behavioral Health Care Other Relevant Home Care Services: Prosthetics and Orthotics, Pharmacy Services, Durable Medical Equipment and Nutritional Services Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams is intended for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in health or allied health programs and can be used as a primary text for interprofessional education courses. The text benefits students, instructors, and faculty who have stakes in obtaining positive health outcomes for older adult patients. Today, more and more programs are requiring the development of interprofessional competencies. This book provides a forum where students can obtain in-depth knowledge of teaming, as well as the roles and functions of various care providers.
Character Strengths and Abilities Within Disabilities
This book examines the science and practice of character strengths as the backbone for understanding, studying, and applying positive interventions across a wide range of disabilities. It explores character strengths as positive personality qualities most central to an individual's identity that create positive outcomes for building well-being and managing adversities and contribute to the collective good. The book recognizes disability as a part of the human experience that can emerge for anyone and the necessity for examining and applying strengths-based approaches. It explores what is known about character strengths and various disabilities from a science and practice perspective. The book reviews research on the assessment, correlations, concepts, populations, and applications of character strengths across disabilities. It disseminates disparate research and little-known best practices and hypothetical practices, along with multiple case examples, in the effort to advance the science and practice, bring a balanced approach to the field, and contribute to human flourishing. Key topics of coverage include: Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and character strengths. Intellectual and physical disabilities, medical illness and character strengths. Mental and emotional disorders (e.g., trauma) and character strengths. Character strengths and disability across special issues including justice, inclusion, dual-diagnosis, and spirituality. Understanding character strengths as internal capacities and abilities across disabilities, problems, and suffering. Character Strengths - the Abilities Within Disabilities is an essential and valuable resource for researchers, professors, clinicians, practitioners, and therapists as well as graduate students in the fields of developmental and positive psychology, rehabilitation, social work, special education, occupational, speech and language therapy, public health, and healthcare policy.
The Routledge Handbook of Service User Involvement in Human Services Research and Education
Worldwide, there has been a growth in service user involvement in education and research in recent years. This handbook is the first book which identifies what is happening in different regions of the world to provide different countries and client groups with the opportunity to learn from each other. The book is divided into five sections: Section One examines service user involvement in context exploring theoretical issues which underpin service user involvement. In Section Two we focus on the state of service user involvement in human services education and research across the globe including examples of innovative practice, but also identifying examples of where it is not happening and why. Section Three offers more detailed examination of such involvement in a wide range of professional education learning settings. Section Four focuses on the involvement of service users in research involving a wide range of service user groups and situations. Lastly, Section Five explores future challenges for education and research to ensure involvement remains meaningful. The book includes forty-eight chapters, including seventeen case-studies, from all regions of the world, this is the first book to both highlight the subject's methodological and theoretical issues and give practical examples in education and research for those wishing to engage in this field. It will be of interest to all service users, scholars and students of social work, nursing, occupational therapy, and other human service subjects.
Repetitve and restricted behaviors and interests in autism spectrum disorders : from neurobiology to behavior
Social justice theory and practice for social work : critical and philosophical perspectives
Evidence-based practice in clinical social work
The Counseling Practicum and Internship Manual
Sexuality, Sexual and Gender Identities and Intimacy Research in Social Work and Social Care
The Social Work and K-12 Schools Casebook
Social Work and Integrated Health Care
Forensic Social Work, Second Edition
Human-Animal Interactions
by
Building effective social work teams
Homelessness and Social Work
Research Design in Social Work: qualitative and quantitative methods
School Social Work: national perspectives on practice in schools
Social Work Practice with African Americans in Urban Environments
Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees
Proactive Child Protection and Social Work
You can find books in the UToledo Library catalog or the OhioLINK Library Catalog by using keywords for your topic or use the subject headings and related topics such as those listed below. More help is available from the Finding Books and Other Materials Guide.
Some examples of subject headings are:
| Community mental health Family services Family social work Helping behavior Human services Medical social work Psychiatric social work School social work Social case work Social group work Social policy |
Social problems |
Search for social work titles in Oxford Scholarship Online
The following databases contain eBooks:
Collection of over 700 books from scholarly publishers covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Browsable by subject areas or searchable across the entire collection. Books can be read online or downloaded for offline use for up to 2 weeks. To download entire books or take advantage of features such as annotating and bookmarking, users need to create an Ebook Central account. (Adobe Digital Editions software is also required for downloading.)
Contains full text of thousands of scholarly books, reference books, and American and English literary works purchased by OhioLINK from numerous publishers.
Digital library of over 45,000 books, videos, and other materials covering technology and business topics. Publishers represented include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley, Peachpit Press, Adobe Press, Microsoft Press, Cisco Press, John Wiley & Sons, Manning Publications, AMACOM, and Prentice-Hall.
Search the catalog of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system:
