Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subscription Cancellations & Additions

This guide provides information on The University of Toledo Libraries' annual subscription cancellations and additions.

SUMMARY, FY20-21

The financial impact of the coronavirus pandemic on The University of Toledo resulted in significant budget cuts across all colleges and departments for fiscal year 2020-2021 (July 1, 2020-June 30, 2021). Unfortunately, University Libraries was no exception. In addition to operating budget and staffing cuts, our subscription expenditures budget was reduced by $487,000 from the previous fiscal year

After taking annual subscription inflation into account, we initially estimated having to cancel approximately $550,000 in resources.  However, the final amount turned out to be substantially less though still significant: $400,750. This was because many publishers kept their prices flat or annual increases lower than usual due to recognition of the widespread and severe economic impact of COVID-19 on higher education. In addition, OhioLINK was able to successfully renegotiate a number of existing agreements with publishers that reduced members' anticipated cost-sharing amounts for FY2020-2021.

OhioLINK was also able to add five new resources at the beginning of calendar year 2021 thanks to a one-time award of $2.5 million from the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) program.  GEER is part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act passed by the U.S. Congress in March 2020.  See "Additions" box at the bottom of this guide for a list of these new resources.

See "Cancellations" box directly below for the final list of resources cancelled for FY 2020-2021. All cancellations were for local (i.e., non-OhioLINK) products.  Our Collection Services Unit and librarian subject specialists made every attempt possible to retain core essential resources in all of the academic disciplines that need the Libraries' support. However, we acknowledge and regret that our users have lost access to a substantial number of important and unique resources. We hope to reinstate at least some of these subscriptions in the near future.

Please direct any questions or comments you may have regarding these cancellations and/or new OhioLINK additions to eresources@utoledo.edu.  We welcome the opportunity to respond and to discuss how we are managing our collection resources during these challenging times.

(Last updated: 1.28.21)

CANCELLATIONS

RESOURCE TYPE ACCESS ENDS NOTE
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy Streaming video Dec 31, 2020  
American Journal of Psychiatry E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Artstor Database Dec 31, 2020 Complimentary access available until Jun 30, 2021
ATLA Religion Index Database Jun 30, 2020  
BCC Research Database Dec 31, 2020  
British Journal of Sports Medicine E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
CALICO Journal E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Chronicle of Higher Education (premium site license access) E-journal Jul  14, 2020  
Classical Music Library Streaming audio Jun 30, 2020  
Cochrane Library Database Jun 30, 2020 Local subscription cancelled as of Jul 2020; OhioLINK subscription added in Jan 2021 (see ADDITIONS below)
Digital Theatre Plus Streaming video Dec 31, 2020  
Disability & Society E-Journal Dec 31, 2020  
DynaMed Plus Database Jun 30, 2020  
Emerald Journals: Management & Engineering E-journals Dec 31, 2020  
Feminist Media Studies E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
GenderWatch Database Jun 30, 2020  
GeoRef Database Jun 30, 2020  
Illinois Journal of Mathematics E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Journal of Cell Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Journal of Human Trafficking E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
JoVE Science Education Essentials of Behavioral Science Streaming video Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education Essentials of Developmental Biology Streaming video Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education Essentials of Genetics Streaming video Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education Essentials of Neuroscience Streaming video Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education General Lab Techniques Streaming video Sep 14, 2020  
Kanopy (reduced allocation) Streaming video   Not cancelled, reduced allocation by $10,000
LibInsight Library admin tool Jun 30, 2020  
LibWizard Library admin tool Jun 30, 2020  
Nagoya Mathematical Journal E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Biotechnology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Cell Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Energy E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Genetics E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Immunology E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Medicine E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Neuroscience E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Reviews Cancer E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Reviews Genetics E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Reviews Immunology E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Reviews Microbiology E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Nature Structural and Molecular Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020 Will retain access to purchased content
Neurosurgery E-journal Jul 31, 2020 Retained access to purchased content
NewsBank America's News Database Dec 31, 2020  
Nursing Reference Center Plus Database Jun 30, 2020  
Operators and Matrices E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Ovid/Lippincott Medical Journals (reduced concurrent access for 5 titles) E-journals Jul 31, 2020 All subscribed titles now 1 user at a time
Oxford (Grove) Music Online Database Jun 30, 2020  
Passport Database Jan 31, 2021  
Philosopher's Index Database Jun 30, 2020  
Politics, Groups, and Identities E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
PrivCo Database Jan 17, 2021  
Psychotherapy.net Streaming video Sep 9, 2020 Renewed license for 1 video out of 50
Readex America's Historical Imprints & Newspapers (9 databases) Database Dec 31, 2020  
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Database Jun 30, 2020  
Transportation Research Record E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Urban Geography E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Violence and Gender E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
TOTAL AMOUNT CANCELLED FY20/21 $400,504.46

(Last updated: 1/28/21)

ADDITIONS

RESOURCE TYPE ACCESS BEGINS NOTE
Cambridge University Press E-Books E-book collection Jun 1, 2020 OhioLINK resource
Cochrane Library Database Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; paid for with Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
InfoBase Films on Demand (curated collection) Streaming videos Mar 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; paid for with Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
JoVE Core Science Videos + Lab Manuals Streaming videos Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; paid for with Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
MIT Press Direct E-book collection Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; paid for with Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
SAGE Business Cases Collection Database Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; paid for with Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds

(Last updated: 1/27/21)