LibGuides: HEAL 4500: Women's Health Care: Find Articles

Select Research Databases

Below is a select list of research databases from which to begin searching for articles. To view more databases in other disciplines visit OhioLINK Databases by Subject.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the main database for nursing and allied health literature (good for research instruments). Limit searches to Sex:Female, Special Interest:Women’s Health
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.

Google Scholar
Find an article in Google Scholar search results, but not full text? Look for the full text in the UToledo databases!
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus provides consumer health information. See: Health Topics tab > Demographic Groups > Women)

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences.
APA PsycInfo: More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the public version of MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's primary bibliographic database. It covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in sociology and related fields.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Places to go to find articles:

Here are links to resources to help in finding and obtaining articles online:

1) Go here to find articles:

Databases by Name or Subject

Online Journals List

2) To obtain articles not accessible through the UToledo databases: Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) (See also ILLiad LibGuide)

3) Use customized library guides (LibGuides) to find statistics, research Instruments, tips for doing research, and more