Skip to main content

Africana Studies: Search for Articles

This is a guide to resources for Africana Studies.

WHAT is a research article?

Research or scholarly articles generally have several characteristics that define them.  They:

  • are written by and for academic faculty, researchers and/or experts
  • use technical or field-specific vocabulary
  • give full bibliographic references (AKA a "Works Cited List")
  • are published mostly in academic journals, with titles like the American Journal of Sociology
  • are generally sober and serious in tone
  • may have charts, graphs and table but are not glossy and colorful like magazines
  • often report results of research

The most prestigous research articles are "peer-reviewed", meaning they are edited by an expert panel.

Academic Search Complete : Search Form

Academic Search Complete

Other Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases

All databases are available 24/7 from any Internet connection.  When off campus, authentication will be required.  Authentication requires your name and ID number (either your Rocket number beginning with the "R" or your social security number). 

Subject Specific Databases

Can't find the full text?

If you've found the perfect article but the database is not providing the full text, there are two possible solutions:

  • Look for .  This little gray button is very powerful  It will search across all of OhioLINK's full text and through UT's print collection to see if any type of quick access is available.
  • Request the article through our ILLiad (interlibrary loan) system. It takes 7-10 days to receive copies. The service is free.  You can read more about it here.

If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

Chat with a Librarian: Main Campus

Chat with a librarian in the Carlson Library Reference Department.  If we are not online, see below for alternate means to contact us. 

Our chat service requires javascript. Please leave a message at askit@utnet.utoledo.edu or 419-530-2325.

For information on how to reach us in person, by phone, or by e-mail, see the Ask a Librarian page.