LibGuides: Consumer Health: Age and Gender

Gender Specific Resources - General Resources

Womenshealth.gov
Topics include diseases, conditions, physiology (as menstrual cycle, pregnancy), emotional health, safety (as domestic violence), lesbian/bisexual health, and more
more...less...
US Office on Women's Health, US Dept of Health and Human Services
Our Bodies, Ourselves
Information on women’s reproductive and sexual health plus issues that affect access and care
Information about women’s health topics,OBOS programs, publications, and news.
more...less...
Boston Women's Health Collective
Foundation for Womens' Cancer
Awareness and education resources
Men's Health
Office on Women's Health, US Department of Health and Human Services
more...less...
Topics include health concerns, tips for healthy living, mental health, sexual health, violence prevention
Sections for teens, fathers, minority men, and older men
Health4mom
Info on common concerns in pregnancy and the first few years of life
Links to videos on pregnancy, healthy babies, and healthy moms
Free online magazine
more...less...
Association of Women's Health, Obstretic, and Neonatal Nurses

Gender Specific Resources - LGBTQ

Gay Lesbian Medical Association
Resources include a provider directory and '10 Things [Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender Individuals] Should Discuss with Their Healthcare Providers', as well as information for providers and students.
Healthcare Equality Index
The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is a national LGBT benchmarking tool from the Human Rights Campaign that evaluates healthcare facilities’ policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBT patients, visitors and employees.
Healthy People 2030: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Area of focus for studying effective health interventions.
MedlinePlus: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Health
Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues.
National LGBT Health Education Center
Provides educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.
Equitas Health Toledo
Formerly the AIDS Resource Center, provides supportive HIV/AIDS services for individuals living in the following counties: Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Williams, Wood

Gender Specific Resources - Transgender

World Professional Association for Transgender Health
--Promotes evidence based care, education, research, advocacy, public policy, and respect in transgender health
--Resource links to legal rights, government laws, and policies worldwide; material for families; find a provider
more...less...
• Free online publication – Standards of Care for the Health of Transsexual, Transgender, and Gender Nonconforming People (7th version since 1979) (intro says these are flexible clinical guidelines) (authors – but no affiliations or credentials)
• Newsroom with links to association news
Center for Excellence in Transgender Health
Includes Learning Center (manuals, guides, reports, recommendations, health fact sheets)
UCSF
more...less...
The ultimate CoE goal is to improve the overall health and well-being of transgender individuals by developing and implementing programs in response to community-identified needs
Health Professionals Advancing LGBTQ Equality
Resources for patients include: Find a Provider, Healthcare Quality Index (evaluating healthcare facilities) [ UToledoMC “passed”] , discussion starters with healthcare providers
more...less...
Researchers for Providers & Researchers include guidelines, a glossary, and a learning module
Human Rights Campaign
Topics include: federal advocacy, HIV/AIDS, hate crimes, health & aging, transgender, and workplace

Age Specific Resources - Seniors

HealthyAging.org
Information on health conditions/diseases and related topics. Alternative Remedies and Medications information. "Making Your Wishes Known" section.
more...less...
Created by the American Geriatrics Society's Health in Aging Foundation, to provide consumers and caregivers with up-to-date information on health and aging.
Health Information for Older Adults
Topics include diseases/conditions, prevention, Medicare, nutrition, and safety
Health Information - National Institute on Aging
Includes related health topic pages & online publications, news ot note, FAQs
more...less...
Also link to Go4Life - an exercise and physical activity campaign from the National Institute on Aging at NIH
MedllinePlus - Older Adults
Links to relative 40+ topics as Memory, Assisted Living, Senior's Health, Nutrition for Seniors, Medicare, Home Care Services
Go4Life (NIH)
An exercise and physical activity campaign from the National Institute on Aging at NIH, is designed to help you fit exercise and physical activity into your daily life
National Resource Center on LGBT Aging
country's first and only technical assistance resource center aimed at improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults
more...less...
Established in 2010 through a federal grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Age Specific Resources - Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults -

Children's Health
Links to diagnoses/tests, prevention/risk factors, therapies, specific issues
healthychildren.org
American Academy of Pediatrics
more...less...
Health Issues tab includes conditions, injuries, and vaccine preventable diseases
Healthy Living tab includes nutrition, fitness, emotional health
KidsHealth
Information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years. Sections for parents, for kids, and for teens. Content is reviewed by pediatricians and other medical experts.
more...less...
Information about health, behavior, and perts.
Transitions to Adulthood Center for Research
Publications and resources for youth and young adults (ages 14-30) with mental health issues and/or related questions
more...less...
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Teen Health (MedlinePlus)
Links to how to stay healthy, growth & development, and specific issues.
Creating a Healthier Life: A Step-By-Step Guide to Wellness
This handbook defines wellness and presents the eight dimensions of wellness: social, environmental, physical, emotional, spiritual, occupational, intellectual, and financial. It also offers tips for improving oneself in each dimension.
more...less...
US Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Mental Health Resource Center
Expert information and resources to help teens and young adults navigate life’s challenges. Includes transitioning skills before, during, and after college.
more...less...
The Jed Foundation is a nonprofit that exists to protect emotional health and prevent suicide for our nation's teens and young adults

Disclaimer

All health questions questions and concerns are best answered by a health care provider.

All links in this guide are presented as professional opinions of their respective authors and may
or may not agree with the advice and professional interpretations of any health care provider that
is consulted.