Brief entries with basic information on 20,000 people prominent in their fields. Most are Americans, with some international coverage. Addresses included. Coverage back to 1976. Obituaries included for noteworthy individuals. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by geography and occupation.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E89 .J69 1997
Articles range from a paragraph to three pages on 600 living and deceased people. References and selected portraits and illustrations. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by subject with cross-references.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E184.O6 W46x
Short entries with basic information on 5,000 people. Addresses included. Selected recent obituaries provided. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by occupation, geography and ethnic/cultural heritage.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) CT3260 .N5725 2004
Scholarly biographical essays on 1,359 noteworthy women, who died prior to 1951. Articles average one to two pages, and include references. The third volume includes an occupational index for the set. Updated through 1975 by Notable American Women: The Modern Period which adds 442 entries, and through 1999 by Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing The Twentieth Century , which adds close to 500 entries.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E98.W8 B38 1993
Provides 400-600 word articles on U.S. and Canadian women born between 1595 and 1960. Selected portraits included. Arranged alphabetically, and indexed by subject. Also includes appendixes that list entries by area of specialization, decade of birth, place of birth, and tribal affiliation.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E185.96 .N68 1992
Two to three page articles on over 1000 historical and contemporary women. Articles include references and portraits. Addresses included. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by subject. Also provides a table of contents organized by occupation
International in scope. Covers 275 people from historical and contemporary eras. Articles range from a few paragraphs to three or four pages, and include portraits and references. Indexed by nationality, occupation and subject.