Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) ML100 .N48 2001 v.1
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New Grove II presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) ML102.P66 B35 2004 v.1
Publication Date: 2003-10-21
A valuable addition to the "Baker's Biographical Dictionary family, this A-Z biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, a table of best-selling music since 1990 and more.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) ML105 .B16 1992 c.2
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
Containing more than 15,000 biographies ranging from several lines to eight pages in length, Baker's provides unparalleled coverage of the world's greatest and lesser-known musicians in the uniquely insightful and always meticulous style of lexicographer extraordinaire Nicolas Slonimsky.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) ML390 .M677 1992y
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Provides information on more than 600 living composers including Stockhausen, Cage, Berio and Carter. Entries consist of a short biography; a complete list of works; dates of first performance and recording details; followed by an essay assessing the composer's career and significance.
The third edition of the Guinness publication. International in scope. Covers living and deceased people (and groups) in all genres of popular music. Articles range from 150-3,000 words and include a list of works. Multivolume set. Arranged alphabetically. The last volume contains references listed by artist and a subject index to the set. Also includes non-biographical information.
Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers the story of music spread across 2000 years. From entries on classical, folk, film, and other forms of music to details of all forms of dance, raga, tala, gharana, treatises, technical terms, and instruments as well as short biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists - the range and breadth of the Encyclopedia is immense. With 5000 entries by around 100 acclaimed contributors, the volume spans all regions of India: from Assam, Meghalaya, and Manipur to Gujarat, and from Kashmir to Kerala. The music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka also finds a place.
Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. An index of composers by country and women composers of Latin America complement the volume. An essential part of any music library, Latin American Classical Composers is an invaluable reference for librarians, musicologists, ethnomusicologists, researchers, and music students.
This illustrated A-Z guide covers more than 700 country music artists, groups, and bands. Articles also cover specific genres within country music as well as instruments used. Written in a lively, engaging style, the entries not only outline the careers of country music's greatest artists, they provide an understanding of the artist's importance or failings, and a feeling for his or her style. Select discographies are provided at the end of each entry, while a bibliography and indexes by instrument, musical style, genre, and song title round out the work. For a full list of entries, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Country Music: A Biographical Dictionary website.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) PN1993.45 .H3 1999y
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
The granddaddy of all popular film references, Halliwell's has been in continuous publication for more than 30 years. It's the essential A-to-Z guide of who's who-& what's what-in the movies. Completely updated & expanded, this new edition is packed with comprehensive biographical profiles. Halliwell's also includes illuminating entries on film genres & themes, the film studios, foreign cinema, & definitions of key technical terms. Other features include a history of cinema from 1873 to the present, details on the Oscars & other major film awards & festivals, plus a new appendix on finding film information on the Internet. Full of opinion & wit, this retitled new edition of Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies is the most comprehensive source of film information available, & a lively, provocative read for film-lovers everywhere.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) PN1998.2 .S68 1998
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
This book covers the spectrum of significant filmmakers from Altman to Armstrong, Kazan to Kurosawa, Truffaut to Tarantino. With entries written by distinguished critics such as Dudley Andrew, Jeanine Basinger, David Bordwell, Raymond Durgnat, Roger Manvell, Gerald Mast, and Robin Wood, it will be a standard reference tool for many years to come. In line with Sarris's auteur theory of directing, the contributors consider the ways in which directors put their personal stamp on their work.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) PN1998.2 .T49 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-08
For twenty-five years, David Thomson's Biographical Dictionary of Film has been not merely "the finest reference book ever written about movies"; (Graham Fuller,Interview), not merely the "desert island book"; of art critic David Sylvester, not merely "a great, crazy masterpiece"; (Geoff Dyer,The Guardian), but also "fiendishly seductive"; (Greil Marcus,Rolling Stone). Now it returns, with its old entries updated and 300 new ones- from Luc Besson to Reese Witherspoon- ;making more than 1300 in all, some of them just a pungent paragraph, some of them several thousand words long.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) PN1998.2 .T53 2002 v.1
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
In two volumes, this reference provides a survey that profiles more than 350 filmmakers from every branch of the industry, including independent films, French new wave, documentaries, Hollywood blockbusters, silent films, and more. Filmmakers have been chosen for the strength of their cinematic vision. Each entry features a biographical portrait of the filmmaker, including a glimpse of his or her early work and entry into the industry, followed by a discussion of key films and the major themes within them. A critical analysis places each filmmaker in the context of his or her culture and time. Filmmakers profiled include Woody Allen, Allison Anders, Ingmar Bergman, Bernado Bertolucci, Jane Campion, Francis Ford Coppola, Walt Disney, Nora Ephron, Milos Forman, Jean-Luc Godard, Werner Herzog, Norman Jewison, Akira Kurosawa, David Mamet, Martin Scorsese, John Singleton, Steven Spielberg, Francois Truffaut, Billy Wilder, and Franco Zeffirelli.
In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.
This biographical dictionary is devoted to the actors who provided voices for all the Disney animated theatrical shorts and features from the 1928 Mickey Mouse cartoon Steamboat Willie to the 2010 feature film Tangled. More than 900 men, women, and child actors from more than 300 films are covered, with biographical information, individual career summaries, and descriptions of the animated characters they have performed.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) PN1995.9.N4 M345 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-08
The first work of its kind, this encyclopedia provides 360 brief biographies of African American film and television actresses from the silent era to 2009. It includes entries on well-known and nearly forgotten actresses, running the gamut from Academy Award and NAACP Image Award winners to B-film and blaxpoitation era stars. Each entry has a complete filmography of the actress's film, TV, music video or short film credits. The work also features more than 170 photographs, some of them rare images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Compiled by eminent Africanist film scholar Roy Armes, Dictionary of African Filmmakers is an inclusive, comprehensive treatment of films and filmmaking on the African continent. The dictionary covers African feature filmmaking from the first locally produced films to today's thriving film industry, listing 5,415 films made by 1,253 filmmakers in 37 countries. Part 1 includes information on filmmakers and provides date and place of birth, training or film experience, other creative activities, and a list of feature films produced. Part 2 presents a national chronology, filmography, and bibliography for each country producing feature films. Part 3 indexes film titles and provides translations into English or French where appropriate. This book is an essential reference tool for anyone who wants to know more about the vibrant and exciting world of African film.
This book represents the culmination of over 150 years of literary achievement by the most diverse ethnic group in the United States. Diverse because this group of ethnic Americans includes those whose ancestral roots branch out to East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Western Asia. Even within each of these regions, there exist vast differences in languages, cultures, religions, political systems, and colonial histories. From the earliest publication in 1887 to the latest in 2021, this dictionary celebrates the incredibly rich body of fiction, poetry, memoirs, plays, and children's literature.Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater, Second Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 700 cross-referenced entries on genres, major terms, and authors. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this topic.
The Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema provides a rich tapestry of factual information, together with detailed critical assessments of individual artistic accomplishments. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema contains a chronology, an introduction, and a bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on directors, performers, cinematographers, composers, designers, producers, and studios. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Russian and Soviet Cinema.
This wide range of stories, topics, views, and genres will finally give the world a glimpse of African American life that has long been ignored and has yet to be seen. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1400 cross-referenced entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, and terminology, this book provides a better understanding of the role African Americans played in film history.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. Drawing on the expansive scholarship of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and Grove Art Online, and adding dozens of new entries, the Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates, the Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenient resource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture.
This book covers American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century devoting coverage to many previously underrepresented areas of inquiry, including African American artists, Asian American artists, and Native American art, both historical and contemporary. Artists, major movements, institutions, critics, and the architecture found in major cities of the United States are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art. With an extensive illustration program totaling over 700 images, 128 color plates, a topical outline, and a detailed bibliography accompanying each of the more than 2,300 entries.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) N40 .B53 1995
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Containing 1,340 illustrated articles, A Biographical Dictionary of Artists provides an unparalleled guide to the figures who have dominated the visual art throughout the ages. International in scope and coverage, the book contains authoritative entries on non-Western artists as well as more familiar figures. Each article summarizes the development of an artists's style and important works against a background of relevant biographical information and assesses his or her lasting contribution to the arts.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) N6502.4 .S45 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-22
This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies. Also included are brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections where his or her works can be seen. There are 89 photographs of selected works that supplement the entries. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists.
This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Renaissance art.