Skip to main content

For Faculty: How to bring the Library to your students: Finding Persistent Links

This guide will bring together everything, from services to widgets, that a faculty member needs to bring the best research tools to their students.

What is a Persistent Link?

A persistent link is a stable web address that, in general, does not change over time.  These can be difficult to find, especially when dealing with dynamic websites like our research databases which update content frequently. Since the url in the address bar of the browser is not a reliable way to return to content, most database providers have a way to get a persistent link. This page will help you find those.

Linking to Articles

Linking to articles is a great way to bring material to your students.  Below are the methods for linking to articles provided by three of our major content suppliers: EBSCO, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center and Lexis-Nexis Academic.  If you have any problems or need to link to articles from other suppliers, please contact Wade Lee for assistance.

 EBSCO

    Articles from EBSCO databases are very portable, if you locate the persistent link. 

To find that, you need to be in the "Citation View", accessed by clicking the underlined title.  Near the bottom of the page you will see a line labeled "Persistent link to this record (Permalink)".  This link can be copied and pasted.   This link will send students back to the same citation view where they can review the abstract and click into the full-text.  If they are off campus, they will have to authenticate with their name and rocket number first. 

 See an example video!

 

EJC / Electronic Journal Center

Articles from the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center have URLs that start "journals.ohiolink.edu". The page that contains an article citation and abstract can be bookmarked. Example:

http://journals.ohiolink.edu/ejc/article.cgi?issn=10823301&issue=v34i0002&article=169_srarstcfpa

You may post the EJC URL on any Web page. OhioLINK software limits access to authorized users. If the user is on campus, his IP address permits access. If the user is off campus, the system will prompt the user to log in.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic provides access to NYT, other major papers and legal cases and codes.

LexisNexis Academic provides a durable link builder for its content.  The interface is self explanatory but please be aware that for off-campus access, you have to modify the www.lexisnexis.com part of the url with 0-www.lexisnexis.com.carlson.utoledo.edu

http://amdev.net/lna_article_link.php

NB: If an article is available in PDF format, you can save the file and provide to your students via upload (presumably on a course site).  A word of caution, however, distributing a PDF articles to non-UT affiliated users may be a violation of copyright.  

Linking to Databases

 

To effectively provide your students with a link to any of our research databases, you have to use a url that is optimized for both on and off campus access. To find these links:

  • Search for the title of database in UT's catalog.
  • Copy the URL from the access link provided there (in blue in the middle of the page). 

Though you can find other links in a variety of seemingly trustworthy sources (including OhioLINK's list of databases), the link from the catalog is generally the most stable* and portable for UT students because of our authentication set-up.

 Watch an example video ! 

If you are unsure of what database may be best for you students' needs, you can contact a librarian or browse our databases by subject or name.

 Some popular database urls include:

 

* Though rare, database providers have changed their urls. If students are reporting problems, please contact Bridget Faricy or Wade Lee and we can provide you with a new link and begin the process to update the catalog.

Linking To E-Books

The procedure for linking to e-books is similar to the process for linking to databases. Generally the most stable* and most flexible link to an e-book will be the one found in UT's catalog. Locate the material there, copy the full text link from the center of the page and provide it to your students.

Watch an example video .

If you are looking for e-books that are relevant to your content, you can search UT's catalog in the advanced search mode, with "E-Book" as a limit

 * Though rare, e-book providers have changed their urls.  If students are reporting problems, please contact Bridget Faricy or Wade Lee and we can provide you with a new link begin the process to update the catalog.

Most Popular Links

Here is a handy place to grab urls for distributing to your students:

 If there is a url you'd like to see added, please suggest it using the comments feature below.

Copyright Issues

When you embed or distribute links to the library's full-text articles, it is paid for content, distributed in a limited manner to affiliated students who are authenticating for access. When this is the scenario, the use is generally permissible under copyright law. 

If you want your students to access copyrighted articles (or other materials) that are not a part of the Library's subscribed content, you may want to utilize our reserve system, where obtaining permissions is a part of the process. The reserve system is capable of providing both physical and electronic access to materials.