LibGuides: Pharmacy Practice: Drug Information

Drug Information & Drug Monographs

AccessPharmacy Drugs & Supplements
ClinicalKey Drug Monographs
Facts & Comparisons Online
Includes Martindale
(access to UToledo College of Pharmacy & Pharmacetuics users by username/password)
Lexi-Comp Online
Includes AHFS Drug Information
(access to UToledo College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutics users by username/password)
MICROMEDEX
(Available in Wolfe Center only)
UpToDate: What's New in Drug Therapy
Twice a year summary of new available drugs, drug warnings, and drugs removed from the market.
more...less...
For off-campus access via mobile app, see instructions
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Drugs.com Professional Resources
Information for Health Care professionals including:
- FDA Professional Drug Information
- A-Z Drug Facts (Facts & Comparisons)
- Micromedex Carenotes
- MedFacts Natural Products Information
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- Drug Interactions Checker

Drug Identification

Identidex (from MICROMEDEX)
(Available in Wolfe Center only)
Choose 'Drug Identification' from the Drugs tab.
Drugs.com Pill Identifier
Lexi-Drug ID
(access to UToledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutics users by username/password)
Allows a drug to be identified based on: Imprints, Dosage Form, Shape, and Colors.
Drug Identifier (via Facts & Comparisons)
(access to UToledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutics users by username/password)
Search by imprints, shape, scoring, color, etc.

Drug Interactions

In addition to the 'Interactions' sections available in most drug monographs (see Drug Information & Drug Monographs on this page), the following speciality tools can help identify specific drug interactions.

Lexi-Interact (via Lexi-Comp)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Lexi-Interact (via UpToDate)
Drug (and herbal) interactions database from Lexi-Comp.

more... less...

See this guide for more information about using UpToDate.
MICROMEDEX
Available in Wolfe Center only. Choose the Interactions tab.
Drugs.com Interactions Checker
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Drug Interactions (from Facts & Comparisons)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Enter a patient profile of medications, known allergies, and medical conditions, sex, and age to receive an interactions report.
Trissel's IV-Chek for IV Compatibility
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Interactive tool to check IV-solution compatibility.
Cytochrome P450 Drug Interaction Table

Medication Names

USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names.
This Dictionary is the annual compilation of United States Adopted Names (nonproprietary names), brand names, and code designations for drugs. For username & password, see document in the myUToledo Portal on the Library tab
USAN: Adopted Names
List of USAN names adopted since 2000, names under consideration, and pronunciation guide. For the complete list of USAN adopted names, see the USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names, available online or in the Mulford Library reference collection.
International Nonproprietary Names
International Nonproprietary Names (INN) facilitate the identification of pharmaceutical substances or active pharmaceutical ingredients. Each INN is a unique name that is globally recognized and is public property. A nonproprietary name is also known as a generic name.

NLM's Drug Information Portal

The National Library of Medicine has established the Drug Information Portal as a convenient way to search for information from multiple sources on nearly 20,000 drugs. Individual databases searched and linked to are listed below, but you can enter your search once in the Drug Information Portal and all databases with results will be shown.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Summary of drug information. Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.
AIDSInfo
Summary of HIV/AIDS treatment
LactMed
Summary of the effect on breastfeeding
DailyMed
Manufacturers drug label
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Summary of ingredients and label information
ClinicalTrials.gov
Clinical trials
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Summary of reviewed biological and physical data. Now in PubChem.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References from scientific journals
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.

TOXLINE
References from toxicological journals are now integrated into PubMed. TOXLINE no longer exists as a separate database.
PubChem
Biological activities and chemical structures
NIAID ChemDB
Biological activities against HIV/AIDS and other viruses
ChemID Plus
Toxicological and chemical resources
Drugs@FDA
Information from the US Food & Drug Administration
DEA
Information from the US Drug Enforcement Administration

FDA: Food & Drug Administration

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
List of FDA approved drugs by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number.

The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) website at the Food and Drug Administration contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals. Specific resources are listed below.

Drugs@FDA
Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products. Drugs@FDA includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
National Drug Code Directory
Limited to prescription drugs and insulin products that have been manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by registered establishments for commercial distribution. Drug products are identified and reported using a unique, three-segment number, called the National Drug Code (NDC), which is a universal product identifier for human drugs.
Inactive Ingredient Search for Approved Drug Products
Database provides ability to search for inactive ingredients in approved drug products.
Dissolution Methods Database
For a drug product that does not have a dissolution test method in the United States Pharmacopeia (USP), the FDA Dissolution Methods Database provides information on dissolution methods presently recommended by the Division of Bioequivalence, Office of Generic Drugs.
Bioresearch Monitoring Information System
List of clinical investigators, contract research organizations, and institutional review boards involved in the conduct of Investigational New Drug studies with human investigational drugs.
Acronyms and Abbreviations
The emphasis is on scientific, regulatory, government agency, and computer application terms. The database includes some FDA organizational and program acronyms.
New Pediatric Labeling Information Database
This list highlights key pediatric information from the studies submitted in response to pediatric legislative initiatives. To obtain all the information for a pediatric labeling change, select the pediatric labeling date in the first column of the database to reveal the additional information.

Herbals & Supplements

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about label ingredients selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the "structure/function" claims made by manufacturers. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine - Herbs at a Glance
MedlinePlus: Herbs & Supplements
Information drawn from Natural Standard.
RxList - Supplements
Find evidence-based information on individual ingredients such as herbs, vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements. The supplement monographs on RxList include a description, review of effectiveness, how it works, safety concerns, and interactions with medications.
HerbMed
an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc. This public site provides access to 20 of the most popular herbs.
Herb Facts (via Facts & Comparisons)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (via Lexi-Comp)
(access in UToledoCP only)
Review of Natural Products
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Natural Products Database (Lexi-Comp)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Click on INDEXES, then scroll down to the Alphabetical List.

Patient Information Resources

AHFS Drug Info (via MedlinePlus)
Patient Handouts (from Facts & Comparisons)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Lexi-Comp Patient Education
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
The Patient Education Module provides the capability to print complete patient educational packets with information on medications, conditions, and/or procedures. The condition/procedure leaflets are available in English and Spanish, while the adult- and pediatric-specific medication leaflets are available in up to 18 languages.
Clinical Key - Patient Education Handouts
SIDER Side Effect Resource
SIDER contains information on marketed medicines and their recorded adverse drug reactions. The information is extracted from public documents and package inserts. The available information include side effect frequency, drug and side effect classifications as well as links to further information, for example drug–target relations.
VigiAccess
Browse and view data on suspected side-effects (also known as suspected adverse drug reactions (“ADRs”)) from the World Health Organization’s global database for ADRs. The data contains reports of suspected ADRs, so called Individual Case Safety Reports (ICSRs), collected by national drug authorities in over 110 countries and span over more than 100 000 different medicinal products..
AERSMine
Creates reports from the FDA's Adverse Event Reporting System that make it easier to analyze adverse event data.
Medicine Assistance Tool (from PhRMA)
A dedicated search engine that allows users to search for financial assistance resources available to them, their loved ones or patients in their lives through the various biopharmaceutical industry programs available for patients who are eligible. MAT is not its own patient assistance program, but rather a search engine for many of the patient assistance resources that the biopharmaceutical industry offers.