LibGuides: Pharmacy Practice: Best Practices & Law

Evidence Based Practice

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of six databases in medicine and healthcare that contain different types of independent evidence to inform clinical decision-making.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Full text point-of-care resource that supports clinical decision-making. Contains over 9,000 experted-based/evidence-based overview articles on disease topics in internal medicine and 20+ specialty areas.
For off-campus access via mobile app, see instructions

DEA Diversion Control Program
The Drug Enforcement Agency's web page on controlled substances.
FDA Rules & Regulations
Search the Code of Federal Regulations for food and drug related regulations, as well as a list of laws enforced by the FDA.
FDA-Related Legislation
Information on the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetics Act (FD&C Act) and other laws enforced by the FDA.
Ohio State Board of Pharmacy : Laws & Rules
Summaries of Laws, Rules & Regulations, and links to both the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) and Ohio Administrative Code (OAC).

National Library of Medicine's Health Services/Technology Assessment Text
Evidence Reports, Protocols, Consensus Reports, & Preventive Medicine Recommendations.
US Preventive Services Task Force
CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (Canada)
The CPG Infobase is a public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it currently includes over 1200 CPGs developed or endorsed by an authorative medical or health organization in Canada.
Practice Guidelines from Clinical Key
Search or browse by topic, specialty, or organization for practice guidelines in ClinicalKey journals or available on the web. Click on the '...' under browse and select Guidelines, or search and then use the Content Type 'Guidelines' limit on the left.
Current Practice Guidelines from AccessMedicine
Chooose Quick Reference and then either Guidelines - Inpatient Medicine or Guidelines - Primary Care

MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information Reporting System
FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) Public Dashboard
Tool that will allow for the querying of FAERS data in a user friendly fashion. The intention of this tool is to expand access of FAERS data to the general public to search for information related to human adverse events reported to the FDA by the pharmaceutical industry, healthcare providers and consumers.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
A nonprofit organization educating the healthcare community and consumers about safe medication practices.
National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention
International coalition to coordinate reporting across national boundaries. Includes recommendations on reducing errors.
Drug Safety & Availability (FDA)
ASHP Policies & Guidelines on Medication Safety
Insittute for Healthcare Improvement (formerly National Patient Safety Foundation)
Quality and Patient Safety Resources
from the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
VigiAccess
Browse and view data on suspected side-effects (also known as suspected adverse drug reactions (“ADRs”)) from the World Health Organization’s global database for ADRs. The data contains reports of suspected ADRs, so called Individual Case Safety Reports (ICSRs), collected by national drug authorities in over 110 countries and span over more than 100 000 different medicinal products..