LibGuides: Pharmacy Practice: Student Texts & Tools

Major Texts

Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by 13th ed.
Call Number: Available through AccessPharmacy
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by 20th ed.
Call Number: Available through AccessPharmacy
Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach by 10th ed.
Call Number: Available through Access Pharmacy

Reference Books

USP dictionary of USAN and international drug names
Call Number: MULFORD Reference (4th fl) QV772 V86
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
Call Number: Electronic resource & MULFORD Reference (4th fl) WB354 K52
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
-Go to IV Compatibility after logging in to Lexi-Comp

Access Pharmacy Multimedia

Flash-based animations and tutorials from AccessPharmacy.

Sections include:

Goodman & Gilman's animations
Video supplements to Harrison's Online
FDA Patient Safety News videos
Virtual cases with video, interactive decision-making, and quizzes that lead users through sample diagnoses and treatment regimens.
Goodman & Gilman's grand rounds videos

AccessPharmacy Multimedia

Sources of Medical Images

Bio-Image Search
Enables discovery of biomedical images you can use i.e., images with Public Domain & Creative Commons licenses.
Aggregates biomedical images from many image sources
Displays results in four groups, from broadest reuse rights to most limited reuse rights
HONmedia - Medical images
HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.
Public Health Image Library from the CDC
Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files to illustrate public health issues.
NIH Images on Flickr
Browsable collection of images from all NIH Institutes.
MedPix
Images, many of them radiological, which are organized by organ system, pathology, and patient profile of accompanying cases. From the National Library of Medicine.
Pathology Education Instruction Resource (PEIR) Digital Library
Pathology images, searchable by keyword.
Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
Comprising almost 70,000 images from the Prints and Photographs Collection as well as other collections held in the History of Medicine Division, IHM is one of the largest image databases in the world dedicated to images of medicine, dentistry, public health, the health professions, and health institutions.
Clinical Key Images
Images taken from electronic texts available through ClinicalKey. Look for the publication type Images in your limits on the left after performing a search.
AccessMedicine
Images taken from electronic texts available through AccessMedicine.
Gray's Anatomy (1918 Edition)
Images @ PMC
Images database comprises approximately 3 million images from biomedical literature deposited in full text resources at the NCBI, including journal articles in PMC (formerly PubMed Central). This is a great source for searching for articles based on graphs, images, etc. in the article. Do a search, and look for image results on the right.
Body Maps
Visualize the human body in 3D with animated, rotatable, and cross-section views. Can focus on specific systems or organs as well.
Open-i
Image search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes limits by imaging type, medical specialty, etc. Can also search by image (i.e., show it a picture of what you want.)
Wellcome Images
All low res images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences. For further details please see our Terms of Use.

Hi-res historical images are also available to download from this site free of charge, for any usage, under a Creative Commons Attribution Only – CC-BY licence.

Copyright Considerations

Most image sources will include information about the copyright status. Many sources will allow you to reproduce images for teaching or other non-commercial uses. Always remember to attribute the source of the image when incorporating it into your own presentations.

Some image search engines allow you to limit your search to images licensed with Creative Commons licenses that may allow re-use. Often this is on the 'Advanced Search' screen. See the specific license to see if you can modify the image, use it for commercial purposes, or need to make attribution to the creator.

Glossaries & Vocabulary

Glossary of Terms and Symbols used in Pharmacology
Compiled at the Boston University School of Medicine.
Common medical abbreviations
From Global RPH

Calculations

Multi-Speciality Calculators from UpToDate
MICROMEDEX
Choose Calculators from the Main tab. (Available in Wolfe Center only)
Medical calculators
From Global RPh
Lexi-CALC
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Medical calculators addressing adult and pediatric dosing and infusion rates, organ function analysis, conversions, and more.
Advanced Dosing Calculators (Facts & Comparisons eAnswers)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
MedCalc3000 (from Facts & Comparisons eAnswers)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Has a wide array of pertinent medical formulas, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools for clinicians.

Diagnostic Tests

AccessPharmacy Diagnostic Tests
Featuring the content of Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7e.
Lab Test & Diagnostic Procedures (Lexi-Comp)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Click on INDEXES, then scroll down to the Alphabetical List.
Normal Lab Values (from Facts & Comparisons eAnswers)
(access to UToledoCP by username/password)
Normal reference values for commonly requested laboratory tests are listed in traditional units and in SI units. The tables are a guideline only.