LibGuides: Anthropology: Articles

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.

Anthropological Index Online
"The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present."
OhioLINK - EJC
The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a database of electronic journal articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
Web of Science (Anthropology AND Archaeology)
Search the citation indexes for publications related to anthropology and archaeology)

Electronic Journals

You may also want to browse for journals available electronically in your field. We maintain a current list of online journals from all of our various sources (including the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center, individual publishers, and those included with various database packages). See our listings for Anthropology.

Journal of Open Archaeology Data
"The Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD) features peer reviewed data papers describing archaeology datasets with high reuse potential."

Publications by UToledo Anthropology Researchers

Open Access Resources

Open Access provides additional resources to researchers seeking information and data from open access publications. These include scholarly peer-reviewed journals that are not published through commercial publishers but independently by universities, societies, and the authors themselves. In many cases, they are digitally published copies of former publications with the agreement of the original publishers. Open access search engines and catalogs draw from an international pool of scholarly literature and are often in many languages.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine -- Anthropology
BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine -- Archaeology
Directory of Open Access Journals -- Anthropology
Directory of Open Access Journals -- Prehistoric Archaeology
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
"The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data."
Open Context
"Open Context is a free, open access resource for the electronic publication of primary field research from archaeology and related disciplines. It emerged as a means for scholars and students to easily find and reuse content created by others, which are key to advancing research and education. Open Context's technologies focus on ease of use, open licensing frameworks, informal data integration and, most importantly, data portability. Currently, we are building up an extensive and diverse body of content and exploring different ways of visualizing and remixing it."