LibGuides: Resources for Teaching Hybrid Courses: General Resources

General Social Sciences

These resources offer a variety of help in creating a hybrid course, including interactive and/or digital content to be embedded in Blackboard, as wells as advice and teaching materials from your colleagues at other institutions, with an emphasis on social sciences.

Berkley Initiative for Transparency in Social Sciences
The BITSS Resource Library contains resources for learning, teaching, and practicing research transparency and reproducibility, including curricula, slide decks, books, guidelines, templates, software, and other tools. All resources are categorized by i) topic, ii) type, and iii) discipline. Filter results by applying criteria along these parameters or use the search bar to find what you’re looking for.
Social Science Collection Resources from the OER Commons
OER Commons contains high-quality Open Education Resources and offers a venue through which content experts can collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.
This link takes you directly to the Social Science Section of the Commons, but more subjects are available.
SocArXiv
Looking for new articles to assign as readings? Try searching the Open Archive of the Social Sciences. SocArXiv papers are moderated before appearing.
COMPASS Workshops
From the website, "The COMPASS Workshops are a series of free, open-source statistical programming and data science workshops held weekly during the academic year at Princeton University. Supported by the Department of Sociology, Department of Politics, and the Office of the President, the workshops focus on using R with RStudio in a variety of real-world applications relevant to social scientists."
LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Give students an authentic look at some of the most pressing social issues of our history.

General Humanities

Digital Humanities and Online Teaching from NEH.gov
From their website, "The National Endowment for the Humanities has compiled a collection of digital resources for K-12 and higher education instructors who teach in an online setting. The resources included in this Teacher's Guide range from videos and podcasts to digitized primary sources and interactive activities and games that have received funding from the NEH, as well as resources for online instruction."
Consortium for Online Humanities
Begun as a program to strengthen online instruction at liberal arts colleges with smaller class sizes, this consortium provides data and resources for, " upper-level courses that are essential for liberal arts majors strong and viable." Membership is not required for most resources.
Renaissance Society of America - Online Resources
The Renaissance Society of America is the largest international academic society devoted to the study of the era 1300–1700. Their online resources page includes links to content for literature, art, architecture, history, geography, and music, as well as interdisciplinary resources. Membership is not required to access resources.
Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities
From the website, "Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities is a curated collection of reusable resources for teaching and research. Organized by keyword, each annotated artifact can be saved, shared, and downloaded." Hosted by the Modern Language Association and the Humanities Commons, this website is in the beta or preview stage, so you may find some technical errors.
The Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, E-Learning, and Online Collections
MCN's guide to virtual museums and e-resources. The Museum Computer Network (MCN) offers a space for museum professionals to connect, share effective practices, and advance the thinking around emerging technologies in museums. All resources linked are currently free as of May 2020.
World Digital Library
This resource from the United Nations Educational and Cultural Organization contains primary materials from every continent. Includes books, journals, maps, photographs, art, and multimedia in history, geography, religion, art, natural sciences, mathematics, technology, literature, philosophy and more.

Foreign Languages

COERLL
Now funded by the College of Liberal Arts at University of Texas, Austin, COERLL (Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning) was inaugurated in 2010 as part of the U.S. Department of Education’s Title VI program (National Foreign Language Resource Centers). The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings. COERLL produces and makes shareable to the public a variety of open education resources to support foreign language learning.

Multi-Disciplinary Data Sets and Resources for Teaching about Data

Due to restrictions on research and concerns about social distancing impeding data collection, you may want to consider having students use data sets for analysis. The following links show a few places where you can get reliable data, freely available. Many of these links also include instructor resources for teaching about data collection, analysis and management.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The University of Toledo is currently an ICPSR member institution. From their own mission description, "ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
Includes resources for professors teaching about data evaluation, collection, and management
UNdata
(From the website) UNdata was launched as part of a project in 2005, called "Statistics as a Public Good", whose objectives was to provide free access to global statistics, to educate users about the importance of statistics for evidence-based policy and decision-making and to assist National Statistical Offices of Member Countries to strengthen their data dissemination capabilities. UNdata is maintained by the Development Data Section of the Development Data and Outreach Branch within the Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA) of the UN Secretariat.
IPUMS
(From the website) IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Census
Portal for data tools, publications, maps, software, and other information for the United States Census.
European Union Open Data Portal
From the website: " The EU ODP was set up in 2012, following European Commission Decision 2011/833/EU on the reuse of Commission documents. All EU institutions are invited to make their data publicly available whenever possible. This means data can be reused free of charge and without any copyright restrictions."
Urban Institute
Washington D.C.-based non-for-profit organization researching economic and social policy. This site is a source of data and reports on urban conditions.