Canaday Center Policies and Guidelines: Collecting Policy - University Archives

INTRODUCTION

The University of Toledo Archives serves as the institutional memory of the university. By collecting, preserving, and making available the historical records that document the university from its founding in 1872 to the present day, the archives serves students, faculty, staff, alumni, administrators, and community members. Collections include office files, personal papers of University of Toledo faculty members, publications of the university, files on student organizations, photographs, and theses and dissertations by University of Toledo graduate students. Most of the collections are available to researchers under the provisions of Ohio’s public record laws. 

Core Mission 

To collect, preserve, and make available rare and unique materials that support the curricular and research needs of University of Toledo students and faculty and the greater scholarly community. The Center’s collections include rare books, manuscripts, and the University of Toledo archives. The Center’s exhibitions display and interpret aspects of the collections in ways that contribute to the university’s educational mission. 

Collection Development 

The University of Toledo Archives preserves University records for the purposes of: 

• maintaining a clear account of University life and achievements, administrative policy and actions, and educational programs; and 
• providing access to a body of records useful for student, scholarly, and community research across many disciplines. 

 

The University of Toledo Archives relies on the cooperation and support of administrators, faculty, students, and alumni to ensure that materials of historical value are collected and preserved. The University of Toledo Archives will collect material in the following categories from the administrative and academic units of the University, in both paper and electronic format: 

1. OFFICIAL RECORDS, PAPERS, AND PUBLICATIONS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF TOLEDO 

Official records encompass the records or papers generated or received by the various administrative offices of the University of Toledo in the course of their business. These records include: 

• • Minutes, memoranda, correspondence and reports of the Board of Trustees 
  • Records of the Office of President, including correspondence, administrative subject files* and reports 
  • Correspondence, subject files, and reports of the Office of Academic Affairs 
  • Correspondence, subject files and reports of the offices of central administration, including: Administration, External Affairs, Finance, Legal Affairs, Student Affairs, Government Relations 
  • Correspondence, subject files and reports of deans, directors and administrators of the schools, colleges, divisions, programs and institutes of the University 
  • Minutes, memoranda and reports of all major academic and administrative commissions, councils and committees including the Faculty Senate and its committees 
  • Departmental records, including: minutes, reports, and correspondence 
  • Accreditation reports and supporting documentation 
  • Annual budget and audit reports 
  • Records of the Registrar, including timetables, class schedules, enrollment reports, graduation rosters and other reports issued on a regular basis 
  • Alumni records, including minutes of the alumni associations 
  • Reports of the Admissions Office 
  • All publications, newsletters and booklets distributed in the name of the University of Toledo, including catalogs, special bulletins, yearbooks, student newspapers, University directories and faculty/staff rosters, faculty and administration newsletters and publications, alumni publications and ephemeral material 
  • Photo prints, negatives, slides, audio and video film, tapes, and reels, oral history interviews, and optical and compact discs documenting the development of the University 
  • Security copies of microfilm reels containing vital records 
  • Maps, prints and architectural drawings documenting the physical changes and development of the University 
  • Reports of research projects, including grant records 
  • Artifacts relating to the history of the University of Toledo 

The official administrative records of the University of Toledo (correspondence, reports and subject files) designated as archival should be inactive and no longer used in the current activities of the originating office. Records should be forwarded to the Archives according to schedule after consulting with the archivist for the orderly transfer of non- current materials. An inventory of records transferred should accompany accessioned material. The originating office may place restrictions on access to non-current records so long as they are not required by Ohio Public Records Law to be made available for public review, in addition to the restrictions on administrative, Board of Trustees, employee and student records described in the Access Policy statement at the end of this document. 

 

 2. PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL PAPERS OF UNIVERSITY OF TOLEDO FACULTY AND STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS 

The University Archives seeks to acquire, organize and provide access to the personal and professional papers of University of Toledo faculty and student organizations as a means of documenting the internal life and culture of the University community. Space and staff restraints in the University Archives limits the volume of faculty and student organization papers that can be accessioned. Specifically in regard to faculty papers the following criteria are suggested: 

• National or international reputation in a respective academic field 
• Record of service with the University of Toledo and contribution to its growth and development 
• Service on the faculty of a recognized area of excellence within the University of Toledo 
• Service and contribution in community, state and national affairs. 
• Aligns with the Ward M. Canaday Center’s other collecting areas. 

 

 The University of Toledo Archives seeks documentation of the careers of the University of Toledo faculty in the areas of teaching, research, professional and university service in the following record types: 

• Correspondence: official, professional and personal. 
• Biographical material: resumes, bibliographies, biographical sketches, chronologies, genealogies, newspaper clippings, and personal memoirs 
• Photo prints and graphic materials 
• Tape recordings of lectures, speeches and discussions 
• Lecture notes  
• Research files of grant-supported research 
• Departmental or committee minutes and records 
• Drafts and manuscripts of articles and books 
• Diaries, notebooks, and memorabilia. 

 

 The University of Toledo Archives seeks documentation of the history and activities of student organizations of the following record types:  

• Constitutions, by-laws, and policy manuals 
• Meeting minutes 
• Historical background of the organization 
• Member handbooks 
• Photo prints and graphic materials 
• Correspondence 
• Artifacts pertaining to the organization’s activities 

The University Archives recognizes the rights of faculty and private donors to impose reasonable restrictions on materials to protect privacy and confidentiality. Restrictions on access should be for a fixed term and determined at the time of donation. The Archives encourages minimal access restrictions consistent with the legal rights of all parties. 

 

3. SPECIAL COLLECTION 

 The University Archives will solicit and collect records and papers which are neither official University records nor faculty/student organization papers, but which relate to the history of the University of Toledo. Examples include: 

• Professional and personal papers of the members of the University Board of Trustees if associated with University business 
• Professional and personal papers of eminent alumni relating their University of Toledo experiences 
• Papers, records and published items pertaining to the University of Toledo 

 

*Subject files are defined as “a file that consists of letters, memorandums, attachments, reports and other related documents. Relates to any topic such as an action, event, person, place or other subject. Arranged by subject, gathered together to support current or potential business task, function or decision."