LibGuides: Emergency Preparedness and Response: Specific Disasters & Hazards

Chemical & Hazardous Substances

Carbon Monoxide Safety
A list of resources pertaining to help increase awareness, detection and prevention of the hazards of carbon monoxide poisoning.
Chemical emergencies [CDC]
General and agent specific information with overviews and information for professionals from planning and training to response and treatment.
Chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act [EPA]
information on chemicals and their regulation under TSCA, on ways to prevent and reduce pollution, and on safer chemicals, products and practices.
Hazardous Substances Databank [NLM]
Broadly covers human and animal toxicity, emergency medical treatmetn, safety and handling, environmental fate, and more.
Consumer Product Information Database (CPID)
Potential health effects of chemicals on over 23,000 common household products.
Material Safety Data Sheets (UToledo LibGuide)
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
Agent-specific information including symptoms, first aid, and personal protection.

Bioterrorism [US Centers for Disease Control [CDC]]
General and agent specific information with overviews and information for professionals from planning and training to response and treatment
Bioterrorism and Drug Preparedness [ US Food and Drug Administration [FDA]]
Provides links to the most current information on drug therapy and vaccines, plus advice on purchasing and taking medication
General Fact Sheets on Specific bioterrorism Agents [CDC]
Overviews include definition, transmission, symptoms, and treatment

Natural Disasters and Severe Weather [CDC]
Includes information on specific topics as earthquakes, tornadoes, and severe weather.
Hurricanes and Floods
Information guide, includes: Health Issues and Hurricanes,Worker and Responder Safety, Cleanup and Recover, Environmental Health, Water and Sanitation, Coping with Disasters, Animals in Disasters
more...less...
NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center
Floods
more...less...
NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC)
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Resources on extreme weather events.

Radiation emergencies [CDC]
Information for both the public and health care professionals.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
Guidance on the clinical diagnosis and treatment of mass casualty radiological/nuclear events for health care providers [U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services].
Radiation Emergencies - What Should I Do?
A simple, clear public message for what to do after a nuclear detonation. CDC.
Radiation Emergencies
Links to CDC resources for responders, officials with communication responsibilities, and the public
more...less...
Links to freely available documents and resources on preparing for and responding to radiation emergencies
Jan 2018 blog post by National Library of Medicine - Pacific SW Region

Are You Prepared?
Tips for creating plans and kits from the City and County of San Francisco
American Veterinary Medical Association: Disaster Preparedness
For veterinarians to be prepared for possible animal disease emergencies and disasters
Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP) [University of MN]
Topics include influenza, bioterrorism (6 diseases), biosecurity (agriculture and food), and food safety (including foodborne diseases). Information includes overviews, clinical pathways, guidelines, selected readings, and resources
Emergency Preparedness and Response (US Centers for Disease Control [CDC])
Includes information related to specific types of emergencies (as recent outbreaks & incidents, chemical emergencies, and natural disasters). Also has resources for emergency health professionals (as clinician outreach, crisis and risk communication, health alert network).
Emerging Infectious Diseases [CDC]
Journal content includes articles, dispatches, and perspectives
Hazlib [University of Colorado at Boulder]
Clearinghouse for the societal dimensions of hazards and disasters.
Quakeline Database [Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research]
Covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard and disaster mitigation, and related topics. Varied publications are featured, including books, journal articles, conference papers, proceedings, technical reports, CDs, slides, and videos.

Specific Events - (Disaster Types and Topics)
Click on Specific Events.
more...less...
US National Libraries of Medicine

Flint Water Crisis 2016

Childhood Lead Poisoning Publications
US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Flint Drinking Water Response
US EPA, includes fact sheets and advice
Guidelines for the Identification and Management of Lead Exposure in Pregnant and Lactating Women
US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Lead and Human Health
US National Library of Medicine
Includes links to overviews, data & research, special aspects (as children), testing, and lead in drinking water
Lead Resources - US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Includes links to lead sources,what do parents need to know to protect their children, information for parents, and more
Medical Management Guidelines for Lead
April 17, 2024 Recommended Actions Based on Blood Lead Level
Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
Twitter feed
Michigan Emergency Management Association
responsible for coordinating state and federal resources to assist local government in response and relief activities in the event of an emergency or disaster. The division also coordinates homeland security initiatives and various federal grants.
Michigan State Police, Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division
Twitter feed
Taking Action on Flint Water: Flint Water Response Team
Resource sites, media center, news, and more
Toxicological Profile for Lead
Fact sheet from the US Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry

a) Follow oHurricane Matthew Twitter list of reliable sources: https://twitter.com/NLM_DIMRC/lists/hurricane-matthew

b) Share the information guide with your social media followers. Here is a suggested tweet:

New! #Hurricane #Matthew Health Information Guide w/ overview, maps, public health info and more http://go.usa.gov/xkY6u #HurricaneMatthew