LibGuides: Emergency Preparedness and Response: Recovery

Disaster and Emergency Medicine Management Phases

All-hazards disaster and emergency management can be understood as a three-phase model of preparedness, response, and recovery activities. These three phases are part of an ongoing cycle. When one is not responding to or recovering from disasters, one is planning for future events and emergencies. Below are links to great starting places for the Recovery Phase.

Recovery

Disaster Lit
NLM database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. [Retired June 1, 2021-no longer updated]
more...less...
Includes:

Expert guidelines
Research reports
Conference proceedings
Training classes
Fact sheets
Web sites
Databases
Protocols for providing victim assistance are particularly useful to the disaster workforce to assist in prioritizing support for victims of disasters
NLM Emergency Access Initiative
Temporary free access to full text articles from major biomedicine titles to those affected by a specific disaster.
more...less...
If your community is impacted by a large disaster, you may be eligible for emergency access to these key biomedical journals and reference books during the recovery period. Check the Web site to see if free access has been enabled and the length of the free access period.
Natural Disasters and Extreme Weather Topics
Includes specific topic pages from the CDC.
more...less...
NLM Disaster Health topic pages are sometimes created for specific disasters, with links to local resources and other specialized information sources.

Includes:

Disaster types
Coping with disasters
Health and environmental hazards following disasters
Resources and information on specific disasters (for example, Ebola outbreak, Haiti earthquake, Hurricane Sandy)
Resources for recovery efforts

Topic pages are organized to be topic specific, such as the listing of resources to assist in recovery efforts. These pages are very helpful to those making allocation requests.

Recovery - Other Sources

ReliefWeb
Information tool from the United Nations that contains humanitarian information on disasters around the world. It is designed for relief workers assisting in recovery efforts and is optimized for use on mobile devices. ReliefWeb also contains status reports from disaster-impacted areas around the world.
more...less...
The information tool was designed to assist humanitarian workers in decision making and planning effective recovery interventions.
Emergency Response and Salvage
The mobile app Emergency Response and Salvage (ERS) from the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training is designed to inform the restoration work for damaged collections and significant records.
more...less...
While ERS does not contain disaster health information, it is an information tool of interest to disaster information specialists.
HHS Response and Recovery Resources and Capabilities
From the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response Portal
Field Manual for Mental Health and Human Service Workers in Major Disasters (HHS)
Includes counseling skills