LibGuides: Emergency Preparedness and Response: Preparedness

Disaster and Emergency Medicine Management Phases

All-hazards disaster and emergency management can be understood as a three-phase model of preparedness, response, and recovery activities. These three phases are part of an ongoing cycle. When one is not responding to or recovering from disasters, one is planning for future events and emergencies. Below are links to great starting places in these three phases - Preparedness, Response and Recovery.

Preparedness

DisasterLit
One of the most important tools in finding grey literature on disaster health topics. Disaster Lit contains a variety of useful grey literature, such as:
Expert guidelines, Research reports,Conference proceedings,Training materials,Fact sheets,Web sites
more...less...
All of the references in Disaster Lit are available online for free.
Disaster Lit was developed by the New York Academy of Medicine through a contract awarded from the National Library of Medicine. It was maintained by the New York Academy of Medicine from 2002 to 2010, and is now managed by NLM. (RETIRED: June 6, 2021, past datasets still available.)

More than 1,000 associations, government agencies, and nongovernment organizations have been selected as sources of documents for Disaster Lit.
NLM Disaster Health Topic Pages
Collection of resources from the NLM Bookshelf on common disaster health topics as Disaster types, Special populations, Community and personal preparedness
more...less...
These information guides from NLM Disaster Health can save valuable time because most of the searching has already been done. The guides are, in essence, bibliographies that are designed to anticipate disaster health information needs by the disaster workforce.
TOXLINE
Updated TOXLINE content is available in PubMed by searching using the search string: tox [su].
more...less...
Includes:|
--Standard biomedical/toxicology journal literature
--Special journal and other toxicology research literature (for example, Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology – DART)
--Technical reports and research projects (for example, Toxic Substances Control Act Test Submissions, or TSCATS)
Public Health Emergencies for Practitioners, Clinicians, and Responders (US Health and Human Services [HHS])
Web links including the following topics: Responder Teams, Responder Safety, Responder Mental Health, Responder Prepardness & Planning, Bioterrorism, Chemical Emergencies, Radiation Emergencies
Emergency Preparedness and Response (US Centers for Disease Control [CDC])
Includes information related to specific types of emergencies (as recent outbreaks & incidents, chemical emergencies, and natural disasters). Also has resources for emergency health professionals (as clinician outreach, crisis and risk communication, health alert network).
PubMed
The most important source of scholarly literature on disaster health topics.
The freely available database contains thousands of journal citations on disaster and emergency topics
more...less...
Topics include ,including: Natural disasters, Bioterrorism, Chemical terrorism, Pandemic infectious diseases
Disaster Preparedness, Response, and Recovery
Liinks to government information by various US government agencies, link to wireless emergency alerts, how to make a plan and emergency car kit
more...less...
By the Federal Depository Library Program

Preparedness - Other information resources

Homeland Security Digital Library
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, including information related to terrorism and natural and man-made disasters.
more...less...
It also includes a Federal Emergency Management Agency Lessons Learned Information Sharing Collection. The HSDL is maintained by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
All Hazards: Articles in the Scholarly Literature
All-hazards articles in the scholarly literature is a database of citations for more than 20,000 scholarly articles and 5,000 conference proceedings covering all-hazards topics.
more...less...
The U.S. Fire Administration of the Federal Emergency Management Agency maintains the database.
Special Populations: Emergency and Disaster Preparedness (HHS)
Group specific information based on gender, age, organization types, etc.
Psychology Help Center
Tips on how to recover emotionally, manage distress, and strengthen your emotional wel-being ahead of disasters
Emergency Preparedness and Response - Training and Education
Specific types of emergencies(as bioterrorism, chemical emergencies, radiation emergencies, mass casualties
more...less...
Additional information for public health professionals, clinicians, and laboratory staff