LibGuides: Art and Art History: Reference

~

Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Online Catalog, Fine Prints Collection.

Useful Databases & Websites

Art Cyclopedia
This is a good starting point to do a general search, especially for the bigger name artists and for high-quality images. This resource includes also articles, glossaries, a directory of art museums, and a regularly updated art news page. One special feature is their image "ActualSizer."
Art History Resources
A great starting point, this site acts as a geographical and chronological taxonomy for art throughout the ages and around the world. Easily navigable, the site is also highly detailed and thorough. Includes also an international list of museums and galleries.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from Prehistory to the present day, the timeline contextualizes the history of art in text and images. A great, reliable source for students.
Internet Public Library -- Fine Arts -- Visual Arts
IPL2 has a great list of general links to various online art resources in its Fine Arts section, Visual Arts. This link includes drawing, painting and sculpture. NOTE: site is no longer being updated, as of mid-2015.
Mother of All Art & Art History Links Pages
Sponsored by the University of Michigan school of art and design, this site is a one stop resource for many inquiries. From a fantastic list of art museums around the world to art research resources by subject and online exhibition links, there is much to find. Check out the image resource links.

Art Resources at TMA

See the Toledo Museum of Art Reference Library for a repository of online art resources, from an art terms glossary to a glass dictionary, from the Union List of Artist Names to an art history timeline, and much more.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

Search the Bibliography of the History of Art, now hosted by the Getty Research Institute. Find here catalog information for books, journal articles and book reviews (both European and American) published between 1975 and 2007. Includes abstracts.

(see list of journals indexed)

Biographies

Ask Art Academic
Contains good biographies and is always adding new artists. Approximately 300,000 artists profiled, from the famous and historical, to the contemporary and lesser known. Free site also includes some selected works images, signatures, and "for sale" listings, as well as bibliographic references. Subscription required for additional content, such as auction records and full image library.

Directories: MUSEUMS

Associaton of Art Museum Directors
Google Art Collections (beta)
IPL's Directory of Art Museums
National Museum of American Illustration
includes works by notable artists from the "Golden Age of Illustration," such as Wyeth, Rockwell and Parrish
U.S. Art Museums
UMAC Worldwide Database
lists some museums that cross purpose with history and ethnology and may not be conventionally thought of as art museums (located within hospitals, etc)
World Art Museums

Dictionaries

Art & Architecture Thesaurus
Getty Research Institute
ArtLex Art Dictionary
Art Terms Glossary
by AskArt
Art Terms Glossary
Cleveland Museum of Art
Fabric Dictionary
over 1,000 entries
Glossary of Fine Art Terms
by Art Cyclopedia
Oxford Art & Architecture
online reference books
Textile Dictionary (in 4 languages)
compare terms in GER, ENG, FR, IT

Glossary of Terms not found elsewhere

Floriography: the use of flowers, plants and blooms (and their colors and arrangements) as symbols in art to portray encoded messages, usually pertaining to mythological and literary themes of nature and morality.

please feel free to suggest a term to the owners of this guide.

Other Art LibGuides

Reference & Information Services Section (RISS) of the Art Libraries Society of North America
Here's a single list of about 150 art library guides and websites from all over the U.S. and Canada