LibGuides: Art and Art History: Images

Search Google for images

Moving Images

Check out Moving Image Archive (from Internet Archive)

Free resource indexing over 2.5 million public domain creations; includes short, silent and art films, animations and cartoons -- all documenting our social and cultural history.

Prints and Photographs (Library of Congress)

Search LC Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

National Gallery of Art

Search The National Gallery of Art (includes image search option)

Image Viewing Tool

Try Artcyclopedia's Image "Actualsizer" to view an image in its originally uploaded resolution.

Image Rights

Use the Digital Image Rights Computator to help you figure out whether it's OK to re-use an image.

~~

Toledo Museum of Art

Toledo Museum of Art Collection Online

Search the TMA collection online! Includes images, bibliographies and more.

LUNA Image Database

LUNA is the art/art history digital image database of the Toledo Museum of Art and the University of Toledo, with currently more than 275,000 images available to search and download that directly support the UToledo curriculum. LUNA requires a login.

For more information on LUNA and to obtain a password, please visit the TMA website.

Search for images online and in OhioLINK

Saskia Art History Images

Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art.

To view titles from textbooks follow the links below.

CAMIO

OCLC's "Catalog of Art Museum Images Online" — a growing online collection representing the collections of prominent museums around the world.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed. Includes photographs, drawings, paintings, prints, sculptures and more.

Art & Architecture Digital Media

Art and architecture digital images from licensed sources, plus contributions from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities.

Art & Architecture Digital Media (world accessible)

Art and architecture images from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities.

The ART Collection

The ART Collectionprovides high-quality, digital images of works of art from museums around the world. The ART Collection highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms. Images include a broad range of works of the following genres: painting, sculpture, photography, print, drawing, ceramic, textiles, metalwork, furniture, books and scrolls, architecture, and archeological finds. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.

This digital art collection was formerly organized by The Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO), a consortium of museums and libraries. The collection is now licensed directly from individual museums. Clearance of rights to The ART Collection is coordinated by Archives and Museum Informatics.

More Images ...

Art & Architecture (Courtauld Institute of Art)
Limited access to over 40,000 images, covering such diverse subject matter as: architecture, costumes, fine & applied arts, social life, geography, history, politics, health & medicine, materials, nature, objects, people, periods & styles, religion, science & technology, sport & leisure, transport & travel, and war.
Art History Resources
links to image resources.

You may want to check this list for additional images. Includes slides, photographs, digital images, film, & video
Europeana Art History (Images)
1.3 million HQ images "from the cave painters of Altamira to the Surrealists, from ancient Roman sculpture to modern design, the Europeana Art History Collections" this portal "introduces you to artists and artworks from across the whole of Europe." (curated by the Europeana Foundation). Includes limiters by rights usage.
NYPL Digital Gallery
The New York Public Library's website has an extensive collection of art images for perusal in a wide variety of media, subjects, styles and eras from around the world.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Browse image gallery of over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents. Includes descriptions.
UNC - Wilmington Digital Collections
A lovely repository of mostly art collections. Includes works from local museums and student works.
Web Gallery of Art
"A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries. Intending to present Renaissance art as comprehensively as possible, the scope of the collection was later extended to show its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently the periods of Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism were also included..." Includes guided tours.

Other

Book Fore Edge Paintings
A fascinating and eclectic collection from Grand Valley State University: "A fore-edge painting is a miniature watercolor executed on the fanned edge or edges of a book; when the book is closed the art disappears, now hidden by the edge gilding. This genre of painting dates from the 1500s, flourished in the 1800s, and is still practiced today. Anonymous and undated paintings include landscapes, scenes and characters from literature, and portraits of authors."
Decorated Publishers Bindings
Another wonderful collection from GVSU: "From the early 1870s to roughly 1930, many publishers issued their commercial book covers with a remarkable variety of graphic designs and illustrations. This sixty-year period saw many artists and designers contributing to this art form. While some can be identified from their style or initials, others remain unknown."