This reference profiles the careers of more than sixty women educators who made significant contributions to American education in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Multicultural in nature, the book includes African-American, Native-American, Asian-American, and Hispanic women. The profiles are arranged alphabetically, and each begins with a brief paragraph summarizing the subject's importance. The entries provide information about the subject's family background, her education, people and events that influenced her, her goals, her achievements, and the impact of gender on her life and career. Each contributor locates his or her subject within the appropriate social and political context, thus providing an historical background for the educator. Each entry concludes with a bibliography of works by and about the subject, and the volume closes with a chronological listing of the women and a selected bibliography.
Widely praised, Greenwood's Biographical Dictionary of American Educators (Greenwood, 1978) quickly became a standard reference work for students and scholars of American education. This new volume includes biographical sketches of more than 400 notable researchers, leaders, reformers, critics, and practitioners from all major fields of education and extends the coverage of its predecessor to the mid-20th century. Its topical range encompasses such diverse areas as psychology, music, health, measurement and evaluation, science, special education, history, and administration. It treats education at all levels, including early childhood, elementary and secondary, higher, and adult. Most of the educators profiled were active in the 20th century, but several dozen have been included from the 19th century. A special effort has been made to include women and educators of color whose contributions have often been overlooked in the past. Each biographical sketch includes information on family background, a description of the educator's accomplishments, and a digest of the person's education and career, professional and civic service, major publications, and principal honors. Each profile ends with a list of references, and the volume closes with appendices listing birth places, states of major service, fields of work, a chronological listing of educators, and a list of important dates in American education. A comprehensive index concludes the volume. Educators are included from all fifty states and were selected from numerous suggested candidates for inclusion. Most of the educators profiled were active in the 20th century, but several dozen have been included from the 19th century. A special effort has been made to include women and educators of color whose contributions have often been overlooked in the past.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) LB17 .F56 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-27
ALSO AVAILABLE AS A ELECTRONIC RESOURCE! In this unique work some of today's greatest educators present concise, accessible summaries of the great educators of the past. Covering a time-span from 500 BC to the early twentieth century each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of their impact and influence, a list of their major writings and suggested further reading. Together with Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education, this book provides a unique reference guide for all students of education.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) LB17 .F57 2001
Each essay gives key biographical information, outlines the principal achievements, and assesses their influence. List of major writing and works for further reading are included. Arranged by year of birth, but a table of contents by last name is also given. Companion volume to Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to Dewey.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) Z720.A4 P56 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-30
This compilation of 97 biographical essays celebrates public and school library service to children and young adults through the professional lives and contributions of its pioneers and leaders. Devoted entirely to the field of youth library services, the essays represent both outstanding librarians in the field, as well as those whose work has made significant contributions supporting the work of professional youth librarians. Sketches include modern-day workers, spanning the late 19th century until 1999. Will inspire young people as it underscores the continuing importance of youth library services.