LibGuides: HEAL 4100 Health Behavior: Reference/Web Resources

Web Resources

BRFSS: Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Center for Disease Control)
CDC’s on-going telephone health survey system; tracks health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States.
more...less...
Conducted by 50 state health departments and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands; provides state-specific information (and some community-level information) about a variety of issues including alcohol use, obesity, nutrition and physical activity, tobacco use, and more.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Includes data, statistics and health behavior information on a variety of health topics.
EndNote Bibliographic Software
Jossey-Bass Public Health
One-stop source of free video, print content, and podcasts that can be used for teaching or training programs, with new content added daily.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Evidence-based Practice collection for mental and substance use disorders. Items include Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse)
Resources to support research to prevent and treat drug abuse and addiction
Public Health Genomics
From the CDC's Office of Public Health Genomics; contains an overview of the condition or disease, a discussion of the population affected, recommendations for health management, and links for further reading.
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
Authoritative information for researchers and the public, with links to initiatives which feature descriptions, resources, and data on many SAMHSA-funded programs.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Monitors health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.

Selected Reference Books

A selection of reference books from the UToledo Libraries related to health and behavior.

Encyclopedia of health & behavior
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) -- R726.5 .E53 2004 v. 1-2; MULFORD Reference (4th fl) WB13 E5629 2004 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of health services research
Call Number: MULFORD Reference (4th fl) W13 E554 2009 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of human development
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) -- HM626 .E53 2006 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of social psychology
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) -- HM1007 .E53 2007 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment, & recovery [electronic resource]
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) -- HV5804 .E53 2001 v. 1-4