LibGuides: BIOL 1120: Survey of Biology Course Guide : Databases

Finding Articles in Research Databases

The following databases will help you identify articles on your topic. Use the "Find It @ UToledo" button to locate an electronic or print full text copy of the articles once identified.

BIOSIS (Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to worldwide scholarly journals in biology and life sciences.
More information available in the BIOSIS LibGuide
Biological Abstracts / BIOSIS Previews collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in agriculture and related disciplines in botany, biology, etc.
AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

BioRxiv: The Biology Preprint Server
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online.
more...less...
No endorsement of an article’s methods, assumptions, conclusions, or scientific quality by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory is implied by its appearance in bioRxiv. An article may be posted prior to, or concurrently with, submission to a journal but should not be posted if it has already been published.
BioRN: Biology Research Network
Preprints, research papers series, and ejournals in biology.

More recommendations

You can also find excellent suggestions for specific databases, journal titles, and ways of finding articles in the LibGuides for individual subjects.

BIOL 1120: Survey of Biology Course Guide : Databases

Finding Articles in Research Databases

More recommendations

Academic Search Complete

Google Scholar