LibGuides: Diet and Nutrition: Home

Books in the UToledo Catalog

Search for more books on Diet OR Nutrition OR Dietetic* in the UToledo Library Catalog

Nutritional health : strategies for disease prevention
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2023
Clinical sports nutrition
Call Number: Connect to full text in AccessPhysiotherapy
Publication Date: 2021
6th edition.
Adolescent nutrition : assuring the needs of emerging adults
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Food science, technology and nutrition for babies and children
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Statistics in Nutrition and Dietetics
Call Number: Connect to full text in Wiley Online Library
Publication Date: 2020
Nutrition, fitness, and mindfulness : an evidence-based guide for clinicians
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Polyphenols and the Mediterranean diet
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Critical dietetics and critical nutrition studies
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of nutrition, diet, and epigenetics
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2019
Gastroenterology and nutrition : neonatology questions and controversies
Call Number: Connect to full text in ClinicalKey
Publication Date: 2019
Nutrition and immunity
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2019
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging
Call Number: Connect to full text in Safari Books Online
Publication Date: 2017
Nutrition in Neurologic Disorders
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2017
Nutrition Support of the Critically Ill
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2015

Government Resources

2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans Includes guidelines and key recommendations by life stage, from birth through older adulthood, grounded in scientific reviews of the current body of evidence.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) -- Nutrition
Covers a range of nutrition-related topics
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)
Contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. plus Daily Values and other reference links
Food and Nutrition Information Center (United States Department of Agriculture)
Provides resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers
more...less...
Includes the USDA Food Composition Database - The official source of nutrient information, search this database by food or manufacturer's name, pull nutrient reports from this database.
Food for Thought
A list of resources and research provided by the National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine.
MedlinePlus Health Topics: Nutrition
Consumer nutrition information
Food Data Central
Provides online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers
Nutrition Evidence Synthesis Review USDA’s team of professionals who specialize in conducting systematic reviews on food- and nutrition-related topics. Site includes a searchable database of publications.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Provides information such as the latest dietary guidelines, healthy eating, and how good dietary habits promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases

Other Resources

Nutrition Resources from HHS.gov
Resources for information on how to easily incorporate healthy eating.
The Doc's Kitchen - Evidence Based Eating for Every Day People
A blog written by both a trained chef and a doctor who specializes in gastroenterology, nutrition, and weight management.
more...less...
During medical school, he developed an interest in community health education and subsequently developed program focusing on training local hip-hop and spoken word artists as health educators with funding support from the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship. This program was inspired by his experience of training barbers as health educators at the CNN featured, Project Brotherhood, a clinic focusing on the health of African-American men in Chicago. His experience at Project Brotherhood made him keenly aware of the impact of social determinants of health, but he was most interested in the effects of nutrition on health and disease.

Associations, Organizations & Foundations

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
"The world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals."
Association of Nurition & Food Service Pro
ANFP is a national not-for-profit association dedicated to the practice of providing optimum nutritional care through foodservice management.
The American Heart Association Diet and Lifestyle Recommendations
Diet and Nutrition - American Dental Association
ADA's position on and advocacy for diet and nutrition
Food -- American Diabetes Association
Information on meal planning for management of diabetes.
National Cancer Institute
Fact Sheets on Diet and Nutrition
Nutrition Center - American Heart Association
Recommendations for healthy cooking, eating, shopping and dining out
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Associations and Foundations
Extensive list of resources on a variety of topics in diet and nutrition.

Core Journals in Diet & Nutrition

American journal of clinical nutrition
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
Continued by Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Journal of nutrition education and behavior
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Continues Journal of the American Dietetic Association

Research Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to health journal articles in many medical disciplines.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
- This link opens in a new window
"Index to content in consumer health magazines, pamphlets and reference books. Full text included for several hundred books Topics covered include such as food sciences and nutrition, children's health, women's health, sports medicine and general health."
Natural & Alternative Treatments
- This link opens in a new window
"Database with more than 700 evidence-based articles on medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions and homeopathy."

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal literature in psychology, behavioral sciences and related fields.

PubAg
Good complement to PubMed; includes nutrition, food safety, and food quality as well as other agricultural topics

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Comprehensive index to journal literature covering a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and health care disciplines." This version of PubMed contains links to UT and OhioLINK full-text journals.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on sports, fitness, and related disciplines.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Contains information on dietary and nutritional assessment, dietary recommendations, dietary interventions, food allergies, nutrition in pregnancy, the roles of diet, physical activity, and body weight in fighting disease, and much more.
For off-campus access via mobile app, see instructions