Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Carl Joseph Collection & Reading Commons: Exhibit

This guide provides an overview of the the Carl Joseph Collection and Reading Commons on the fifth floor of the Carlson Library.

The Canaday Center for Special Collections on Carlson Library's fifth floor has created a permanent exhibit on Carl Joseph's life for public display. The exhibit includes original correspondence, records, photographs, and other primary source documents from Canaday's archival collections and the Joseph family.  It is located near the beginning of the Carl Joseph book collection on the Library's fifth floor.

Some Exhibit Images

Above:  Signed photo of Carl Joseph (about 1943) in his military uniform. Served in U.S. Army's 505th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 82nd Airborne Division. Died on D-Day, June 6, 1944. (From the Joseph family's private collection)


Above:  Handwritten V-Mail correspondence from Carl Joseph (now overseas with the Army's 505th Parachute Infantry Regiment) to University of Toledo President Philip C. Nash dated 6/19/1943. Says he is "in fine shape in every sense and in a fine outfit" that is "anxious to get in the thick of it." Concludes with the hope that "from all the turmoil it will be possible for more of the people to enjoy more of the good things of life."  (From Philip C. Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)


Above:  Handwritten letter from Carl Joseph to University of Toledo President Philip C. Nash dated 2/10/1944. Talks about the war effort and his responsibilities as a soldier, books he sent back to Toledo from Italy, and his furlough in London. Wishes Nash luck "educating those who may prevent tomorrow's wars." (From Philip C. Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)

Carl Joseph Exhibit

The Carl Joseph exhibit is located on the fifth floor of the Carlson Library near the beginning of the Carl Joseph book collection.


Some Exhibit Images

Above:  Philip C. Nash, University of Toledo President from 1933-1947. Nash and former student Carl Joseph exchanged correspondence during World War II when Carl served in the military. (From Philip C. Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)


Above: Letter from University of Toledo President Philip Nash to Carl Joseph dated 1/6/1944 thanking Carl for the book he sent back to Toledo from Italy. (From the Philip C. Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)


Above: Response from University of Toledo President Philip Nash dated 2/21/1944 to letter from Carl Joseph dated 2/10/1944. Commends Carl for his philosophy about the war and approach he has taken to being a soldier. (From the Philip Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)


Above: Letter from University of Toledo President Philip Nash dated 7/12/1944 to William Hall at Toledo Blade newspaper. Responding to Blade article dated 7/11/1944 (see center box) about Carl Joseph being reported missing which his family felt gave the wrong impression about Carl's background. (From Philip C. Nash Papers, Canaday Center for Special Collections, University of Toledo)

Questions or Comments

Contact:

Sheryl Stevens

Special Projects Librarian
University of Toledo Libraries
Phone: 419.530.7981