LibGuides: Communication: Journalism Resources

UToledo Research Databases - Journalism

Full-text resources and online indices

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of biographical information on more than 600,000 people. Contains substantive narrative profiles (about 3,000 words each) and links to full text articles as well as citations, abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in communications, mass media and related fields.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to national, international, and regional newspapers. Includes complete full text for over 40 U.S. and international papers and television and radio news transcripts of major broadcast and cable stations.
ProQuest American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized page images from over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the start of the 20th century.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in over 3,000 journals across 50 disciplines in the social sciences. A special feature is cited reference searching, which allows users to search an an article's citation data to find similar works or works citing a specific author.

A selection of highly relevant titles

General scholarly sources, including primary-source (archival) collections

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.

Center for Research Libraries
Newspaper Catalog Search
Community of Science
An excellent resource for interviews with subject experts. This resources requires free registration.
Digital Resource Commons
The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC) was taken offline on August 31, 2021. The platform had become outdated and was no longer being actively updated with new content. See the link to find out where the resources used in the DRC went to search!

The Ohio Digital Resource Commons (DRC) provided a robust, statewide platform for saving, discovering and sharing—free of charge—the instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges.
Directory of Open Access Journals: Communication. Mass Media
Access a collection of open-access scholarly journals from an international collection of journals.
EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCO eBook Collection (NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Contains about 15,000 full-text electronic books published between 1934 and 2005. Includes scholarly, reference, and professional books on all subjects.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of thousands of scholarly books, reference books, and American and English literary works purchased by OhioLINK from numerous publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching full text of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Also includes books and primary source materials. UT users have access to full text of retrospective issues for over 1,100 journals in 5 JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and VII, and Life Sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, biology, botany, economics, ecology, education, history, mathematics, medicine, performing arts, political science, and sociology. (Note: Life Sciences Collection includes Ecology & Botany Collection, previously subscribed to separately.)

Library of American Broadcasting
Oxford Scholarship Online
The complete texts of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press.

UToledo Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog for all University of Toledo Libraries

Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections, UToledo Libraries
The Canaday Center houses the University Archives as well as collections of over 230 manuscripts and rare books. Archives are essential to journalism, as researchers can find original documents, correspondence, photographs, sound recordings and other critical primary sources. The center collects, preserves, and makes available historical records of individuals, organizations, and businesses important to the history of Toledo and northwest Ohio. Collections include records and personal papers

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains catalog records, locations, and borrowing information for millions of books, journals, videos, sound recordings, archival materials, and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of historical newspapers published in the United States from 1836-1922.

Google New s Archive Search
Browse and Search Newspaper Archives
NewspaperCat
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) - tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and subject bibliographies are valuable resources for exploring new subject areas.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries.
Roget’s International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases
Synonyms and Antonyms of the English Language
World Almanac
Full text of several World Almanac publications.

Access to current issues (limited archives)

Access to current issues (limited archives)