LibGuides: Digital Humanities: Home

Overview

Digital Humanities is a growing interdisciplinary field that combines humanistic questions with the interests and questions of the social sciences and the capabilities of archives, libraries, museums and information technologists. In invites scholars, information professionals, students, teachers, and administrators who are interested in planning, implementing, developing, and accessing humanities information resources to be accessed globally. Digital Humanities had already existed when the World Wide Web went live in 1994, but the modern Web (Web 2.0 and 3.0), social media, and social networks provide even more capabilities in order to deliver data, information, and knowledge to interested scholars, educators, and students. Digital Humanities also invites interdisciplinary research across other fields such as medicine, engineering, hard sciences, and others.

This library guide presents students and faculty with links to online publications, collaboration and visualization tools, and resources to inpire and support Digital Humanities projects at the University of Toledo.

Arjun Sabharwal, M.A., M.L.I.S.
Associate Professor/Digital Initiatives Librarian
arjun.sabharwal@utoledo.edu
(419) 530-4497 (Canaday Center)
http://www.utoledo.edu/library/info/dir/asabharwal.html

Books on Digital Humanities @ UToledo Libraries

Digital Libraries and the Challenges of Digital Humanities by Jeffrey A. Rydberg-Cox
Call Number: ZA4084.H85 R93 2006
ISBN: 1843341344
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Digital libraries
Humanities -- Digital libraries
Humanities -- Electronic information resources
Humanities -- Computer network resources

Featured Resources on Digital Humanities at the UToledo Libraries. Discover more titles through the catalog's subject links, or use the catalog.

The Digital Word by Paul Delany (Editor); George P. Landow (Editor)
Call Number: PN98.E4 D54 1993
ISBN: 026212176X
Publication Date: 1993-04-13
Criticism -- Data processing
Criticism, Textual -- Data processing
Interactive multimedia
Hypertext systems
Literature and technology
Revisualizing Visual Culture by Chris Bailey; Hazel Gardiner
Call Number: 380 .R48 2010
ISBN: 9780754675686
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Art -- Historiography -- Data processing
Historic preservation -- Data processing
Historic preservation -- Documentation
Cultural property -- Protection
Information storage and retrieval systems -- Art
Information technology
Technological innovations
Knowledge management

Defining the Digital Humanities (Video)

Digital humanities scholars are a diverse group whose work is the result of cross-pollination among humanities scholarship, computer science, and digital media. Many well-known digital humanities projects apply tools borrowed from computer science—such as data-mining or geographic information systems—to works of literature, historical documents, and other materials traditionally in the domain of the humanities. What do digital humanities scholars see as the potential of this interdisciplinary field? And what are the important theoretical and methodological contributions digital humanities can offer to both the humanities and the science?

Quicklinks

A Companion to Digital Humanities
This collection marks a turning point in the field of digital humanities: for the first time, a wide range of theorists and practitioners, those who have been active in the field for decades, and those recently involved, disciplinary experts, computer scientists, and library and information studies specialists, have been brought together to consider digital humanities as a discipline in its own right, as well as to reflect on how it relates to areas of traditional humanities scholarship.
Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web
This book provides a plainspoken and thorough introduction to the web for historians—teachers and students, archivists and museum curators, professors as well as amateur enthusiasts—who wish to produce online historical work, or to build upon and improve the projects they have already started in this important new medium.
Digital Humanities Start-Up Grants (NEH): Receipt Deadline September 12, 2013 for Projects Beginning May 2014
The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) invites applications to the Digital Humanities Start-Up Grants program. This program is designed to encourage innovations in the digital humanities. By awarding relatively small grants to support the planning stages, NEH aims to encourage the development of innovative projects that promise to benefit the humanities.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
Office of Digital Humanities
In the humanities as in the sciences, digital technology has changed the way in which scholars perform their work. Technology allows humanists to raise new questions and radically changes the ways in which archival materials can be searched, mined, displayed, taught, and analyzed. Digital technology has also had an enormous impact on how scholarly materials are preserved and accessed, generating challenging issues related to sustainability, copyright, and authenticity. ODH supports projects that employ digital technology to improve humanities research, education, preservation, access, and public programming.
Ward M. Canaday Center Finding Aids
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.