Digital Humanities: DH Projects, Communities & Publications

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Cleveland Historical is a free mobile app that puts Cleveland history at your fingertips. Developed by the Center for Public History + Digital Humanities at Cleveland State University, Cleveland Historical lets you explore the people, places, and moments that have shaped the city’s history.

The Digital Humanities initiative (DHi) at Hamilton College is a collaboratory - digital parlance for a research and teaching collaboration - where new media and computing technologies are used to promote humanities-based teaching, research, and scholarship across the liberal arts.

EMELD aims to preserve endangered languages data and documentation and to aid in the development of the infrastructure necessary for effective collaboration among electronic archives.

This will be the page to find the Famous Trials Forum, a place for the discuss both famous trials issues and how to best bring famous trials materials to life in classrooms from middle school to law school to elderhostels.

Gilded Age Plains City: The Great Sheedy Murder Trial and the Booster Ethos of Lincoln, Nebraska explores the development of towns and cities on the Great Plains through the lens of a murder case in the 1890s that evolved into a fascinating story that drew the attention of nearly everyone in town and people from across the region and country.

Imaging the French Revolution—an experiment in digital scholarship—is organized in three sections. In essays, seven scholars— selected for their previous work on revolutionary images—analyze forty-two images of crowds and crowd violence in the French Revolution, a shared on-line archive that provided the starting point for the project.

In Search of the Drowned is a hybrid publication by Dr. Gabor Mihaly Toth featuring various components that bring together survivors’ testimonies, digital history, computer science, philosophy, and personal memory.

This website allows you to search a wide body of digital resources relating to early modern and eighteenth-century London, and to map the results on to a fully GIS compliant version of John Rocque's 1746 map.

This digital history website was created by Dr. Lynn Rainville to share information about Albemarle County History (including the City of Charlottesville, Virginia).

Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

"Mapping the Republic of Letters” is a collaborative, interdisciplinary, and international project in the digital humanities, centered at Stanford University.

Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress

Explore the City of Neighborhoods through maps, stories, photographs, and documents, and share the story of your PhilaPlace.

The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images.

The Spatial History Project at Stanford University is no longer updated as much of their research used Flash Media to exhibit data. The website is preserved for archival purposes and still can be a place for a collaborative community of students, staff, and scholars to engage in creative spatial, textual, and visual analysis to further research in the humanities.

A project of the Institute for Enabling Geospatial Scholarship

Television News of the Civil Rights Era, 1950-1970, aims to collect, digitize, and present in streaming video format over the World Wide Web television news footage from the period and to make these valuable materials available to scholars, teachers, and students.

The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850. American slaveholders began migrating to the Mexican province of Texas in the 1820s, where they established a society like those developing at the same time in Mississippi and Alabama.

This web site is produced by Tooling Up for Digital Histories, a collaboration between the Spatial History Project and the Computer Graphics Lab at Stanford University and many others to compile, create, and share new tools for digital research in the humanities at Stanford and beyond. The collaboration has been funded by the Presidential Fund for Innovation in the Humanities at Stanford.

The project portrays two American communities (one Northern and the other Southern) from the time of John Brown's raid to the Reconstruction Era. The digital archive contains thousands of letters ,diaries, newspapers, speeches, census and church records of people in August County, who lived and experienced the Civil War.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world. The Voyages website itself is the product of two years of development by a multi-disciplinary team of historians, librarians, curriculum specialists, cartographers, computer programmers, and web designers, in consultation with scholars of the slave trade from universities in Europe, Africa, South America, and North America. The National Endowment for the Humanities is the principal sponsor of the project, and it is an Emory University Digital Library Research Initiative.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

As Director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, Dr. Vannevar Bush has coordinated the activities of some six thousand leading American scientists in the application of science to warfare. In this significant article he holds up an incentive for scientists when the fighting has ceased. He urges that men of science should then turn to the massive task of making more accessible our bewildering store of knowledge.

The blog of Dan Cohen, a history professor and the director of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Humanities Commons is a network for people working in the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.

Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Advanced Collaboratory. HASTAC ("haystack") is a network of individuals and institutions inspired by the possibilities that new technologies offer us for shaping how we learn, teach, communicate, create, and organize our local and global communities.

IATH is a research unit of the University of Virginia established by the University of Virginia in 1992. Their goal is to explore and develop information technology as a tool for scholarly humanities research.

The Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) is a leading digital humanities center that pursues disciplinary innovation and institutional transformation through applied research, public programming, and educational opportunities.

MATRIX is devoted to the application of new technologies for teaching, research, and outreach. As one of the premier humanities computing centers in the United States, MATRIX creates and maintains online resources, provides training in computing and new teaching technologies, and creates forums for the exchange of ideas and expertise in the field.

The Open Knowledge Foundation (OKF) is a non-profit organisation founded in 2004 and dedicated to promoting open data and open content in all their forms – including government data, publicly funded research and public domain cultural content.

Since 1994 under the founding direction of Roy Rosenzweig, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University has used digital media and computer technology to democratize history—to incorporate multiple voices, reach diverse audiences, and encourage popular participation in presenting and preserving the past. The center itself is a democratic, collaborative space where over fifty scholars, technologists, and researchers work together to advance the state of the art.

THATCamp, The Humanities and Technology Camp, is an open, inexpensive meeting where humanists and technologists of all skill levels learn and build together in sessions proposed on the spot

The Virginia Center for Digital History (VCDH) is an independent center within the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Virginia. VCDH supports and encourages the use of digital technologies for scholarship and teaching. The Center's digital collections constitute widely accessible, scholarly versions of primary histrocial sources that otherwise would remain inaccessible and largely unknown to the public. These collections are the basis of activities at VCDH, such as interpretation and analysis of the data by scholars, as well outside the Center, such as their use by primary and secondary school teachers in the classroom.

This collection marks a turning point in the field of digital humanities: for the first time, a wide range of theorists and practitioners, those who have been active in the field for decades, and those recently involved, disciplinary experts, computer scientists, and library and information studies specialists, have been brought together to consider digital humanities as a discipline in its own right, as well as to reflect on how it relates to areas of traditional humanities scholarship.

Lauren F. Klein, Matthew K. Gold, editors (2016)
Debates in the Digital Humanities, an edited collection featuring contributions from over forty DH scholars and practitioners, straddles the line between print and digital publication. The first edition of the printed text, which was published by the University of Minnesota Press in January 2012, is composed predominately of essays but also incorporates a variety of web-based materials such as blog posts, tweets, and wiki pages. The printed book was, from the earliest stages of the publication process, intertwined with digital platforms: following the model of peer-to-peer review described by Kathleen Fitzpatrick in Planned Obsolescence, all essays in the book were part of a semi-public, web-based review process that mixed new forms of peer-to-peer review with more traditional models of publisher-based blind peer review.
504 Pages, Published by the University of Minnesota Press, 2012
ISBN: 978-0816677955

This book provides a plainspoken and thorough introduction to the web for historians—teachers and students, archivists and museum curators, professors as well as amateur enthusiasts—who wish to produce online historical work, or to build upon and improve the projects they have already started in this important new medium.

Peter Lunenfeld / Anne Burdick / Johanna Drucker / Todd Presner / Jeffrey Schnapp
Digital_Humanities is a compact, game-changing report on the state of contemporary knowledge production. Answering the question, “What is digital humanities?,” it provides an in-depth examination of an emerging field. This collaboratively authored and visually compelling volume explores methodologies and techniques unfamiliar to traditional modes of humanistic inquiry--including geospatial analysis, data mining, corpus linguistics, visualization, and simulation--to show their relevance for contemporary culture.

Digital Humanities Now showcases the scholarship and news of interest to the digital humanities community through a process of aggregation, discovery, curation, and review. Digital Humanities Now also is an experiment in ways to identify, evaluate, and distribute scholarship on the open web through a weekly publication and the quarterly Journal of Digital Humanities.

Author: Brett D. Hirsch (ed.).
The essays in this collection offer a timely intervention in digital humanities scholarship, bringing together established and emerging scholars from a variety of humanities disciplines across the world. The first section offers views on the practical realities of teaching digital humanities at undergraduate and graduate levels, presenting case studies and snapshots of the authors’ experiences alongside models for future courses and reflections on pedagogical successes and failures. The next section proposes strategies for teaching foundational digital humanities methods across a variety of scholarly disciplines, and the book concludes with wider debates about the place of digital humanities in the academy, from the field’s cultural assumptions and social obligations to its political visions.

an open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities with a commitment to: 1) "experimenting with publication formats and the rhetoric of digital authoring; 2) co-publishing articles with Literary and Linguistic Computing (a well-established print digital humanities journal) in ways that straddle the print/digital divide; 3) using open standards to deliver journal content; and 4) developing translation services and multilingual reviewing in keeping with the strongly international character of ADHO"

Digital technologies and new media are changing the nature of research, teaching, and learning in humanities. Interdisciplining Digital Humanities sorts through definitions and patterns of practice over roughly 65 years of work, providing an overview for specialists and the general audience alike. It depicts both the ways this new field is being situated within individual domains and dynamic crossfertilizations that are fostering new relationships across academic boundaries. It also accounts for digital reinvigorations of “public humanities” in cultural heritage institutions of museums, archives, libraries, and community forums.

The Journal of Digital Humanities (ISSN 2165-6673) is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features the best scholarship, tools, and conversations produced by the digital humanities community in the previous semester.

Online magazine for digital humanities

This web site is produced by Tooling Up for Digital Histories, a collaboration between the Spatial History Project and the Computer Graphics Lab at Stanford University and many others to compile, create, and share new tools for digital research in the humanities at Stanford and beyond. The collaboration has been funded by the Presidential Fund for Innovation in the Humanities at Stanford.