LibGuides: Emergency Medicine: Books

UToledo Library Catalog Search

University of Toledo Library Catalog

In the UToledo Library Catalog, you can search all books at UToledo by keyword, title or subject.

Electronic Books are included in the UToledo Library Catalog; you can find them by limiting your search to the Location: Internet. Many of the e-book collections can be searched separately. See the Electronic Books page for major collections we have access to.

The newest books in the libraries are listed on the Library News page.

You can also browse bestsellers from the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library's Popular Collection which are available for checkout at UToledo libraries. The selection in this collection varies as the public library regularly sends new titles.

OhioLINK Catalog Search

OhioLINK Library Catalog

OhioLink is a catalog of over 80 college & university libraries in the OhioLINK system, plus the State Library of Ohio and a few public library systems. Materials listed as "AVAILABLE" can be requested and delivered to UToledo (or any other library in the system). This catalog can also be searched from the UToledo Library Catalog by clicking on the "Search OhioLINK" button.

Medical Book Collections

UToledo Libraries subscribes to several fulltext e-textbook collections. Each collection will have information on different specialties.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window

Emergency Medicine Clerkship

Emergency Medicine Clerkship Primer: A Manual for Medical Students
Primarily for junior and senior medical students. Review for emergency medicine interns and off-service residents. Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Top Ten E-Books in Emergency Medicine

Emergency Medicine (Second Edition) by James G. Adams
Publication Date: 2012
Relevant clinical core concepts for practice, study for the boards, and certification.

We have 80+ e-books in emergency medicine. These are our top ten:

Emergency Medicine Simulation Workbook by Traci L. Thoureen (Editor); Sara B. Scott (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Aims to integrate medical simulation into teaching practices. Material based on clinical cases. i
Evidence-Based Emergency Care by Jesse M. Pines (Editor); Christopher R. Carpenter (Editor); Ali S. Raja (Editor); Jeremiah D. Schuur (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Presents relevant questions on diagnostic testing that arise in everyday emergency medicine practice with comments on the best available evidence.
Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine 2013 by Jean-Louis Vincent
Publication Date: 2013
The Yearbook compiles the most recent developments in experimental andclinical research and practice in one comprehensive reference book. Thechapters are written by well recognized experts in the field of intensive care and emergency medicine. It is addressed to everyone involved in internal medicine, anesthesia, surgery, pediatrics, intensive care and emergency medicine.
Emergency Triage by ALSG
Publication Date: 2013
Textbook utilizing a risk averse system of prioritisation for patients in all unscheduled care settings. Both a training tool and a reference for daily use in the Emergency Department and prehospital settings.
Quick Hits in Emergency Medicine by Brandon R. Allen; Latha Stead; Bobby K. Desai; Latha Ganti
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
Practical, short compendium containing key decision-rules, clinical values, mnemonics, and dosages. Information on each topic is limited to a single page and presented in easily digested formats such as tables, algorithms, bulleted lists, and clinical illustrations.
Disaster Medicine by David Nott (Editor); David MacGarty (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Content and context for understanding disaster medicine and global health. In each case the reader will be put in the position of the decision maker and as in real life some of the cases will portray success and some will show failure.
Medical Response to Major Incidents and Disasters by Sten Lennquist
Publication Date: 2012
A practical guide for all medical staff on how to respond to a wide range of disaster scenarios. The entire spectrum of knowledge is covered, from command and coordination through to the management of individual casualties. Central importance is attached to the key component of decision making by explaining what needs to be done for patients in particular situations and the required order and timing of treatment measures.
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery by Forrest O. Moore (Editor); Peter M. Rhee (Editor); Samuel A. Tisherman (Editor); Gerard J. Fulda (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
A question-and-answer book for surgical residents and trainees, concentrating on the growing subspecialty of surgery in critical care and emergency surgery. Both a learning and review text.
Critical Care Management of the Obese Patient by Ali El Solh (Editor); Ali El Solh (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Clinical advice on management of the obese patient admitted into hospital. It addresses all aspects of the patient's care, as well as serving as a resource to facilitate the management of services, use of clinical information, and negotiation of ethical issues that occur in intensive care.

Select Emergency Medicine Books from UToledo's Print Collection

Here are Mulford's top print books in your area. You call also browse our entire collection with emergency medicine as a keyword or a subject.

Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Ron Walls; Michael Murphy
Call Number: WF145 M294 2012
Publication Date: 2012
A practical guide to emergency airway management in any adult or pediatric patient. Offers step-by-step instructions on techniques, drug administration, and prevention and management of complications.The book may be used in conjunction with the Difficult Airway CourseTM, or on its own. The text has been reorganized to reflect the decision-making process of emergency care providers treating the patient in distress.
Emergency Medicine Secrets by Vincent J. Markovchick; Peter T. Pons; Katherine A. Bakes
Call Number: [Reserve] WB105 E535 2011
ISBN: 9780323071673
Publication Date: 2010
Review of emergency medicine in question-and-answer format. For board preparation, recertification exams, or quick clinical reference
Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine by James R. Roberts (Editor); Jerris R. Hedges
Call Number: WB105 C641 2010
ISBN: 9781416036234
Publication Date: 2009