Medical Laboratory Science: Images & Video

ASH Image Bank is a Web-based image library that offers a comprehensive, growing collection of images relating to a wide range of hematology topics. ASH members and the hematology community can use images that have been peer reviewed by ASH. Image Bank slides are easily searchable and can be downloaded with one click. Users may create unique collections called My Collection.

Pictures show normal cells from blood and bone marrow and also a substantial variety of hematologic diseases.

A peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology. Both the Gallery and Visual Media Briefs include:

• Stained microscopic images of microorganisms using all types of optics;
  
• Electron micrographs of microbial and cellular structures;
  
• Macroscopic images of colonial morphology;
  
• Time-lapsed photography of microbial and cellular interactions; and
  
• Animations of microbial and cellular processes.
  

Contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.

Enables discovery of biomedical images you can use i.e., images with Public Domain & Creative Commons licenses.
Aggregates biomedical images from many image sources
Displays results in four groups, from broadest reuse rights to most limited reuse rights

HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.

Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files to illustrate public health issues.

Browsable collection of images from all NIH Institutes.

Images, many of them radiological, which are organized by organ system, pathology, and patient profile of accompanying cases. From the National Library of Medicine.

Pathology images, searchable by keyword.

Comprising almost 70,000 images from the Prints and Photographs Collection as well as other collections held in the History of Medicine Division, IHM is one of the largest image databases in the world dedicated to images of medicine, dentistry, public health, the health professions, and health institutions.

Images taken from electronic texts available through ClinicalKey. Look for the publication type Images in your limits on the left after performing a search.

Images taken from electronic texts available through AccessMedicine.

Images database comprises approximately 3 million images from biomedical literature deposited in full text resources at the NCBI, including journal articles in PMC (formerly PubMed Central). This is a great source for searching for articles based on graphs, images, etc. in the article. Do a search, and look for image results on the right.

Visualize the human body in 3D with animated, rotatable, and cross-section views. Can focus on specific systems or organs as well.

Image search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes limits by imaging type, medical specialty, etc. Can also search by image (i.e., show it a picture of what you want.)

All low res images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences. For further details please see our Terms of Use.

Hi-res historical images are also available to download from this site free of charge, for any usage, under a Creative Commons Attribution Only – CC-BY licence.