LibGuides: Political Science & Public Administration: Articles

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.

International Political Science Abstracts
Index to scholarly journals and yearbooks in political science and related disciplines. Contains over 300,000 citations from over 1,000 different publications. Abstracts are author-written or prepared by staff of the International Political Science Association.
OhioLINK - EJC
The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a database of electronic journal articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
Political Science Complete
Index to journals, reference books, monographs, conference papers and other publications on political topics with a worldwide focus. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, laws and legislation, and political theory.
ProQuest Congressional
Index to publications, proceedings, activities, and members of the U.S. Congress. Includes full text of the Congressional Record; reports and hearings of Congressional committees; Congressional Research Service reports; committee prints; House and Senate documents; and laws, bills, and legislative histories. Also includes full text of the Federal Register. UToledo has basic subscription plus access to full text content U.S. Serial Set 1 and American State Papers; U.S. Serial Set 2; Congressional Hearings Historical Archive Part A (1824-1979) and Historical Archive Part B (1980-2003); and Congressional Research Digital Collection, Part E (2013), Part F (2014) and Part G (2015).
U.S. Political Stats (1982-Present)
Collection of over 225,000 data measures on the three branches of the U.S. federal goverment (legislative, executive and judicial). Data categories include biographical characteristics, campaign finances, demographics, economic data, elections, floor votes, interest group scores, presidential performance, Supreme Court cases and voting scores. Users can download all data and create graphs, charts, and maps for visualization of trends.

Electronic Journals

You may also want to browse for journals available electronically in your field. We maintain a current list of online journals from all of our various sources (including the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center, individual publishers, and those included with various database packages). See our listings:

Political Science

Public Administration (Government)

Administrative Theory & Praxis (School of Public Administration - Eastern Washington)
Dialogue in public administration theory whose purpose is to advance knowledge & stimulate new thought in public administration.
American Politics Quarterly
Research in all areas of American politics, including local, state, and national.
American Review of Public Administration
A scholarly journal dedicated to the study of public affairs and public administration. Its goals are to advance the knowledge of public administration and to improve the practice.
Government publications review

Publications by UToledo Political Science & Public Administration Researchers

Open Access Resources

Open Access provides additional resources to researchers seeking information and data from open access publications. These include scholarly peer-reviewed journals in multiple languages, which are not published through commercial publishers but independently by universities, societies, and the authors themselves. In many cases, they are digitally published copies of former publications with the agreement of the original publishers. Open access search engines and catalogs draw from an international pool of scholarly literature and are often in many languages.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine - Political Science
BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine - Public Administration
British Journal of Political Science
The British Journal of Political Science (BJPolS) is a broadly based journal aiming to cover developments across a wide range of countries and specialisms. Contributions are drawn from all fields of political science (including political theory, political behaviour, public policy and international relations), and articles from scholars in related disciplines (sociology, social psychology, economics and philosophy) appear frequently. With a reputation established over 40 years of publication, the BJPolS is widely recognised as one of the premier journals in its field.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Political Science
A listing of international publications on the subject of political science
Directory of Open Access Journals - Public Administration
A listing of international journal articles on the subject of Public Administration
Open Access Journal of OAJPSIR Political Science and International Relations
Open Access Journal of Political Science and International Relations (OAJPSIR) is a peer reviewed journal, it dispense the systems of governments, and the analysis of political activities, political thoughts and political behavior. International relations focus on the ways in which states and peoples interact with other states, regional or global political organizations, and social movements in an increasingly interdependent world.
Open Journal of Political Science
Open Journal of Political Science (OJPS) is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in political science. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of political science.