Political Science & Public Administration: Books & Reference

'Companion volume to the Blackwell dictionary of sociology by Allan Johnson'--Pref.

A comprehensive guide to the complex ideology/terminology which surrounds the world of politics. * Well over 500 extensive definitions * Defines political theories, dogmas and phraseologies * Terms such as Pacifism, Proportional Representation, Jihad, Son of Star Wars, Third Way and Consensual are explained clearly and succinctly * Invaluable for anyone concerned with politics or current affairs.

How do we arrange our collective affairs? Why do we live together in the ways we do? How ought we to live together? All humans think about the world they live in, its history and future, and the ideals by which they want to live in relation to others. How we think today decisively influences the world of tomorrow. This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate.   Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field.   Key Features Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them Includes specific lists of entries that deal with constitutional thought and democratic thought Refers to distinctive norms and features of various governments, legal systems, and societies Devotes large parts to the history of ideas about government, ethics, and society Provides a chronology of political theory to help readers see how a given theorist, school, or issue fits into the bigger historical picture   Key Themes Ancient Thought Applied Ethics Biographies Comparative Theory Constitutional Thought Critical Theory Democratic Thought Early Modern Thought International Theory Justice Liberal Theory Medieval Thought Modern Theory Power and Authority Religious Thought Self and Community   This work is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It will be a welcome addition to any academic or public library.

This book covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field.

The constitution that establishes the institutional framework for American national government makes no mention of political parties. Yet for over two centuries, political parties have competed in encouraging, organizing, and directing political activity in the United States. This volume compiles entries of concepts, terms, labels, and individuals central to identifying and comprehending these key roles political parties have played in American political life. The second edition of Historical Dictionary of United States Political Parties addresses the historical development, organization, operation, and leadership of the parties, as well as their broader environment. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and over 800 cross-referenced dictionary entries addressing individuals, institutions, and terms.

This authoritative, up-to-date resource will become the standard reference on the theory and practice of public management around the world. Public management addresses strategy, policy processes, and governance as well as the bureaucratic concerns of public administration. Reflecting this diversity, the Dictionary incorporates concepts from various other fields including economics, political science, management, sociology, and psychology. The reference draws from an extensive literature base including books, journals, websites, research reports, government proceedings, legal documents, and international and organizational reports. As the primary source of ready information for students, researchers, scholars, and practitioners, it defines all the fundamental concepts of public management, their applications, and all relevant theories, complete with sources and references.

Over 24,000 entries covering political science, world political organizations & parties international relations, customs, international trade, peacemaking, terrorism and counterterrorism, politics, espionage and counterespionage, war and regional conflicts, elections, immigration and naturalization, political journalism, European Union terminology, United Nations terminology and more…
Bilingual example sentences are given throughout the dictionary. Useful appendices and acronyms glossaries included.

"The fundamentals of public administration, from the world's leading practitionersHandbook of Public Administration is the classic, comprehensive guide to the field, featuring original writings from the world's foremost public administration thought leaders and practitioners. Intended to help both public administration students and practitioners navigate administrative challenges, overcome obstacles, and improve effectiveness, this guide provides a complete overview of the entire field. The information is organized into seven parts representing key domains of knowledge and practice that are essential for effective public administration. These reflect changes in the state of modern public administration, the factors that influence policies and programs, the mechanics of how government works, and the tools that help administrators get things done.

Presents updated version of the Congressional Oversight Manual, prepared by CRS to provide Congress with direction on how to conduct oversight of executive branch and Federal agency programs, activities, and public policy implementation

The U.S. government has historically been the engine of American scientific achievement, from the birth of nuclear technology to the "space race." However, at times, our government has also misrepresented scientific evidence to advance a political agenda. Science and Political Controversy: A Reference Handbook examines how the government has facilitated research for the public good and the ways in which politicians have manipulated data to serve political ends around a broad array of controversies, from stem cell research to energy development, chemical health risks, and climate change. Written specifically for high school students and general readers without specialized background knowledge on the subject, the work presents perspective essays authored by representatives from governmental agencies, politicians, political scientists, experts in the physical and life sciences, and other stakeholders concerned with the intersection of politics and science. The first section of the book provides background information on the topic that overviews the current problems and issues related to the interaction of science and politics. The second section supplies resources that readers can use for their own research, such as an annotated bibliography, profiles of important individuals and organizations, a chronology of important events, and a glossary of key terms.

Highlights the most important political science topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st Century. Includes basic institutions of government, political ideologies and cultures, public opinion, political parties and elections, political communication, political economy, international relations and institutions