Becoming a Physical Therapist: the Complete Guide
Physical therapy is a healthcare profession concerned with the application of manual therapy, biomechanics or kinesiology, exercise therapy, electrotherapy, etc. to treat impairments and promote mobility and function.The purpose of physical therapy is to enhance a patient's quality of life through the effective diagnosis, prognosis, intervention and education of patients. Some specialization areas of physical therapy are cardiovascular and pulmonary physiotherapy, geriatric, integumentary, orthopedic and neurological physical therapy, among others. The outcomes of physical therapy typically include the management of pain, ability to perform activities of daily living, management of depression, etc. This book is a compilation of topics that discuss the most vital concepts in the field of physical therapy. Different approaches, evaluations and methodologies have been included in this book. It aims to serve as a resource guide for students and experts alike.
Therapeutic Exercise for Parkinson's Disease and Related Disorders
With an accurate and up-to-date approach, this book offers a comprehensive view of Parkinson's disease in the context of movement as a pillar of health. It compiles the current scientific knowledge supporting exercise therapy as a powerful tool to preventing and relieving symptoms, and to slowing the progression of Parkinson's disease. The work presents different therapeutic exercises, such as cueing, gait training, virtual reality, exergames, occupational therapy, electrostimulation, perturbed training, Qigong, and other methods. The pathophysiology, diagnosis, pharmacological interaction, motor and nonmotor symptoms, and the effects of exercise therapy are addressed in detail. Readers will learn to identify protective factors, to take precautions, to manage associated risks, and to dose the exercise load for Parkinson's. The work collects years of research and top-quality scientific evidence and goes beyond by presenting an innovative training planning proposal, which allows readers to prescribe exercise in a logical and quantitative way for patients with Parkinson's and other neurodegenerative diseases. Therapeutic exercise for Parkinson's Disease and Related Disorders is an essential work that provides new perspectives on how to prevent and reverse neurodegeneration. It is a must-read for healthcare professionals, students, and all those committed to improving the quality of life of people with Parkinson's disease.
Skeletal Muscle Physiology : an update to anatomy and function
This book provides a comprehensive overview of skeletal muscle structure, function, and regulation at the cellular and molecular levels. In addition, the book covers various topics, such as muscle contraction, energy metabolism, fatigue, adaptation, and plasticity. This book discusses skeletal muscle anatomy and histology and then covers muscle contraction's molecular and cellular mechanisms. Also, it includes an in-depth discussion of the sarcomere, the basic unit of muscle contraction, and the role of calcium in the process of muscle contraction. This book also explores the energy metabolism of skeletal muscle, including the role of ATP, glycogen, and fatty acids in providing energy for muscle contraction. Additionally, the book covers the mechanisms of fatigue, including peripheral and central factors contributing to muscle fatigue. Other topics covered include muscle adaptation to exercise, the molecular and cellular mechanisms of muscle hypertrophy and atrophy, andthe influence of age, sex, and disease on skeletal muscle function. Overall, Skeletal Muscle Physiology: An Update to Anatomy and Function thoroughly explores the structure and function of skeletal muscle, making it an essential resource for students and professionals in exercise science, sports medicine, and physiology. The auto-summaries have been generated by a recursive clustering algorithm via the Dimensions Auto-summarizer by Digital Science handled by Subject Matter Experts and the external editor. The editor of this book selected which SN content should be auto-summarized and decided its order of appearance. Please be aware that the auto-summaries consist of original sentences, but are not representative of its original paper, since we do not show the full length of the publication. Please note that only published SN content is represented here, and that machine-generated books are still at an experimental stage.
Wrist Functional Anatomy and Therapy
This book developed from the experience of the ISAMMS team (Institut Sud Aquitain de la Main et du Membre Supérieur), that has been treating hand and wrist pathologies for over 20 years. Hand and wrist require specific care from a multidisciplinary staff. The patient has to be treated efficiently from injury in order to be able to return to work and sports activities. This second volume covers the functional anatomy of the wrist, as well as the most up to date knowledge regarding the surgical and orthopaedic protocols for treating wrist pathologies. This publication is intended for physiotherapists and occupational therapists, surgeons and practitioners specialised in physical rehabilitation, as well as for the students in those fields.
Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams
This textbook fosters a deeper understanding of how home healthcare goals for older adults can be achieved through interprofessional collaboration. The contributors create a context where allied health and healthcare professionals can acquire and exchange knowledge about their diverse disciplines and practices for the betterment of the home care population. The book also reinforces what the COVID-19 pandemic made quite apparent to health institutions and providers: patients can receive adequate and acceptable care within the home setting. The pandemic also highlighted the important role that interprofessionalism can play in attaining desired patient outcomes. Statistics reveal that the population of persons over the age of 65 years is the largest that it has ever been. This volume focuses on older adult patients because caring for these individuals from an interprofessional perspective is now more important than ever. Through the ten chapters of this edited book, the contributors including home care providers offer their perspectives on interprofessional collaboration and the provision of quality home care services. They use the Interprofessional Education Collaborative's (IPEC) four core competencies as a framework for improving the collaborative practice of home health care for older adult patients with complex medical issues. Among the topics covered: Medical Social Work and Case Management Skilled Nursing Physical Therapy Occupational Therapy Behavioral Health Care Other Relevant Home Care Services: Prosthetics and Orthotics, Pharmacy Services, Durable Medical Equipment and Nutritional Services Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams is intended for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in health or allied health programs and can be used as a primary text for interprofessional education courses. The text benefits students, instructors, and faculty who have stakes in obtaining positive health outcomes for older adult patients. Today, more and more programs are requiring the development of interprofessional competencies. This book provides a forum where students can obtain in-depth knowledge of teaming, as well as the roles and functions of various care providers.
The Art of the Musculoskeletal Physical Exam
This book is an invaluable resource for all those seeking to enhance their proficiency in physical examination. Emphasizing its importance for thorough assessments and accurate diagnoses, it equips practitioners with comprehensive theoretical and practical knowledge. With seven sections devoted to different orthopedic structures, the book meticulously examines their underlying anatomy, pathological conditions, and diagnostic methodologies. Each author presents joint-specific tests, and detailed anatomical insights, enabling accurate assessments and identification of underlying conditions. Written and edited by members of ISAKOS, this collaboration draws upon the expertise of leading international experts. Appealing to a broad readership, it is an invaluable tool for orthopedists, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers and students.
The Transgender Athlete
The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes. There are over 1.4 million transgender adults in the United States. Transgender individuals undergo gender-affirming treatments including sex hormone therapy and gender-affirming surgery. An increasing number of transgender people are participating in sports and presenting to sports medicine clinics with injuries, yet there is little research about this athlete population. It is important that sports medicine providers understand the types of hormone treatments and surgeries and how these changes affect the musculoskeletal health of transgender people. Additionally, transgender people may require specific considerations when interacting with medical providers. Furthermore, sports medicine providers are often consulted to formulate transgender athlete inclusion policy. These policies are continuously changing, as new evidence becomes available, which may be difficult to understand without knowledge of the gender transition process.
Functional Electrical Stimulation in Neurorehabilitation
Clinical Cases in Sleep Physical Therapy
Sleep diseases and cases are both very common (such as sleep respiratory disturbances) and rare (such as narcolepsy), with increasing and alarming prevalence worldwide. As diagnosis is always performed by physicians, physiotherapists often receive the patients referred by other health practitioners. This engaging book focuses on a compilation of case reports and clinical scenarios collected over the years. It intends to show the practical management of different cases in treating sleep disorders by physiotherapists. The reader will have a chance to understand how, in clinical practice, physiotherapists from different countries treat sleep issues, either in conjunction or not with other health professions. Written by worldwide experts, the 30 instructive chapters present the practice of sleep and physical therapy around the globe, as well as the integration of sleep as a imperative topic in health promotion and well-being. They also intend to describe the anamnesis, the clinical history, rationale and process for the physiotherapeutic treatment, patient-centered, and with an interdisciplinary approach. The reader will be able to tie up loose ends of the clinical picture and to connect with the theoretical knowledge, understanding the evidence-based practice in each of the clinical case, thus having the insight to start thinking as a sleep physiotherapist. As the contemporary world is always changing, so is physical therapy on behalf of health in these lightning times.
The Patellofemoral Joint : a case-based approach
PNF in practice : an illustrated guide
Common pediatric knee injuries : best practices in evaluation and management
How to Develop Your Healthcare Career: A Guide to Employability and Professional Development
National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review
National Physical Therapy Examination Review and Study Guide
NPTE - National Physical Therapy Examination
Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination Enhanced Edition
TherapyEd's national physical therapy examination : review & study guide
Search the catalog of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system:
The following databases contain eBooks:
Contains full text of thousands of scholarly books, reference books, and American and English literary works purchased by OhioLINK from numerous publishers.
