LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Find Articles

Essential Research Databases

Below is a select list of research databases from which to begin searching for articles. To view more databases in other disciplines visit OhioLINK Databases by Subject.

CINAHL
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.
ClinicalKey
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.
Cochrane Library
Collection of six databases in medicine and healthcare that contain different types of independent evidence to inform clinical decision-making.
Embase
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.
PubMed
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
Science Citation Index Expanded
Index to worldwide scholarly and technical literature in all scientific disciplines. A special feature is cited reference searching, which allows users to search an an article's citation data to find similar works or works citing a specific author.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Index to publications on sports, fitness, and related disciplines.

Core Journals in Physical Therapy*

https://carlson.utoledo.edu/record=b4410996~S3Most of the journals listed below are available through the UToledo Libraries databases; use the ILLiad interlibrary loan system to obtain articles if access is not directly available.

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Australian Journal of Physiotherapy (Access through 2009 -- use interlibrary loan for newer issues)
Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research
Clinical Rehabilitation
JAMA
Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery. American Volume
Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
Pain (Access through 2014 -- use interlibrary loan for newer issues)
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics
Physical Therapy
Physiotherapy
Physiotherapy Canada
Spine
Stroke

*Dennis W. Fell, PT, MD; Judy F. Burnham, MLS, AHIP; Melanie J. Buchanan, DPT; Heidi A. Horchen, DPT; Joel A. Scherr, DPT. (July 2011). Mapping the core journals of the physical therapy literature, J Med Libr Assoc 99(3). DOI: 10.3163/1536-5050.99.3.007

Other Useful Resources

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination
Includes content to help support diversity, equity, and inclusion

ClinicalTrials.gov
Free access to information on clinical studies provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM)

PEDro
PEDro is a free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Citation details, abstracts and links to the full text are provided where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

APTA website
Contains collections of Clinical Practice Guidelines, point of care resources, and Proquest database.
Stroke Engine
Includes a detailed review of the effectiveness of over 40 stroke rehabilitation interventions and best practice guidelines for clinicians.
Rehabdata -- National Rehabilitation Information Center
REHABDATA describes over 80,000 reports, studies, papers, articles, commercially published books and non-print materials. It covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
"A one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals"