LibGuides: Recreation and Leisure: Find Articles

Selected Journals for Recreation Therapy

See also the Online Journals List for more complete list.

American Journal of Recreation Therapy
Request articles in this journal through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service
Annual in Therapeutic Recreation
Connect to full text in CINAHL Plus with Full Text : 2013 to present
Journal of Leisure Research
Connect to full text in SPORTDiscus with Full Text : 1992 to present
Journal of Outdoor Recreation, Education, and Leadership
Connect to full text in SPORTDiscus with Full Text : 2015 to present
Palaestra
Connect to full text in:
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost : 2005 to present
SPORTDiscus with Full Text : 2005 to present
Nursing & Allied Health Database : 1997 - 2012, 2015 to present
Schole: A Journal of Leisure Studies and Recreation Education
Connect to full text in SPORTDiscus with Full Text : 2013 to present
Therapeutic recreation journal (Online)
Connect to full text in SPORTDiscus with Full Text : 2013 to present OR Nursing & Allied Health Database : 1998 to present

Essential Research Databases for Recreation Therapy

CINAHL
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
MEDLINE with Full Text
EBSCO's version of the National Library of Medicine's index to journal literature. Covers a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and healthcare disciplines.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
APA PsycInfo
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in psychology and related fields

APA PsycInfo: More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Index to journal literature in psychology, behavioral sciences and related fields.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
PubMed
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.

Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in sociology and related fields.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in over 3,000 journals across 50 disciplines in the social sciences. A special feature is cited reference searching, which allows users to search an an article's citation data to find similar works or works citing a specific author.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Index to publications on sports, fitness, and related disciplines.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."

Additional Research Databases for Recreation Therapy and Leisure

Business Source Complete
Comprehensive index to publications and information on business topics.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
ClinicalKey
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.
Project MUSE
Platform for cross-searching interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.