Music, Medicine and Religion at the Ospedale Di Santo Spirito in Rome
Explores the use of music as therapy and shows how it operated in the hospital's institutional, social and historical contexts, undergoing change in response to broader cultural and religious movements.This book explores connections between the physical care of the sick based on the study of medicine, concepts of healing founded on religious thought, and the practice of music at the Ospedale di Santo Spirito (Hospital of the Holy Spirit) in Rome. The hospital was a unique institution that was regulated by the Roman Catholic Church but simultaneously reflected the significant shifts in scientific thought emerging during the period that coincided with post-Tridentine reforms in the church.The volume discusses the hospital's foundation, architecture and links with the papacy. It also reflects on the then acceptable "ways of knowing" informed by religious concerns and medical traditions. The tripartite relationship between religion, medicine and music within the institution was complex. At times they existed side-by-side, at others they intersected. Drawing on extensive archival research such as financial records, decrees, records of apostolic visits and inventories as well as surviving musical sources (printed and manuscript), the book makes connections between intellectual beliefs about music and actual musical practices. It explores the early use of music as therapy and investigates the musical ideals and practices of the monastic regime which ran the hospital. In a wider sense, the book shows how music operated in the hospital's institutional, social and historical contexts, and how it underwent change over time in response to broader cultural and religious movements.ide-by-side, at others they intersected. Drawing on extensive archival research such as financial records, decrees, records of apostolic visits and inventories as well as surviving musical sources (printed and manuscript), the book makes connections between intellectual beliefs about music and actual musical practices. It explores the early use of music as therapy and investigates the musical ideals and practices of the monastic regime which ran the hospital. In a wider sense, the book shows how music operated in the hospital's institutional, social and historical contexts, and how it underwent change over time in response to broader cultural and religious movements.of the monastic regime which ran the hospital. In a wider sense, the book shows how music operated in the hospital's institutional, social and historical contexts, and how it underwent change over time in response to broader cultural and religious movements.ide-by-side, at others they intersected. Drawing on extensive archival research such as financial records, decrees, records of apostolic visits and inventories as well as surviving musical sources (printed and manuscript), the book makes connections between intellectual beliefs about music and actual musical practices. It explores the early use of music as therapy and investigates the musical ideals and practices of the monastic regime which ran the hospital. In a wider sense, the book shows how music operated in the hospital's institutional, social and historical contexts, and how it underwent change over time in response to broader cultural and religious movements.
200 More Brief, Creative & Practical Art Therapy Techniques
Unique and creative warm-up exercises that facilitate communication, connection and creative expression Expanding upon art therapist Susan Buchalter's celebrated 250 Brief, Creative& Practical Art Therapy Techniques, this follow-up book provides 200 more art exercises clinicians can use in art therapy and psychotherapy groups. With just a few simple materials, Buchalter provides endless opportunities for clients to create meaningful images, share their experiences, and become more focused and open in therapy. To make it easier for therapists, teachers, psychologists, counselors, and individuals, the exercises are categorized into beneficial themes: Self- Care Self-Compassion Mindfulness Stress & Anxiety Happiness Self-Awareness Self-Esteem & Self-Acceptance
Effective management in therapeutic recreation service
Arts therapies in psychiatric rehabilitation
Music Therapy in Mental Health for Illness Management and Recovery
Many music therapists work in adult mental health settings after qualifying. For many, it will be a challenging and even daunting prospect. Yet until now, there has been no psychiatric music therapy text providing advice on illness management and recovery.The new edition of this established and acclaimed text provides the necessary breadth and depth to inform readers of the psychotherapeutic research base and show how music therapy can effectively and efficiently function within a clinical scenario. The book takes an illness management and recoveryapproach to music therapy specific to contemporary group-based practice. It is also valuable for administrators of music therapy, providing innovative theory-based approaches to psychiatric music therapy, developing and describing new ways to conceptualize psychiatric music therapy treatment,educating music therapists, stimulating research and employment, and influencing legislative policies. For the new edition, all chapters have been updated, and 2 new chapters added - on substance abuse, and the therapeutic alliance.An important aim of the book is to stimulate both critical thought and lifelong learning concerning issues, ideas, and concepts related to mental illness and music therapy. Critical thinking and lifelong learning have been - and will likely continue to be - essential aspirations in higher education.Moreover, contemporary views concerning evidence-based practice rely heavily upon the clinician's ability to think critically, seek a breadth of contradicting and confirmatory evidence, implement meta-cognition to monitor thoughts throughout processes, and synthesize and evaluate knowledge to makeinformed clinical decisions relevant and applicable to idiosyncratic contextual parameters.For both students and clinicians in music therapy, this is an indispensable text to help them learn, develop, and hone their skills in music therapy.
Cancer : can concomitant music therapy contribute to better treatment results?
Systematic Review that assesses the benefit of music therapy (MT) as a therapy accompanying oncological standard therapy by comparing it to no accompanying therapy or other accompanying therapies in adult cancer patients.
Music Therapy in a Multicultural Context
Music therapy professionals work with diverse population groups, and this book provides therapists, and those in training, with the tools to integrate understanding of different cultural and social identities into their practice. Topics addressed include heritage, age, location, identity and health beliefs, and how to understand the dynamics of the variety of different cultures which music therapists will encounter in the course of their practice. Each chapter is written by an expert on a topic of personal interest in music therapy, explored through a multicultural lens. The chapters include anecdotes, case studies, and practical activities to try, while encouraging the reader to reflect on their own identity as a music therapist. This book is essential reading for all music therapy professionals wanting to practice in a culturally-informed manner, and respect the needs, contributions and strengths of every client.
Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation
Recommender Systems for Medicine and Music
Therapeutic Recreation
The Routledge International Handbook of Embodied Perspectives in Psychotherapy
There is a growing interest in embodied approaches to psychotherapy internationally. This volume focuses on the respective focal professions of dance movement psychotherapy (DMP) and body psychotherapy (BP), addressing the psychotherapeutic need for healing throughout the lifespan. Within embodied clinical approaches, the therapist and client collaborate to discover how the body and movement can be used to strengthen positive relational skills, attending to the client''s immediate and long-term needs through assessment, formulation, treatment and evaluation. Both DMP and BP are based upon the capacity and authority of the body and non-verbal communication to support and heal patients with diverse conditions, including trauma, unexplained bodily symptoms and other psychological distress, and to develop the clients'' emotional and relational capacities by listening to their bodies for integration and wellbeing. In The Routledge International Handbook of Embodied Perspectives in Psychotherapy,world leaders in the field contribute their expertise to showcase contemporary psychotherapeutic practice. They share perspectives from multiple models that have been developed throughout the world, providing information on theoretical advances and clinical practice, as well as discourse on the processes and therapeutic techniques employed individually and in groups. Presented in three parts, the book covers underpinning embodiment concepts, potentials of dance movement psychotherapy and of body psychotherapy, each of which is introduced with a scene-setting piece to allow the reader to easily engage with the content. With a strong focus on cross- and interdisciplinary perspectives, readers will find a wide compilation of embodied approaches to psychotherapy, allowing them to deepen and further their conceptualization and support best practice. This unique handbook will be of particular interest to clinical practitioners in the fields of body psychotherapy and dance movement psychotherapy as well as professionals from psychology, medicine, social work, counselling/psychotherapy and occupational therapy, and to those from related fields who are in search of information on the basic therapeutic principles and practice of body and movement psychotherapies and seeking to further their knowledge and understanding of the discipline. It is also an essential reference for academics and students of embodied psychotherapy, embodied cognitive science and clinical professions. Embodied Perspectives in Psychotherapy,world leaders in the field contribute their expertise to showcase contemporary psychotherapeutic practice. They share perspectives from multiple models that have been developed throughout the world, providing information on theoretical advances and clinical practice, as well as discourse on the processes and therapeutic techniques employed individually and in groups. Presented in three parts, the book covers underpinning embodiment concepts, potentials of dance movement psychotherapy and of body psychotherapy, each of which is introduced with a scene-setting piece to allow the reader to easily engage with the content. With a strong focus on cross- and interdisciplinary perspectives, readers will find a wide compilation of embodied approaches to psychotherapy, allowing them to deepen and further their conceptualization and support best practice. This unique handbook will be of particular interest to clinical practitioners in the fields of body psychotherapy and dance movement psychotherapy as well as professionals from psychology, medicine, social work, counselling/psychotherapy and occupational therapy, and to those from related fields who are in search of information on the basic therapeutic principles and practice of body and movement psychotherapies and seeking to further their knowledge and understanding of the discipline. It is also an essential reference for academics and students of embodied psychotherapy, embodied cognitive science and clinical professions. ers in the fields of body psychotherapy and dance movement psychotherapy as well as professionals from psychology, medicine, social work, counselling/psychotherapy and occupational therapy, and to those from related fields who are in search of information on the basic therapeutic principles and practice of body and movement psychotherapies and seeking to further their knowledge and understanding of the discipline. It is also an essential reference for academics and students of embodied psychotherapy, embodied cognitive science and clinical professions.
Therapeutic recreation processes and techniques : evidence-based recreational therapy
Exercise for Aging Adults: a guide for practitioners
Recreation Therapy and Healing Our Wounded Warriors
Field hearing before the Subcommittee on Health of the Committee on Veterans' Affairs, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Eleventh Congress, second session, June 8, 2010, field hearing held in New Port Richey, FL
Play therapy with adults
Therapeutic recreation in the community : an inclusive approach by 
Therapeutic recreation program design : principles and procedures by 
Search the catalog of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system: