LibGuides: Toxicology: Specialized Finding Aids and Databases

Journal aricles

Toxline
As of Dec 16, 2019 TOXLINE content (toxicology literature) has been migrated to PubMed.
more...less...
Comprehensive database with references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

More focused PubMed searching (including toxicology topics) is available.
Please see the PubMed Search Guide for details.[this link will change in January of 2020]

DART/ETIC Development and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology
As of Dec 16, 2019, material will be Incorporated into PubMed.
more...less...
US National Library of Medicine

Databases migrated to other agencies or universities

IRIS - Integrated Risk Information System
As of Dec 16, 2019 IRIS will be moved to the EPA Web page https://www.epa.gov/iris.
Carcinogenic and non-carcinogenic health risk information on over 500 chemicals, scientifically reviewed by EPA
more...less...
US National Library of Medicine
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database
Robust, publicly available database that aims to advance understanding about how environmental exposures affect human health
more...less...
NC State University
TOXMAP
TOXMAP has been retired. Underlying data remains accessible through their original resources: Government of Canada National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI), U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. EPA Clean Air Markets Program, U.S. EPA Geospatial Applications, U.S. EPA Facilities Registry System (FRS) , U.S. EPA Superfund Program, U.S. EPA Toxics Release Program (TRI), U.S. NIH NCI Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program (SEER), U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
TRI - Toxic Release Inventory Program
What is the TRI? The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities. TRI data support informed decision-making by communities, government agencies, companies, and others.

Databases migrated to NCBI Bookshelf

LiverTox
On Dec 12, 2019 Liver Tox will be migrated to the NCBI Bookshelf
more...less...
LIVERTOX® provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
LactMed
As of Dec 16, 2019 Lacted will be at the NSBI Bookshelf. Drugs and Lactation Database.
To located LactMed, go to https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/
Accessing_LactMed_Content_from
_NCBI_Bookshelf.html

Drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
more...less...
US National Library of Medicine

Retired databases as of Dec 16, 2019

Haz-Map
Haz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

Databases migrated to PubChem

ChemIDplus
Content will migrate to PubChem on Dec 16, 2019. Guide/tutorial at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/
Accessing_ChemIDplus_Conten
t_from_PubChem.html

Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies.
more...less...
ChemIDplus Lite is designed for simple searching on name or registry. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.
PubChem
An open chemistry database.
more...less...
US National Library of Medicine

Some additional resources

Manufacturers often include toxicity information at their Web sites. MSDS online is a good starting place for finding material safety data sheets on the Internet

National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals
US Centers for Disease Control
more...less...
The Fourth National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals is the most comprehensive assessment to date of the exposure of the U.S. population to chemicals in our environment. CDC has measured 212 chemicals in people's blood or urine—75 of which have never before been measured in the U.S. population. The new chemicals include acrylamide, arsenic, environmental phenols, including bisphenol A and triclosan, and perchlorate.