Database Tutorials & Training

EBSCOhost databases include many of our popular research databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, APA Psycinfo, and many others.

Web of Science is a portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Included are four Web of Science citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities. Also available: Derwent Innovation Index which covers patents, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports.

EndNote is a bibliographic management software that can keep a record of your citations, provides a searchable catalog of reprint files, makes citing and formatting references easier, and makes reformatting reference lists much easier. EndNote can be downloaded through your MyUT portal. 

EndNote Tutorials through Web of Science

• EndNote Windows
• EndNote Mac
• EndNote Online
• EndNote for iPad and iPhone

National Library of Medicine's premier index to scholarly journals in the life sciences and health care disciplines, with a concentration on biomedicine. Currently contains over 21    million references from about 5,600 journals in 40+ languages. 

• PubMed Quick Tours - Click this link for an extensive list of tutorials, classes, and Webinar recordings offered by PubMed. Below you can find the most common tutorials which are short 1 to 5-minute video recordings!
  • What is in PubMed? - Learn what you can find in PubMed, and how it got there.
  • PubMed: Find articles by an author - A brief tutorial on how to find articles by an author using PubMed.
  • PubMed: Find articles by journal A brief tutorial on how to find articles from a journal using PubMed.
  • PubMed: Find articles from a citation A brief tutorial on how to find articles from citation information using PubMed.
  • PubMed: Find articles on a topic A brief tutorial on how to find articles on a topic using PubMed.
  • PubMed: Find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder A brief tutorial on how to find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder using PubMed.
  • PubMed: Get the full text for an article A brief tutorial on how to get the full text for an article cited in PubMed.
  • PubMed: Save searches and set e-mail alerts A brief tutorial on how to get alerts for articles on a topic using PubMed.
  • PubMed subject search: How it works A brief tutorial on how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.
  • PubMed and MedlinePlus: Consumer health Help consumers find research in PubMed using MedlinePlus.
• More Advanced Tutorials from Pub Med: Quick 3 to 4-minute recordings!
  • Proximity Searching in PubMed This tutorial demonstrates how to use proximity searching to find terms close to each other in PubMed. Search for multiple terms appearing in any order within a specified distance of one another in the [Title] or [Title/Abstract] fields.
  • Using PubMed to Find Human-Related Studies This brief tutorial for expert users of PubMed explains how to search for studies indexed as being related to humans, how to separately search non-indexed records, and how to combine these two searches into one string.
  • PubMed: Using the Advanced Search Builder Learn to use PubMed's Advanced Search features to refine your search with the example of a publication date range; and find journal and author names using the autocomplete feature.

Comprehensive research index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields. Covers over 3,900 active journals as well as publications of the National League for Nursing and American Nurses' Association. Full text is available for over 700 titles. Additional materials covered include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.

ProQuest databases include ProQuest American Periodicals Series, Proquest Congressional, Proquest Congressional Research Collection, Proquest Dissertations and Theses, Proquest Dissertations and Theses Open, Proquest Ebook Central, Proquest Historical Newspapers New York Times, and Proquest Nursing and Allies Health Source.

 Comprehensive information resource produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) for searching the chemical literature and authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its structures, properties, names, patent and regulatory information, reaction schemes, and other characteristics. Search features include relevance-ranked results, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen-enabled structure drawing.

Embase is a biomedical research database covering more than 8,500 research journals and going back to 1947.  It uses a different thesaurus than the MeSH database used by PubMed/MEDLINE.  Guides from the publisher include basic guides and videos.

Video Tutorials for Embase

• Getting Started - (3 mins)
• Disease and Drug Search - (2 mins)
• Using PICO - (2 mins)
• Using PV Wizard - (5 mins)
• Medical Devices Search - (2 mins)
• Managing Your Search - (3 mins)
• Refining Your Search - (2 mins)

 A full-text point-of-care resource that supports clinical decision-making. Contains over 9,000 expert-based/evidence-based overview articles on disease topics in internal medicine and 20+ specialty areas. Articles are physician-authored and peer-reviewed and backed up by scholarly literature. Designed to support point-of-care decisions and provide a quick way for practitioners and students to get up to speed on a topic. (NOTE: Subscription paid for by UToledo College of Medicine and includes remote access, i.e., UpToDate Anywhere. To access from off campus, users must first set up an individual account from a UToledo network computer and then log in with their username/password when off campus. To maintain access, users must confirm their affiliation with UToledo every 90 days by logging into UpToDate from within the University network. For information on mobile access, click here.)

 The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley. 

In addition to the training videos and guide provided by the database producers found on this page, you may also be interested in additional training material produced by UToledo librarians.  See the LibGuides below for more information.  If you do not see a tutorial for the database you're interested in, please contact a reference librarian to set up an individual consultation.